We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ranked #31 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for the first 3 days of our honeymoon. Hotel was clean, staff were friendly, helpful and informative. Breakfast was included and was spectacular. A lot to choose from. Our room was clean, bed was a little hard and floors were scratched up a bit. Location was prime. Via Guilia is one of the most beautiful streets in Rome. A 10 minute walk to the Vatican. Spa was nice, small pool, turkish bath, and sauna. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Jennie_533
On behalf of the St. George Roma, congratulations for your honeymoon!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to highlight your experience during your stay with us, and happy to know that your impression about the location and the cleanliness of our hotel were good.
Regarding our beds we are putting more sponge in our mattress toppers in order to be less harder, thank you for let us know regarding the scratch on the hard floor the housekeeper has already solved the problem
In addition I am also very pleased to learn that our staff was very attentive, friendly and helpful. I will surely share your comments with them. Thank you also for mentioning our Spa and I’m happy you enjoyed it.
No need to say how much we would love to see you returning to stay with us again very soon.
With warmest regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for a week for the second half of our honeymoon. Most staff are really friendly. Breakfast is great, food in the rooftop restaurant is overpriced and not that great. Bar is nice for a pre evening drink. We were given a free upgrade which was lovely, but the room was still very small and in need of a refresh. All in all a great week in a clean lovely hotel with a brilliant location.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klouise13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Klouise13
Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your stay at the St. George Rome.
Although we have noted that in general you enjoyed your stay with us, the friendly staff the breakfast ecc.as I am sure you have noticed the St. George Hotel is housed by a 15th century building which gives the hotel great character and charm, but at the same time we are unable to modify the shape and size of any rooms and this is the reason why some of them may not provide generous space.
Regarding our roof top restaurant the rates are in the average of hotels having same categories, but your comment is very useful to us and we will do our best to comply with all our guest needs.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again soon!
With warmest regards,
Paolo Falchi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were going to Rome with friends for our silver wedding anniversary and wanted a special restaurant for our celebration. I booked in advance as we wanted to be sure we could get in as we wanted to eat outside overlooking Rome. Unfortunately we couldn't see anything as there were pots of hedges all around the terrace.
We ordered our meals and waited, they sounded delicious. My husband and I ordered prawn spring rolls on a bed of octupus. When it arrived it was a ball of screwed up soggy pastry with a bit of white sauce in with a hint of prawn on a bed of cold rubber with various bits thrown on. This was €18. My main was sirloin steak which was inedible - twice!! Overall very disappointing. The meal with drinks for 4 was €240.00 which was not good value at all. Unfortunately it was the day of our anniversary so we will always have an unpleasant memory of that evening in what was a fabulous weekend in Rome!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChelleBelle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear ChelleBelle59
Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent experience in our restaurant, I truly apologize if you were disappointing regarding our menu bur sometimes some local dishes can be different from any other local dishes even if the ingredients may seem the same, in this case you had salmon mouse spring rolls ( we do not have prawn spring rolls )on octopus salad and grilled potatoes with wild mint sauce, maybe this type of sauce very common in the Mediterranean area is not very known elsewhere and may have a special taste, believe me this is one of our most sold appetizers, sorry for the sirloin steak I believe there was a misunderstanding regarding the cooking procedure.
We all due respect € 240 for 4 people ,€ 60 per person included the wine, considering the location is below average of any other hotel same category in downtown Rome, of course our Roof Top Restaurant has different views: from St. Peter’s , Castel S.Angelo, P.za Venezia that can be seen from all our seating tables.
We are sorry for having disappointed your expectations and we hope we will have opportunity to welcoming you gain soon and restoring your faith in our restaurant.
Your sincerely.Paolo Falchi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A friend and I shared a room for 4 nights in this lovely hotel in this excellent location in this beautiful city.
As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the friendly staff who told us that our room had been upgraded (very nice news). While we waited for our room to be ready, we went upstairs to the terrace and enjoyed a fabulous lunch where the water and coffees were complimentary. The staff were once again charming and even gave us small Italian lessons.
Needless to say the room was great. The bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom and amenities very good.
I particularly enjoyed the great breakfast selection and the opportunity to eat outside with the little fountain.
Would definitely recommend!
We managed to enjoy the rooftop terrace on more than one occasion!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Maria M
Thank you very much for your lovely review and thank you for choosing to stay at the St. George Roma.
I was delighted to read your comments and especially pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation.
I’m also proud that you found our staff friendly e charming.
Happy to learn that enjoyed our breakfast in the outside courtyard, I am very pleased you enjoyed also the view from Rooftop Bar and Restaurant.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and I sincerely hope to see you soon again in Rome.
Paolo Falchi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We will definitely be returning to Rome an some point, and when we do, we will almost certainly be staying here again. The decor was lovely, the breakfast lounge/courtyard was serene and the rooftop bar and restaurant was just spectacular. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we even got an upgraded to a deluxe room, which was beautiful.

The neighbourhood was perfect as well - convenient walking distance to absolutely everything, but nice and quiet.

We ended up at the roof bar every night after an evening out. It is wondeful up there, with a view of the city and some dangerously good cocktails.

I cannot say enough good things about this gem of a hotel. The only thing I would suggest to anyone staying here is to bring your own hairdryer. The ones there are pretty useless if you want your hair dried within the week!

Thank you again for making our trip to Rome as wonderful as it could possibly have been. We'll look forward to returning, both to the city and the hotel.

Thank Vickylouise87
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Vickylouise87
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We really appreciated it.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to highlight your experience during your stay with us and we are happy to know that your impression about our hotel was so good. In particularly we really appreciated your positive feedback on our morning breakfast and our Roof Top Bar & Restaurant; thank you! And thank you also for your kind comments on our staff!
Your suggestions are very usefull to us we are planning by the end of the year to change all our hairdryers to 2000W.
I once again thank you very much for not keeping St. George Roma as a secret but instead sharing your experience with Tripadvisor.
I hope to see you soon in Rome.
With best wishes. Paolo Falchi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was a bit apprehensive about booking this hotel for the last three nights of our five-day visit to Rome after reading some of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor. But when I was able to snag a discounted deluxe room from the Hotel’s website that offered the opportunity to stay at five star hotel at a four price, we took a chance and the deal was done – and what a deal it was!

First, the negative (which is actually a positive): There was an issue with the HVAC in our room. These things sometimes happen in older buildings that have been renovated to modern standards. Management was extremely attentive to the issue and in a few hours, the maintenance crew had resolved the problem. The negative turned into a positive experience and the rest of our stay was wonderful.

Now the positive: The Hotel is located on the cobblestoned Via Giulia in the residential area of Rome’s historic district within walking distance of the Piazza Navona, Campo dei Fiori, Pantheon, Castel Sant’Angelo, Trastevere, St. Peter’s Square, the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel. The immediate neighborhood includes a number of bars, cafes, osterias, trattorias, ristorantes, and small shops that seem to cater to the locals as opposed to the occasional tourist, but nevertheless, were warm and welcoming to outsiders like us.

Although our room was a bit tight by American standards, it was by no means small or uncomfortable. Our spotless, second floor room faced a center courtyard that sheltered us from the street noise, but exposed us to the occasional sounds of people enjoying the outdoor area well into the evening. (This was not a problem for us.) The room was nicely decorated with a small desk and sitting area that included a comfortable chair for reading. The public areas in the hotel were also spotless, well-appointed, and “classy-chic” as opposed to eloquent. The staff at the front desk and at the wine bar was at all times professional and while they didn’t volunteer to suggestions with respect to our stay or the surrounding area, they were very helpful when we asked for information.

Unfortunately, we were unable to enjoy the rooftop bar and restaurant due to weather related issues. We did have a tasty and nicely presented dinner at the hotel’s indoor restaurant, but with so many great places for food in the area, eating in-house is not a “must-do” experience.

If you are looking for a five-star boutique hotel that is centrally located, but away from the crowds, then I highly recommend the St. George Roma, particularly if you can book a room at a discounted rate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HVRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear HVNY
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and to have chosen the St. George Roma.
I was delighted to learn you appreciated our location: this is one of our strengths and I am happy you enjoyed it.
We really appreciated your positive comments on the design of our public areas, on our rooms as well as on the professionalism of our staff.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again at the St. George Roma.
Best regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in a very convenient location to see all the sights, you can walk to Vatican City in minutes & are conveniently positioned for all the other top attractions. Very smart hotel, great staff, nice bar & a beautiful roof top terrace to enjoy the sun setting over Roma ( & the Vatican ). Rooms were perfect too, very clean & beautifully presented. They discovered it was my birthday during our visit so presented me with a lovely bottle of wine, which we thought was a nice touch. There were couples, families & business people in the hotel so suitable for all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMW228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear DMW228
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the St. George Roma.
I was delighted to learn you appreciated our location: this is one of our strengths and I am happy you enjoyed it.
I am especially happy you found our hotel elegant and that you appreciated your accommodation and the cleaning of the room.
Thank you also for your positive comments on our Roof Top Terrace.
I sincerely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you again at the St. George
Yours sincerely. Paolo Falchi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,270 in Rome
838 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#38 of 1,270 in Rome
864 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George

Address: Via Giulia, 62, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rome
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#69 Family Hotel in Rome
#88 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#138 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $289 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Indigo(R) Rome - St. George is a 5 star luxury hotel located in Via Giulia right in the historic centre of Rome amidst galleries, boutiques and workshops. Our 5 star luxury hotel perfectly blends modern comforts with hints of our neighbourhood story, as the original travertine marble walls and the murals celebrating the area's long history of artistic expression. At I Sofà Bar Restaurant & Roof Terrace, which moves to the top floor of the hotel during summer, our chef Domenico Cassese handpicks seasonal ingredients and crafts farm-to-fork Roman recipes. Relax in our Roman bath including large whirlpool, sauna and Turkish bath at our wellness centre. Our outdoor event space suits 200, and we're walking distance from Pantheon, Vatican City, Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza Navona, Campo de' Fiori and the Spanish Steps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing