We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At this price, nothing to complain about”
Review of Hotel Versailles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Versailles
Ranked #653 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Clean, spacious room, helpful staff. OK location, at walking distance from Termini. No breakfast, but plenty of caffès and restaurants nearby. Can really figure out what's to complain about this find.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review and many wishes for a Happy Christmas and New Year!!
We all hope to see you again in Rome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 179 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

The good things first. This hotel is conveniently situated near the Porta Pia, and is a 10 to 15 minute walk from the main railway station. There are bus stops within a hundred yards which serve most areas of the city. The staff were excellent, and provided good information about the tourist activities in Rome. In addition, there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

The hotel is quite difficult to find because it appears to be integrated into an apartment block, so there is no large entrance lobby. The existence of the hotel is only indicated by one of many small brass name plates beside a large imposing black door.

The lobby is actually on the first floor, and the rooms are distributed across several floors serviced by an ancient small lift. The rooms are surprisingly large, and are generally clean, although they could do with some renovation. The linen was spotless. The fixtures and fittings in the bathroom were reasonable. The room also had air conditioning and an electronic safe.

Considering Rome is so expensive, this hotel represents good value for money, and its convenient location would persuade me to stay again.

Room Tip: Beware of the steps in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Hello,
We appreciate your kind review.
We are sorry not to have a big entrance but the Hotel Versailles is a small two star ranked structure and as 70% of not four or five stars hotels in Rome city center does not have direct access from the street. We do hope to grow up in the future...
We all are happy that you had anyway a good stay in Rome and at the Versailles and hope to see you once again!!
We will always do our best for our customers confort.
Wishing you the best... :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Hotel Versailles Rome (Oct 2012). Very Very Clean Room, maids cleaned and changed bedding and towels daily, with pure white spotless linens. Private on-suite Bathroom, no bath but lovely HOT shower, and complimentary soaps and toiletries. Large double bed in our room - not two singles - that was a big plus. Air-conditioning in room worked very effectively for 5 days, engineers were called immediatly to repair it. Staff were very very helpful, and spoke good english, giving help on best local resturants, buses, times, top tips, etc. There always seemed to be someone on reception - always friendly no problem checking in / out early morning due to flight times. other travellers leaving late left suitcases with the hotel to collect later. Location was brilliant. 2 min walk to the no 62 bus which goes to most of the top attractions at 1.50 euros. Metro about 7 min walk away to anything else. Local shops, resturants, minimart and a winery meant the area was active but not loud. No meals included, but fridge in the room was useful for storage of picnic items and milk etc. Just pack a travel kettle and enjoy Rome on a budget. Free hotel Wi- Fi just collect your password worked well. TV in room ( if you need it ) . We would recommend this hotel and would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms start on the first floor of this small boutique hotel. Lift was always working and very quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hello,
Hotel Versailles thanks you for your kind review and all staff will be happy to see you once more in Rome at the Versailles.
Wishing you all the best for the future,
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

very good location for this pretty hotel of rome. rome is indeed expensive but i think we got a great deal here. nice rooms, maybe bathrooms could be bigger. breakfast was ok, service was good. would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Owner at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Hello!
Hotel Versailles thanks for your kind review and hope to see you again in Rome...
We all wish you all the best for the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent 5 nights in this small hotel. We very given a warm welcome by one of the owners and a nice, spacious room, with an even better bathroom. The rooms are cleaned and the towels and soaps are changed every day. Both the rooms and the reception was very clean. Both owners and the receptionist girl, Ingrid, was very nice to us. We received a rome map upon arrival which was very nice from them thus we did not have to buy one. The nearest metro station is around 10 minutes far, Villa Borghese is around 20 minutes. If you walk through the Villa, you get to Pizza Popolo, where the Via del Corso (fashion street) starts and ends at the Spanish steps, so the hotel is situated very well. The Vatican and the Colosseum is around 4-5 kms away, use the metro to get there. You can get bus tickets from the tobacconist in front of the hotel, or at any metro station. The bus stop taking you to downtown is 4 minutes away if you do not wish to walk. In the street behind the hotel there is a grocery shop and at the end of that street (1min from the shop) there is a market. Termini is 20 minutes walk and don't get fooled by the taxi cowboys when you first get to the station. We were surronded by 3 and were taken to the hotel for €18 which was obviously a robbery. He didn't even speak english.

All in all, everything was excellent.

Room Tip: There is a single room facing nothing and a supposedly air condition is burring all the time on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BalintFarago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Hello,
Hotel Versailles staff thanks you for the review, we all are glad to know that you had a good stay at the Versailles, we always try to do our best for our customer confort.
We hope to see you again in Rome once.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon. We were first welcomed by Roberto who warmly welcomed us and took his time to explain how to get to the sites and excellent restaurants around the area at a very good price. The location is great as it is not far from the city centre so prices for coffees and restaurants are a lot cheaper than the center. There are bus stops only round the corner of the hotel and take you to all sites in only 5 to ten minutes. The rooms were big for Europe very clean and comfortable. The maid also is friendly and cleans every day! If we ever come back we would definately stay here again as it was perfect and made our stay in Rome all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDERSEN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Hotel Versailles staff thanks you very much for your kind review and wish you a very happy and long life together.
We all hope to see you back in Rome once!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed there with my sin in the summer. Was in a very good location with lots of nice restaurants and shops nearby. Vicinity not too busy with tourists and close to transport and sights. Good price and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ploppos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Hotel Versailles thanks you for the preference and for the kind review. We are very happy that you had a good pleasant stay at the Versailles and in the "Ethernal City"!
We all wish to see you once more in Rome in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#441 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#408 of 1,269 in Rome
259 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lussemburgo
Hotel Lussemburgo
#628 of 1,269 in Rome
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#1,001 of 1,269 in Rome
372 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#198 of 1,269 in Rome
676 reviews
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#757 of 1,269 in Rome
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Versailles

Address: Corso d'Italia 92, 00198 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #653 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $42 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Versailles 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Versailles is a small, elegant, beautiful and very confortable hotel in Rome center. All rooms are air conditioning provided, they all have TV, free internet wi-fi connection, safe, airdryer, electronic locks. Hotel Versailles is close to Termini railway station, to Galleria Borghese Museum, to the Spanish Step and perfectly connected to all the rest (Colosseum, St. Peter's Basilica ....). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing