We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Palazzo Taverna
Ranked #452 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Aigle, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Rome”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Friendly hotel in the Centro Storico area of Rome. An easy walk (apart from the Rome traffic) to most of the main sites. The hotel has no communal areas, hence breakfast is served in your room. The bedrooms are quirky, but comfortable. There are many restaurants in the little streets close to the hotel and, if you avoid the obvious "tourist-traps", there are plenty of good choices. We liked the area to the west of Piazza Navonna. The hotel is off a small side-street, which makes it peaceful although difficult to find. Taking a taxi from the railway station we showed the driver a map with the hotel marked on it and had no problems. However, we met another guest whose taxi driver couldn't find the hotel and dropped them at Piazza Navona which isn't very convenient, especially when you first arrive and don't know your way through the alleyways.

No major issues with the hotel; one morning the water pressure for the shower was very low, but otherwise a satisfactory stay. The stairs are steep and (as far as I know) there is no lift.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomerPerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    103
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
154
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have just returned from a great 4 night stay at Relais Palazzo Taverna.

Our room was lovely. Our room was on the ground floor, tucked away with it's only little courtyard. This was lovely - we had our breakfast served here each morning. As there is no restaurant, you pick what you'd like for breakfast and what time you'd like it served the night before - this is then brought out promptly at your chosen time. We just tended to have fresh coffee and juice, and some lovely pastries. The choice was good and the food and coffee was great quality, with the pastries fresh from the bakery.

The room itself was spacious and clean and had everything you needed.

Whilst the hotel was lovely (as were the staff), the real highlight was the location. This hotel is ideally situated, just a short walk from all the main attractions (Vatican, Colosseum etc) yet is tucked away down a quiet street, away from the main crowded touristy areas. This made it seem a quiet little oasis in the middle of a big busy city - whilst we loved seeing all the tourist attractions, it was nice to escape to a bit of peace and quiet at the end of a busy day! There was also a great selection of restaurants nearby - these also tended to be much better value than those nearer the tourist traps.

Would definitely recommend a stay here and will definitely be returning if we come back to Rome in the future.

Room Tip: We had the room on the ground floor - we didn't see the other rooms but ours had the benefit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDLO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Visited Rome for 5 days and stayed at this hotel, every thing was perfect, the reception of the staff, the rooms were spacious and included on suite, flat screen tv, breakfast was delivered to your room at your specific arranged time, room cleaned every day by very friendly staff, all in all I would recommend this hotel to any one, not the cheapest but certainly super value for money, also in the perfect position for visiting the Vatican and many other places of interest

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tc_m83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALISBURY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Pros: Excellent location, 15-20 minute walk away from the Vatican as well as the Colosseum. Matteo and Daniel were very helpful.
Cons : There is no breakfast area and breakfast is served in your room. I am unable to deselect the options but there is no restaurant or fitness center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed there for a week. The first night they overbooked and gave a claustropobic overheated room where we spent one of the worst night ever in a hotel. We couldn't sleep due to the ^nosie of rain spilling on sheet metal in a narrow cour yard. Teh room we got the others nignts was ok, but just ok. Hotel was renovated some years ago and already somewhat run down. Really claustophobic reception and the owner avoids to talk to guests as much as possible unless when he wants to pay you in advance. There is a Romania employee at the reception who does his best to give you some service, thouch. I think you can find better places to stay in Rome for the price.

Room Tip: Avoid the small room on the first floor (I think it was 203)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zueriguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We loved our stay at Relais Palazzo Taverna. The location could not be more perfect...it is situated in the most picturesque little Roman side street. It is about a 5 minute walk to Piazza Navona, and less than 15 minutes to the Colosseum, Campo de Fiori, the Vatican, and all the major sites. The hotel was very charming, extremely clean and quiet. The staff were courteous and accomodating, took time to point out directions on the map and give us restaurant recommendations. The rooms are cozy, for a hotel situated in the heart of Rome, more than enough room for 2 people. The bathrooms were very clean and functioned perfectly for us. They serve breakfast in the room at your requested time, and you can fill out your choices (croissants, pastries, cereal, yogurt, coffee, eggs, etc). The breakfast was warm and filling, a great way to start the day! We loved the charming feel of this hotel, and would come back again and again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at this Relais hotel, principally due to a local recommendation. Getting around to see the sites from here is a doddle, situated on a long, narrow picturesque medieval street in 2 minutes you are on the river or 10 at the Vatican.
My room was clean, rather compact. Breakfast is served only in the room (no extra cost!). Bathroom rather basic but everything worked, enough hot water, clean and good pressure.

There are only a few minimal public facilities - small internet point, gallery library and loos. Thats it.

WiFi works but was slow - except at night, maybe when receptionist wasn't using it! I would recomend & stay here again

Room Tip: I suspect WiFi is stronger the closer you are to reception. Don't forget to put in your breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Zanardelli
Residenza Zanardelli
#395 of 1,259 in Rome
212 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#432 of 1,259 in Rome
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#226 of 1,259 in Rome
448 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#613 of 1,259 in Rome
480 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Palazzo Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Palazzo Taverna

Property: Relais Palazzo Taverna
Address: Via Dei Gabrielli 92, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#307 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Palazzo Taverna 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Palazzo Taverna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Palazzo Taverna Rome
Relais Palazzo Taverna Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing