We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fix the lift and this would be Excellent.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galatea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Galatea
Ranked #463 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Fix the lift and this would be Excellent.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Lets get the bad stuff out of the way. The lift is a serious obstacle to anyone with a lack of mobility or people travelling "heavy" (I wasn't - KLM lost my luggage!).

It's an ancient lift and only starts from the first floor meaning that in a best case scenario you'll have to carry luggage up three flights of stairs. Worse still the lift can't be called if any of the three ancient doors have been left open - even fractionally. This means you may have to walk up 9 flights to shut the doors and ride the lift back to your luggage. It's not a deal breaker if you're fit. But not everyone is.

The only other criticism I have is that there are at least 100 TV channels but they're all Italian. One BBC/CNN or especially film channel would make a big difference to anyone staying for a few days.

The good stuff is that the hotel is located in a relatively central area off Via Nazionale with many shops and restaurants nearby. It's 5 mins walk to Republicca Metro and 15 to Termini Station. Most of teh sights are in easy walking distance.

The hotel is set back from Via Genova in a series of buildings around a courtyard. You have to enter the courtyard from Via Genova and find Scala B. Then walk to the first floor to find the lift. Otherwise the hotel entrance is on the 3rd Floor. The courtyard is a bit scuffy but was at least characterful and may be what you're looking for in a Roman hotel.

The hotel itself is like stepping into a different, modern world. The front desk was efficient and helpful and staffed 24hrs. The decor was modern - Habitat-like - and the theme extended into the rooms. They were a good size (except to US visitors who generally have unreasonable expectations of space). The bed was big and comfortable if very hard. The aircon worked well. the bathroom was well appointed with an excellent shower.The satellite flatscreen would have been more relevant if there had been non-Italian content. The rooms would not look out of place in a 4 star hotel. View from the window into the courtyard wasn't worth opening the shutters for though.

For late night snacks there was a vending machine in the lobby. Prices were reasonable - less than you might pay in the streets surrounding.

Breakfast was OK. It was a narrow room with a single row of 4 tables seating a maximum of 16 so you might need to time your arrival well to get a seat. Coffee was good. There was tea and pastries - some exceptionally sweet. Cake, cereal etc. certainly enough to get you set up for your day out.

All in all, a characterful outside, modern and well run inside, reasonable breakfast and central. It could be a good spot for a short stay in Rome. If only they'd fix the lift it would be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianhobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    266
    78
    21
    15
See reviews for
66
312
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The breakfast was poor, we fined only bad coffee from a machine and croissants.
I booked a double bed and we had two single bed joined... People of the hotel are good and very helpfull. The situation is very good, near the bus !


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Fabien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Arriving at the Hotel Galatea we were impressed by the charm of the hotel which was exactly what we had hoped.
The hotel is walking distance to what we thought were the major attractions such as the Colleseum, Foro Romana, the Palatine and the Trevi Fountains. Also within a short walking distance was the Circo Massimo.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Every time we left or came back to the hotel we asked lots and lots of questions and they were happy to answer them all.

ROOM WAS IMMACULATELY CLEAN!
Can not fault the cleanliness of the hotel/room at all! Everything was spotless.
Newly refurbished bathrooms and recently refurbished room with a comfortable bed/bedding.

I am extremely pleased with my stay in Hotel Galatea and would easily recommend this hotel to young couples like us.. in fact, this hotel is recommended for anyone!

Good stay at a clean, comfortable and friendly hotel!

Room Tip: We arrived early for (bigger) orange room but was offered a smaller blue room immediately. The blue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deinze, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just a few yards from Via Nationale, one of the main streets of the historical center.
On walking distance of all the monuments.
The hotel is situated on an incased patio behind a massive old gate.
Located on the second floor you acces the hotel by stairs or elevator to find a reception with a profesional staff which is very friendly, helpful and multilangual.
The room is clean, modern, bathroom and bed ok.
Breakfast is sober but sufficient.
Considering the price one normally has to pay for being located nearby the main sights, this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanA644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very nice rooms and baths (newly refurbished), very friendly and helpful staff, very good location next to main (shopping) street, bus and subway, train station, meters away from national gallery etc. Excellent lunch restaurant in the same building and excellent pizzeria next door. Supermarket on main street. If anything, the - sweet only - breakfast could use some (salty) bread. An excellent hotel for an excellent price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms to the inner courtyard are very quite but also very dark in winter, though cooler in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very good hotel, close to all the main places in rome just walk.the stuff very kind help with every question, the breakfast is simple but nice, the hotel is clean and the room also, when we arrived to the hotel It was little difficult to understand which floor and which building to go ,and the elevator old but very nice experience, the thing that I didn't like we're that we got room with shower and not with bath as we saw in pictures, we ask to replace it and all the room were full so it was little disappointed but except this every thing was great we enjoy and definitely will come back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ortalitzhaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Rome is like no other city. It has incredible architecture that just needs attention. Unfortunately for people who like their hotels affordable and modern - you're out of luck. Like most hotels Galatea is incased inside an old building that has been converted to a hotel.

Location: - 15/20 min walk to Spanish Steps and other big sites. Vatican is further and Colliseum isnt far at all. Not a bad location if you like to walk but if you want to be at the heart of the city this isnt for you. We often left in the morning and would only return in the evening. The list of restaurants around the hotel isnt great either though there is one 50 feet away which was superb.

The hotel is located on a side road and a little hard to find at first. Its through a communal door and then its the second door to the left. Then 3 floors up. If the lift isnt work and you have luggage? good luck.

Room: - Not impressed. It was very large def not tight but it lacked any character. Walls were bland, dirt marks in some places (typical of wear and tear), the bedroom was a double but it had 2 singles pulled together. Think thats normal in some places so just to be aware.
The TV on the wall was 17". The bed is quite far back so its almost funny how they chose such small screens. But at least its a tv right? I'm being too harsh. The room had little light as they windows had shutters installed. Lights on the whole were limited and it often felt darker than it should be.
The bathroom had 2 light spot lights. The shower had none so you really were showering in a shaded part of the room. The toilet seat was wobbly so it shifted each time you sat. The sink would fill up if you had the water running on high. But the bathroom was spotless. So that was good.

The room had no mini bar but there was a vending machine by the reception desk. The internet didnt come far into our room so we had to go sit near reception to pick up any signal.

Breakfast is included so thats a cost saving. Choices were limited to croissants and bread. I didnt mind this.

The staff were very helpful and im sure they did the best job they could. With the great price you have to sacrifice a few things so if you could live with the above i would recommend this. Would i stay again? Probably yes.

Room Tip: Nearest to the reception for the strongest internet signal!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckpalace a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#205 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#341 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Monti
Hotel St. Moritz
Hotel St. Moritz
#668 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#199 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Monti
Hotel Picasso
Hotel Picasso
#509 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Monti
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#318 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galatea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galatea

Property: Hotel Galatea
Address: Via Genova 24, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #463 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galatea 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Galatea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galatea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing