We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ranked #32 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We spent six nights here while touring Rome for the first time. Nice location for us as it was well removed from the "touristy" locations and yet well within walking distance of the Vatican, the Tiber river, Pantheon, Trevi fountain and Trastevere. It is a small, understated boutique hotel with unobtrusive service. There is no concierge, but the front desk will make reservations and call cabs with ease. They are not experts in giving advice regarding tours or restaurant recommendations.
The rooms are small, but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was included with the room charge and was quite adequate, tasty and gives plenty of choice.
I would recommend this hotel only for a certain type of traveler. One who doesn't like chain hotels, large hotels, harassment by street vendors and the need for a concierge who takes care of all of your touring needs.
My wife and I and our traveling companions all enjoyed the hotel and would use it again on a return trip.

Room Tip: Don't book the basic room, upgrade to as high as you can afford
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finicky_traveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 567 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are tiny, dark and overused. The hotel location is bad. Stuck in a tiny passage, even the taxi driver used didn't know how to find it, let alone the entrance. The so called Spa was basically a bathroom.

Very bad overall. The worst part is that they charge 5 star prices. They often include breakfast in the room price, don't be fooled. It's not even a good breakfast.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
5  Thank Iknowgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very clean rooms with modern baths.
Friendly staff
lovely bar area

Spa was in the basement with a turkish bath and saunas.
I only wish they tended to this area as well as they tended to other parts of the hotel -
towels were left all over the place!
However, upon speaking to to front desk - they immediately took care of it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandL146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear KandL146
We are really happy to know that you very much enjoyed your stay at the St. George Roma.
It is lovely to read that you found accommodation very clean and that our staff has contributed to make your stay a wonderful stay.
Thank you also for your positive comment about our wine bar and our Spa.
Once again thank you very much for your time and for choosing to stay at the St. George and we hope to see you very soon here in Roma.
Yours sincerely. Paolo Falchi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I've been staying in this hotel for four nights. Overall the hotel is nice, but it isn't a 5 star hotel for sure. You pay the price for it, but don't get the 5 star service. I would suggest it is a 4 star hotel at most.

Staff is friendly, but they definitely don't know the do's and don'ts of a 5 star hotel.
Breakfast was nice, but really monotone. Every morning was exactly the same. Could have been better.
Our room had an extremely hard bed. Quality of matras was terrible.

Location is good, but I would recommend a more central hotel for a city trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Pieter B
Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay at the St. George Rome
We note that your overall experience was good but you had some issues regarding the breakfast that was good but monotone, of course your comments are very useful to us and we will do our best to have a different breakfast layout and items in the near future, regarding our mattress they are all new but I have spoken with our Housekeeping and we will put a different mattress topper to make it feal a bit softer.
Any way our goal is to make our guest happy so please feel free to come again at the St. George to experience some new changes.
With warmest regards, Paolo Falchi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The room is very modern with upscale toiletry kit (shampoo, lotion, etc.). Breakfast is excellent. The staff is very friendly and very eager to help. I highly recommend this hotel location. We walked to all the site seeing attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nvomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear nvomy
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your feedback on your recent stay at the St. George Roma.
I am very glad to hear so kind words about my staff. I am also delighted to learn you appreciated our location: this is one of our strengths and I am happy you enjoyed it. In addition it is lovely to read that you liked our rooms with their toiletry kit and I am also thrilled that you found our morning breakfast excellent.
Many thanks once again for your lovely review and I very much look forward to welcome you back to St. George Rome in the near future.
Warm regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I loved the location of this hotel, just a few minutes walk from Piazza Navona & a brilliant base to explore this wonderful city. I chose a double room for a single traveller, which was typically small. The bar and courtyard were the perfect place to enjoy early evening cocktails before heading out for supper. The spa was excellent, a very romantic setting ( sadly I was a lone traveller).

Staff & housekeeping were excellent, brilliant attention to detail.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Jayne O
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and to have chosen the St. George Roma.
I was really pleased that you appreciated our location; about the size of your room the St. George is housed by a beautiful 15th century building which gives the hotel great character and charm, however, due to Italian regulations, we are unable to modify the shape or the size of any rooms and this is one of the reasons why unfortunately some of them not provide generous space.
Thank you also for you positive comments about the staff, the housekeeping and our SPA.
We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the St. George and had a fantastic time in Rome.
No need to say how much we would love to see you returning to stay with us again very soon.
With warmest regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the St. George for the weekend 31st oct-3nov 2013. The hotel was amazing and the staff equally so. It was my husbands birthday and with the staffs help and excellent English, was able to arrange tours/trips and a rather impressive room service breakfast on his birthday. I will recommend to all my family and friends and we will be back to the Hotel St. George as soon as possible. Also the Bistrot restraunt round the corner is amazing. Thank you for a fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrenchFancy033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear FrenchFancy033
We are delighted to know that you and your husband very much enjoyed your stay with us.
I am happy to listen that our staff was very helpful in occasion of your husband’s birthday.
Thank you also for your positive comment about the hotel.
Once again thank you very much for your time and for choosing to stay at the St. George and we hope to see you very soon here in Roma.
Best regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#24 of 1,267 in Rome
791 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#25 of 1,267 in Rome
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,267 in Rome
211 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George

Address: Via Giulia, 62, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rome
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#98 Family Hotel in Rome
#138 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $293 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Indigo(R) Rome - St. George is a 5 star luxury hotel located in Via Giulia right in the historic centre of Rome amidst galleries, boutiques and workshops. Our 5 star luxury hotel perfectly blends modern comforts with hints of our neighbourhood story, as the original travertine marble walls and the murals celebrating the area's long history of artistic expression. At I Sofà Bar Restaurant & Roof Terrace, which moves to the top floor of the hotel during summer, our chef Domenico Cassese handpicks seasonal ingredients and crafts farm-to-fork Roman recipes. Relax in our Roman bath including large whirlpool, sauna and Turkish bath at our wellness centre. Our outdoor event space suits 200, and we're walking distance from Pantheon, Vatican City, Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza Navona, Campo de' Fiori and the Spanish Steps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing