We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room & location, tremendous value”
Review of Hotel Versailles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Versailles
Ranked #685 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel uses rooms on the 1st and 5th floors of the building. The desk on the 1st floor is staffed most of the time, but not 24/7. Using Google maps on my smart phone, we had no problems walking to and finding the hotel from the Castro Pretorio Metro stop (B line). The walk was ~700 meters/10-15 min. At check-in, we think the staff was cleaning rooms when we arrived, so it took a little time to gain entry to the building. Another tenant or guest let us in as they exited. The room was clean and good sized for a European hotel - it fit my wife and I comfortably. The bathroom had a small shower stall, good size sink/counter and std toilet + a bidet. The complimentary Wi-fi worked great. The closet was a stand-up cabinet. Although our Italian is minimal, we had little difficulty communicating with the staff in English. The hotel is located just outside the old (Aurelian) wall across the street from the Porta Pia. Many embassy's are nearby including the British (across the street), Villa Bonaparte (a branch of the French embassy - several blocks) and the US (1 Km). The Villa Borghese was an easy 10-15 min walk. Walking to Republica, Spanish steps & Trevi fountain is a bit further, but easy as well. A short bus ride took us to Piazza Navona. There were many busy restaurants & cafes in the area filled with Romans - not too many tourists. We really liked the cafe/piadini shop next door (open for breakfast/lunch only). We would definitely stay again!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hello,
We all thank you for the good review, we just like to explain that metro in Rome is not very confortable as well as there are only two metro lines. They try to make new lines but, unfortunately, every time they dig the ground they find roman ruins and have to stop! The best way to go around the city center is by bus. Within 100 metres we have 5 bus stops with more than 20 bus lines, coming from main railway station Termini is very easy by bus, not more than 5/7 minutes and bus stop at 50 metres from the Versailles...
Thank you again and we hope to see you again in Rome!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Versailles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 177 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here three nights and it was great. Being only a 15 minute walk from the main train station it was easy to find, keep in mind they have a very small sign which is near the door. The room was very clean, spacious and tiny. The bathroom was nice and clean and spacious. The bed was really comfortable and they also allow pets which was perfect for us. The staff were very friendly, helpful and approachable. There are great cafes and restaurants near by and all of them didn't let us down they were great. The location from the city centre is around a 20 minute walk but a great way to see more of Rome and there is also a beautiful big garden near by. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma8801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review!
Hotel Vesailles staff will always do its best to make customers stay pleasant and unforgettable.
Ciao.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My partner and I traveled through Europe for 3 weeks and Hotel Versailles was our last stop. We found the hotel through Trip Adviser and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We actually caught a shuttle from the train station at the Fiumicino Airport for 15 Euro each that took us directly to the hotel- well worth it for the zero hassle. Having read the reviews on trip adviser I knew to look out for a big door with a small brass sign so we had no trouble finding the place. We were warmly welcomed by one of the owners who showed us where to catch the buses from and recommended a restaurant for dinner. The male staff speak wonderful English but we did have a little trouble (nothing major) communicating with the female staff, who were still very helpful. We were surprised even after reading reviews at how large the room was! They had even turned the air con on for us in advance. The only downside to the room was the shower curtain in the bathroom wasn't too good at keeping the water out so it went all over the floor (although there seemed to be plenty of towels to dry it after use). The room is slightly dated but more than adequate, clean and the bed is comfortable. It was two singles pushed together but you would hardly know because it is made up as one large double. The air con was a little noisy but still kept them room at a comfortable temperature during Rome summer.

This hotel is outside the wall of Rome so outside of the touristy areas. It doesn't take long to walk into the city center. There are some really good surrounding restaurants- in particular the two gelati places on either side of the hotel and Pinsere which is a take-away pizza place about 5-10 mins walk from the hotel just off via settembre. This place is amazing!!

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a comfortable and affordable stay in Rome. Will return here when we next get to Rome!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hello,
Thank you so much for your review we are so happy when we know customers had a good time in Rome and at the Versailles.
Thanks again and we all hope to see you again in the Ethernal City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Some difficulties to find the place but in our case it was a bit of an enjoyable adventure. Rooms are clean and large. The employees do not speak English but one must admit they were doing their best to help. Our room was noisy as the windows were giving out to he street but again, in our case it was charming Paris-like experience. Amazing neighborhood, far from the Termini, almost no tourists, a slice of real Rome with great cafes and restaurant serving delicious things in normal prices. Very close to Villa Borghese.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tapcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review.
We are very sorry that you think that our employees do not speak English, only one of our two chambermades speaks only a few words all the Others members of staff speak English and if necessary, for any problem, put the customer in touch by phone with the property that speaks English.
We are anyway happy that you had a good stay in Rome and at the Versailles and we all hope to see you again in the Eternal City!
Best regards
The Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were on our honeymoon and stayed here for a week. Location was great, just a little outside the heart of the touristy area. We were surrounded by good eateries and a lovely gelato place just beside the hotel - i Caruso. Very convenient location to the train and the taxi park is footsteps away. One of the owners, Roberto, was very helpful and friendly. He shared with us tips from the local's perspective and provided very warm service. Our room was surprisingly spacious - plenty of room to manouevre even after opening all our luggages. It's a hidden gem and we will definitely stay there again when we return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pankiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hi!
Thank you very much for your kind review, we all are very happy that you had a good stay on Rome and at the Versailles and hope you will never forget the "Ethernal City"!
As well as you're just married we do wish you a very hapy and long life together!
We hope to see you once more at the Hotel Versailles
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Spent 2 nights in Rome in July 13. The location is a bit of a distance from the Metro (about 15min walk), however buses are easily located near the hotel to all the major places of attraction. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and the room is decent size. However, I had some initial difficulties finding the hotel in the beginning. If you are looking for the hotel, it faces the main road, and next to a real estate agent called Gabetti.

As I caught the metro from airport, it was quite a distance to and fro pulling my luggage to and fro the station.

As it was summer, the air conditioning doesnt seem to be working well in my room. As I was only staying two nights, I didnt bother to complain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hello,
Hotel Versailles thanks you for your kind review, we are sorry for the airconditioning but as well as nobody else has complained about it, it should have been better to inform the reception about the malfunctioning because this would help us to solve the problem very soon.
Untill today nobody else complained and we don't know which one was your room number and on TripAdvisor we don't see your last name... We will, immediately, check all the rooms to find out if the aircond is still working properly.
You took metro from airport and than walked to the Versailles, well the easiest way to reach the hotel is taking one bus from main railway station Termini (four bus stops from there, 5 minutes ride) there are almost 7/8 bus line to the Versailles from there.
Thank you again for your stay and we all hope to see you once again in the Ethernal City.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just spent 5 nights at Hotel Versailles in Rome and was quite impressed.

Pros:
Great location. Only 2 minute walk to bus stop and 5-10 min walk to subway. We used the subway as it was so quick and easy to get around. From subway you are only one stop way from termini station (central station in Rome) And only 3 stops from Coloseum, your there within 5 minutes easy. There's plenty of places to eat and shop right on the front doorstep.
The hotel is great value for money. We got a great deal very last minute (as we are travelling around and just finding places to stay as we go). Rooms are big, adequate and comfortable. They have fridge (which was handy) and airconditining. Staff were very friendly and helpful, some spoke better English than others but tried To help out in any way they could. Rooms were cleaned daily which was great. Always had a hot shower.

Cons:
You get what you pay for. Don't expect the ritz. I think it's only two or three star. But as I said rooms a very comfortable.
I needed an iron - they advertised as having one when we booked - but when we got there it was broken,
Parking - we had a car and there is only Limited Free on-street parking. The rest of the parks you have to pay for, and it was sometimes difficult to find a car park. But we did manage.
On main road, so can be some noise in the mornings when trying to sleep but this was no big issue for us.

Overall I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 215Lays00215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are really sorry for the iron and apologise to you, the reception was not informed that it was broken but we have already replaced it and added a spare one.
Few words about the parking, all parking spaces on the street are divided into two, 50% is on fee and the remaining 50% is free. Beside this Versailles Hotel has a private parking at no more than than 100 meters far at a very interesting daily rate.
We hope to see you again in Rome.. :-)
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#443 of 1,267 in Rome
294 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#368 of 1,267 in Rome
255 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lussemburgo
Hotel Lussemburgo
#643 of 1,267 in Rome
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#985 of 1,267 in Rome
371 reviews
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#760 of 1,267 in Rome
357 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#224 of 1,267 in Rome
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Versailles

Address: Corso d'Italia 92, 00198 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #685 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $48 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Versailles 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Versailles is a small, elegant, beautiful and very confortable hotel in Rome center. All rooms are air conditioning provided, they all have TV, free internet wi-fi connection, safe, airdryer, electronic locks. Hotel Versailles is close to Termini railway station, to Galleria Borghese Museum, to the Spanish Step and perfectly connected to all the rest (Colosseum, St. Peter's Basilica ....). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing