We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Hotel Galatea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Galatea
Ranked #550 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Clean, great location, great staff. 3 couples on our trip and we all thought we got great value for money. Beds could have been a bit comfier but the wine in the nearby restaraunts helped!!
Excellent value for money :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pearly_Soames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 525 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

the manager was very nice and he is able to guide us in his town the room was clean a little nuisy the breakfast coud be more tasty the hotel has a very good place for visiting the town

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Booked via Hotels.com after reading reviews.Booked a triple room (314) for 4 nights for wife and 11 year old. Room was spacious. Single bed was a 'Z' bed.
It is important to note that this hotel is on the 3rd floor of a large block. This is only a problem if you have mobility problems. There is a lift but this (at the time we were there) only went from floor 1. The lift was small and required the doors to be maually shut or it wouldn't work nor could it be called. Several times during the stay we had to make the journey by stairs.
The place is clean and reasonably well appointed. I note that many of the photos provided on sites by the hotel have been taken in such a way to give the impression of it being larger than it is. The lighting in the room was 'dingy' caused by low wattage bulbs that had been used. When I asked about this I was told it was intentional to give the room a 'calm' effect. Didn't work for us, it was just dingy.
Struggled blanking out road noise. If we did the aircon warmed the room too much or cooled it too much. So no noise/ cook or freeze.
There was meant to be a mini-bar and there wasn't any tea/coffee making facilities but there was a vending machine for 'night nibbles' and a mini-market over the road where the prices varied each time you made a purchase of the same item!!
As described by others- the breakfast was sufficient but became monotonous by day three. Did see into some of the double rooms which were not very large
So a few niggles that stop me giving the place a 5. The Staff were excellent. Helpful and I didn't get the impression that they were 'income generating' as can often be the case when recommending trips etc.
Based on my experiences of this trip I'd have no hesitation recommending the hotel to you. It's position for walking to the sites of Rome or using public transport is excellent. A 10 minute walk from the main Bus/Rail station. 20 to the Collesseum/Forum. Go for it but bear in mind the minor (and they are minor) criticisms mentioned above.

Room Tip: Some room face out onto the street . These are 'italian' noisy. Noted some overlooked the ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Pros: Well located (around 10-15 minutes walk from Termini, Colosseum, and Trevi Fountain). We even walked to the Vatican which is on the other side of the city taking in the sights on the way. Restaurants and bars a few minutes away on Via Nazionale and also towards the Colosseum.
Clean and modern, but basic. No fridge in the room, but hairdryer in the bathroom and aircon.
TV with more stations than I could count (but only 1 with English speaking programmes)

Cons: On the 3rd floor of an apartment block with no real frontage onto the street. The lift is tiny and only starts from the 1st floor.
Breakfast was basic, brioche/marble cake/pastries/2 choices of cereal but not nice tasting milk. Some other not very nice juice which was orange in colour but tasted like passion fruit or mixed fruit. We were given a room with a double bed, despite me sending an e-mail requesting 2 separate beds as I was traveling with my son, which was confirmed. The situation was however rectified quickly whilst we were at dinner and the double bed was split. Overall not fantastic for £120 per night, but adequate for the amount of time you are actually in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

On May 31st 2012 I needed a hotel for one night as I was passing through to northern Italy.
I wanted a hotel in the area of Piazza Madonna dei Monti - a favourite restaurant area of mine.
Galatea was available and I was very pleased with that accomodation. Clean, well appointed with an excellent breakfast. The facilities are modern and well appointed and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the breakfast area as it is somewhat noisy in the early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stay at the hotel on October 2012, very clean and very good service.
good location, breakfast was good(coffee, corn-flakes, croissant-was Enough.
But there was a problem with the elevator- it wasn't working from the ground flour!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, and were very pleased with our stay. The room was clean, the bathroom was very modern, the breakfast was standard Italian breakfast. The hotel is located in walking distance from the train station, and the receptionist was very helpful in locating and writing down the nearest bus stop on a map, so we had no trouble getting from place to place. Professional, welcoming and helpful staff. We were supposed to stay there for another night but had to check out one day earlier, so that we could see Pisa as well. The receptionist even called us on our cell to check and confirm that we had not mixed up our check-out date, because we were leaving earlier even though we had paid for the next day. We'll be back next time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#247 of 1,271 in Rome
550 reviews
Monti
Hotel Picasso
Hotel Picasso
#476 of 1,271 in Rome
300 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#128 of 1,271 in Rome
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elite Hotel
#362 of 1,271 in Rome
151 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
1,252 reviews
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#366 of 1,271 in Rome
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galatea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galatea

Address: Via Genova 24, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #550 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $64 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galatea 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Galatea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galatea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing