We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations!”
Review of Hotel Versailles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Versailles
Ranked #697 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Since they are a one star hotel it was great. Clean rooms, good beds, fresh bathrooms and helpful and happy staff. Great neighbourhood, if you like to stay some minutes away from the tourist getto;)
Great restaurants around the block, don't miss Il Gatto e L'uva!!!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Mikeno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Owner at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Hello,
we like to thank you for your kind review, all Hotel Versailles staff is happy to know that you had a good time in the "Ethernal City" and at the Versailles.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 180 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here 5 days, excellent base to travel around Rome. Roberto the manager was a perfect host, extremely helpful, and could not fault anything...it is fairly small but bedding and towels changed daily !! We only slept here and that is all you need... Once you know the address it is simple to find but it is just a set of large double doors with a brass plaque outside.
Would return in a heartbeat. Weather wasn't as kind as we would have liked but complimentary umbrellas a nice touch!
Thank you for helping make our trip to rome so memorable.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a courtyard view rather than Main Street but that wasn't too bad really
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fsc1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hello!
Hotel Versailles thanks you for your kind feedback.
We will Always do our best to make our guest stays confortable, carefree and happy.
We really hope to see you again at the Versailles and next time we will try to make you find the best sunny weather! ;-) !!!
Ciaooo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this beautiful boutique "Hotel Versailles" last October 2013.
We score this stay 10 out of 10.
Great service from the beautiful owners/operators Roberto & George, great value, comfortable beds, secure and very safe hotel on 1st floor, very clean & spacious room with a wonderful street view of the Roman city wall, step outside our secluded hotel entrance and upon our doorstep were a multitude of eateries with great hospitality - the Romans shone. We felt a real community of warmth and welcome. A short walk took us to a local bus stop which we used daily to bus us a short 10 minutes ride into the city centre. We would always eat breakfast and generally our evening meal locally near our hotel, as it was very relaxed with beautiful hospitable roman locals. We highly recommend and look so forward to returning soon ... xx

Room Tip: Location location location ..... central ... eateries within metres of hotel door, easy transport to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you so much for you kind review, we are so happy to know that our beloved customers had a good time in Rome and at the Versailles, we will always do our best their stay.
Hope to see you again in Rome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights as we wanted to do as much as possible in Rome while we were there for the rugby, We took the Terravision bus from the airport to the Termini then the 92 bus which stops 200 metres from the hotel. Note there is not a large hotel sign outside so it's easy to walk straight past so keep an eye on the numbers, look for the small brass plaque and ring the bell. The hotel uses rooms inside the elegant building with.the desk on the 1st floor and is staffed most of the time, the room we had overlooked the front so we could see the old (Aurelian) wall across the street from the Porta Pia, it was clean and had plenty of room. The staff spoke very good English and were extremely helpful and friendly. There are plenty of restaurants & cafes in the area behind the hotel so eating out each night only involved a two minute walk tourists.We did a lot of walking whilst we were there, visiting the Villa Borghese was an easy 10-15 min walk, the Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, Colossium and Piazza Navona. At the time of writing we are looking at the bus route over to the rugby stadium as it looks the best option. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stretch_G1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Hello!
Hotel Versailles staff thanks you very much for you great review and hope to see you again in Rome may be for the next Six Nations match!
Thank you for choosing Hotel Versailles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This charming hotel is on the second floor of a beautiful building and the elevator was out of a 50's movie. I was in love! The main lady at the hotel didn't speak much English but she was so sweet and helpful! Niceness transcends language barriers! The hotel is located within walking distance to bus stops and a few restaurants. The room was pretty big and the bathroom was very nice and spacious. The hotel was pretty affordable and very nice! The receptionist called for a taxi to take us to the airport and it wasn't just any taxi! We thought it would be a city taxi car but they might have a company that they use. The taxi was really a delightful gentleman with a Mercedes Benz that was decked out. He was so much fun, drove incredibly fast, and got us to the airport. The price was the same as a regular taxi and we had so much fun that we tipped him 20 euros. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hello!
Thank you so much for your beautiful review!
All Hotel Versailles staff loves to know customers had a good time in Rome at the Versailles,
It's true, chamber maid they don't speak a good english but they do their best to help everybody, at the reception there is always somebody who speaks English..
Thank you again for your stay at the Versailles and we do hope to see you once again in Rome!
We wish you a Great 2014!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel is around 10-15 minutes walk from the Termini station. Good if you are travelling in the summer morning as the weather is cool and the walking was not that difficult even with huge luggages. Watch out if you arrive in the afternoon like I did, as the 15 minutes walk seemed forever!

The hotel is located in a building with lift but you have to walk a few steps (like 10) to reach the lift. The owner is nice and very helpful in giving instructions around the city. There is a super cheap supermarket and local bakery and eateries nearby. It's also close to pizza and ice-cream places rated top at tripadvisor!

However if you are a metro person, don't stay at this hotel as it's far away from the metro. There is a bus stop around the corner of the block tho which takes you to most places within half an hour. Walking to the spanish steps takes 20-25 minutes (slightly uphill and downhill).

The room itself has an en-suite bathroom with shower and a fridge (a huge plus especially it's so hot and dry in the summer). The bed is ok and the blanket is a bit on the thin side. That matches with the air-con which isn't very strong, but it's ok as the summer is chilly at night and you can still sleep well without the air-con.

Overall an excellent value hotel. Totally satisfied with the EUR58 per night I paid. Would definitely stay at this hotel again when I come back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica_C_BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Owner at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hello,
Hotel Versailles staff thanks you very much for your nice review and we all are happy to know you had a beautiful time in Rome and at the Versailles.
Just one thing in case you'll be back, the metro station Castro Pretorio is only 400 metres from the hotel but we usually suggest to go around taking one of the 20 bus line few steps from us because taking the metro means not being able to see around you. Rome is a historical city and in every corner there could be something to be seen and busses helps to see what under the ground you coulden't!!
We hope to see you again in Rome and wish you a Great 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was not a hotel with the typical meaning of the word. It consisists of two floors in an old building. Rooms were modern decorated and the staff was friendly, especialy their map of Rome was very useful. Across the hotel there were a number of bus stops with good city center connections. A good stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ant7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Owner at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hello Ant7676,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback.
Hotel Versailles is one of that 75% hotels in Rome that are part of building.
Hotel Versailles is a small family run structure in the city center, part of a historical building coming from XVIII century.
We all wish you a Great 2014 and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#462 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lussemburgo
Hotel Lussemburgo
#621 of 1,271 in Rome
175 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#1,003 of 1,271 in Rome
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#207 of 1,271 in Rome
682 reviews
Monteverde
Le Fate Apartments
Le Fate Apartments
#229 of 1,271 in Rome
308 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#398 of 1,271 in Rome
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Versailles

Address: Corso d'Italia 92, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #697 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $41 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Versailles 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Versailles is a small, elegant, beautiful and very confortable hotel in Rome center. All rooms are air conditioning provided, they all have TV, free internet wi-fi connection, safe, airdryer, electronic locks. Hotel Versailles is close to Termini railway station, to Galleria Borghese Museum, to the Spanish Step and perfectly connected to all the rest (Colosseum, St. Peter's Basilica ....). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing