We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relais Palazzo Taverna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Palazzo Taverna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Palazzo Taverna
Ranked #439 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
SALISBURY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relais Palazzo Taverna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Pros: Excellent location, 15-20 minute walk away from the Vatican as well as the Colosseum. Matteo and Daniel were very helpful.
Cons : There is no breakfast area and breakfast is served in your room. I am unable to deselect the options but there is no restaurant or fitness center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    102
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
152
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed there for a week. The first night they overbooked and gave a claustropobic overheated room where we spent one of the worst night ever in a hotel. We couldn't sleep due to the ^nosie of rain spilling on sheet metal in a narrow cour yard. Teh room we got the others nignts was ok, but just ok. Hotel was renovated some years ago and already somewhat run down. Really claustophobic reception and the owner avoids to talk to guests as much as possible unless when he wants to pay you in advance. There is a Romania employee at the reception who does his best to give you some service, thouch. I think you can find better places to stay in Rome for the price.

Room Tip: Avoid the small room on the first floor (I think it was 203)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zueriguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We loved our stay at Relais Palazzo Taverna. The location could not be more perfect...it is situated in the most picturesque little Roman side street. It is about a 5 minute walk to Piazza Navona, and less than 15 minutes to the Colosseum, Campo de Fiori, the Vatican, and all the major sites. The hotel was very charming, extremely clean and quiet. The staff were courteous and accomodating, took time to point out directions on the map and give us restaurant recommendations. The rooms are cozy, for a hotel situated in the heart of Rome, more than enough room for 2 people. The bathrooms were very clean and functioned perfectly for us. They serve breakfast in the room at your requested time, and you can fill out your choices (croissants, pastries, cereal, yogurt, coffee, eggs, etc). The breakfast was warm and filling, a great way to start the day! We loved the charming feel of this hotel, and would come back again and again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at this Relais hotel, principally due to a local recommendation. Getting around to see the sites from here is a doddle, situated on a long, narrow picturesque medieval street in 2 minutes you are on the river or 10 at the Vatican.
My room was clean, rather compact. Breakfast is served only in the room (no extra cost!). Bathroom rather basic but everything worked, enough hot water, clean and good pressure.

There are only a few minimal public facilities - small internet point, gallery library and loos. Thats it.

WiFi works but was slow - except at night, maybe when receptionist wasn't using it! I would recomend & stay here again

Room Tip: I suspect WiFi is stronger the closer you are to reception. Don't forget to put in your breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

First time in Rome a group of 6 friends stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in march and it was perfect. Location is great, it is in a walking distance from every where. Rooms are in very good condition and well equiped, you can't hear any noises from the streets and defenetly you pay value for money. All staff at the hotel were very nice and welcome. We will defenetly stay at this hotel again any time we go back to Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martim1386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Awesome location in a nice little street that is a short walk to piazza Navona and all major sites, and rooms with newish modern furnishing in a renovated palazzo, although they should spring for a new toilet seat as it was broken and had weird stains on it. Also, a decent breakfast brought to your room. The let down was the moody service, we felt we were intruding whenever we needed to speak to the staff. First, we were checked in by a guy who seemed unsuited to hospitality, very rude he simply gave us the key and told us to check boxes on a form if we wanted breakfast. Next, we asked that a restaurant be booked and had to ask 3 times before it was finally done. This was probably due to poor communication between the 3 staff that were switching shifts throughout day. However when we checked on the whether the booking had been made, there was no apology for failing to make the call or even an offer to book another restaurant. Same when we booked the taxi to the train station, we needed to remind the staff a few times and there was never an apology.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelhoglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a wonderful gem in a great location just a short walk to Palazzo Navona, the Pantheon, and the Vatican. It is off of a nice walking street with many stores and great restaurants. The room is large with a nice bathroom. The bed is very comfortable and the room is spotless and cleaned daily. The breakfast is served in your room and is plentiful with juice, cereal, eggs, coffee, and wonderful pastries. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are buses just a short walk away. There are only 11 rooms which is nice. It was a very quiet place. There is no elevator but it is only 3 stories and the stairs were no problem. We loved our stay and would hightly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#215 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#566 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Genio Hotel
Genio Hotel
#480 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
#469 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Palazzo Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Palazzo Taverna

Property: Relais Palazzo Taverna
Address: Via Dei Gabrielli 92, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#307 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Palazzo Taverna 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Relais Palazzo Taverna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Palazzo Taverna Rome
Relais Palazzo Taverna Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing