We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Hotel Galatea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Galatea
Ranked #565 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Arriving at the Hotel Galatea we were impressed by the charm of the hotel which was exactly what we had hoped.
The hotel is walking distance to what we thought were the major attractions such as the Colleseum, Foro Romana, the Palatine and the Trevi Fountains. Also within a short walking distance was the Circo Massimo.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Every time we left or came back to the hotel we asked lots and lots of questions and they were happy to answer them all.

ROOM WAS IMMACULATELY CLEAN!
Can not fault the cleanliness of the hotel/room at all! Everything was spotless.
Newly refurbished bathrooms and recently refurbished room with a comfortable bed/bedding.

I am extremely pleased with my stay in Hotel Galatea and would easily recommend this hotel to young couples like us.. in fact, this hotel is recommended for anyone!

Good stay at a clean, comfortable and friendly hotel!

Room Tip: We arrived early for (bigger) orange room but was offered a smaller blue room immediately. The blue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 532 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just a few yards from Via Nationale, one of the main streets of the historical center.
On walking distance of all the monuments.
The hotel is situated on an incased patio behind a massive old gate.
Located on the second floor you acces the hotel by stairs or elevator to find a reception with a profesional staff which is very friendly, helpful and multilangual.
The room is clean, modern, bathroom and bed ok.
Breakfast is sober but sufficient.
Considering the price one normally has to pay for being located nearby the main sights, this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohanA644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very nice rooms and baths (newly refurbished), very friendly and helpful staff, very good location next to main (shopping) street, bus and subway, train station, meters away from national gallery etc. Excellent lunch restaurant in the same building and excellent pizzeria next door. Supermarket on main street. If anything, the - sweet only - breakfast could use some (salty) bread. An excellent hotel for an excellent price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms to the inner courtyard are very quite but also very dark in winter, though cooler in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very good hotel, close to all the main places in rome just walk.the stuff very kind help with every question, the breakfast is simple but nice, the hotel is clean and the room also, when we arrived to the hotel It was little difficult to understand which floor and which building to go ,and the elevator old but very nice experience, the thing that I didn't like we're that we got room with shower and not with bath as we saw in pictures, we ask to replace it and all the room were full so it was little disappointed but except this every thing was great we enjoy and definitely will come back

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ortalitzhaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Rome is like no other city. It has incredible architecture that just needs attention. Unfortunately for people who like their hotels affordable and modern - you're out of luck. Like most hotels Galatea is incased inside an old building that has been converted to a hotel.

Location: - 15/20 min walk to Spanish Steps and other big sites. Vatican is further and Colliseum isnt far at all. Not a bad location if you like to walk but if you want to be at the heart of the city this isnt for you. We often left in the morning and would only return in the evening. The list of restaurants around the hotel isnt great either though there is one 50 feet away which was superb.

The hotel is located on a side road and a little hard to find at first. Its through a communal door and then its the second door to the left. Then 3 floors up. If the lift isnt work and you have luggage? good luck.

Room: - Not impressed. It was very large def not tight but it lacked any character. Walls were bland, dirt marks in some places (typical of wear and tear), the bedroom was a double but it had 2 singles pulled together. Think thats normal in some places so just to be aware.
The TV on the wall was 17". The bed is quite far back so its almost funny how they chose such small screens. But at least its a tv right? I'm being too harsh. The room had little light as they windows had shutters installed. Lights on the whole were limited and it often felt darker than it should be.
The bathroom had 2 light spot lights. The shower had none so you really were showering in a shaded part of the room. The toilet seat was wobbly so it shifted each time you sat. The sink would fill up if you had the water running on high. But the bathroom was spotless. So that was good.

The room had no mini bar but there was a vending machine by the reception desk. The internet didnt come far into our room so we had to go sit near reception to pick up any signal.

Breakfast is included so thats a cost saving. Choices were limited to croissants and bread. I didnt mind this.

The staff were very helpful and im sure they did the best job they could. With the great price you have to sacrifice a few things so if you could live with the above i would recommend this. Would i stay again? Probably yes.

Room Tip: Nearest to the reception for the strongest internet signal!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckpalace a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel location itself is off of a major avenue so its convenient in terms of walking to and from. It doesn't have the quaintness of the Roman neighborhoods at all. The hotel is on the 3rd floor of a buildings in courtyard - a little hard to find.

Unfortunately the lift was broken from the ground floor so had to deal with carrying the luggage up by hand. The lift did work from the 1st floor but wasn't always reliable. If you are with a lot of luggage, I'd consider this point as it looked like the lift had been under construction for a while but I could be wrong?

The rooms itself were very basic but spacious and clean. Unfortunately very dimly lit which was a bit of a pain. The bathroom was clean and new.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was basic but good.
Overall, decent for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aslondon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Galatea offers a comfortable room, simple but good breakfast, helpful staff, and best of all, a location that puts many of the major sights of Rome within easy walking distance. And all this at an affordable price! The elevator is currently under repair, but can be used from the second floor. For refreshments, a bakery is next door, and in the other direction next door, a pleasant restaurant with sidewalk tables.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#247 of 1,271 in Rome
569 reviews
Monti
Hotel St. Moritz
Hotel St. Moritz
#752 of 1,271 in Rome
232 reviews
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#365 of 1,271 in Rome
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#105 of 1,271 in Rome
1,168 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#217 of 1,271 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#468 of 1,271 in Rome
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galatea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galatea

Address: Via Genova 24, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #565 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $71 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galatea 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galatea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galatea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing