We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Friendly and welcoming.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ranked #31 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the St.George. Admittedly on arrival, the outside of the building looks rather disappointing but once inside, the interior is smart, polished and welcoming. The staff are wonderful and we experienced a good level of service from the front desk, the breakfast team, the roof-top bar, the spa, even the hotel maids smiled and greeted us with a chirpy 'buongiorno'. Our room (307) was a reasonable size (by european standards) and the bathroom was bit of a squeeze but we didn't mind. The inclusive buffet breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Whether you're a light eater or you have a big appetite, there's a good selection of hot and cold dishes. On each evening's return to the hotel we headed to the rooftop bar for a late night drink. We noticed that the bar isn't open during the day which is a real shame because it's such a great addition. Complimentary bruschetta and crudités are always served which is a nice touch. We loved the spa and enjoyed the pool. Make no mistake, officially on the website it's referred to as a Roman bath or Turkish bath but this was simply a hydromassage pool measuring approximately 5m square. Not big enough to swim properly but enough for a relaxing dip. You can walk everywhere in Rome and for us, the combination of the late autumn heat and achey feet, the pool was a welcome addition. The spa also offers a wide range of treatments and they get booked quickly so plan ahead if you feel like some time out.

The hotel is located in the historic centre but in a quiet part of the city near the river. We found it to be well located for the Vatican City, Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, Campo di Fiori, via Condotti, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain... you get the idea! Rome is a city that is best enjoyed on foot - there is history everywhere you look. For those who love shopping, sadly Rome doesn't quite compare with Milan or even Florence. Obviously there are the high end luxury stores and a handful of interesting independent stores but not much in between. As for eating out, there is plenty to choose from. Beware the tourist traps but for us we particularly enjoyed the restaurants and the atmosphere in the Trastevere district. This was an easy 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. On our last day the hotel kindly organised a taxi to take us to Ciampino Airport. We were assured that we not be over-charged (as I was on a previous visit to Rome) because the fare of 50 euros is capped. However when we were in the car, our driver informed us that we would have to pay another 5 euros for parking! On arrival near the airport the driver claimed that the car was having problems and dropped us outside the airport perimeter on the busy main road!! Then he had the audacity to charge us the additional 5 euros for parking despite being nowhere near the departures terminal. With a flight to catch and no time to argue, we simply paid and ran to the terminal. If you organise a taxi drop off just make sure you this doesn't happen to you! An unfortunate end to our lovely stay in Rome and the St.George. This incident aside, the St.George is a great place to stay and I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason_from_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear Jason_from_London
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback on your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the St. George Roma.
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed at the St George Hotel in Rome this week for work. The hotel is in an excellent location very near the river. Rooms are well-appointed, bathroom was excellent. The buffet breakfast was very good and staff welcoming. The only downside was lack of iron in the room and a €15 per shirt ironing charge. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rome on business or pleasure. It is 10 mins from the Campo dei fiori, lively square full of restaurants and bars - you don't have to walk far to sample Rome's lively atmosphere! We will stay here on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesA045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear James A045
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback on your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the St. George Roma.
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed as a couple for 7 nights, checking on on the 24th Sept 2011. The room was nice, expected size for Rome. Location is quiet, slept well every night. Breakfasts, which were included in the room rate were good with plenty to choose from.

As others have mentioned - the pool is small, more of a whirl pool but is just the thing after a long day site seeing.

Location is the best - within walking distance of all the major sites and particularly is within a few mins walk of the Campo Di Fiori with its myriad bars and restaurants.

We loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear Geoff P
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback on your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the St. George Roma.
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Beautiful and stylish atmosphere — If your desires are for visual treats this would be the place.The spa as well as the top floor restaurant with a great view was a wonderful place to unwind after any sort of day wether it shopping or walking.The concierge was helpful both prior to and upon our visit to recommend airport transfers, restaurants, shopping suggestions and tours.The staff was courteous and such a delight. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Great location. This is by far the one of best hotels in Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Dear Cyndie W
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback on your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the St. George Roma.
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Very satified and comfortable, slept well every night. This is our first visit to Rome and in a boutigue hotel.

Located in a quiet neighbourhood, we felt safe walking back to the hotel after dinner in the late evenings although we needed to walk through some quiet alley ways. We can walk to most attractions from the hotel. We preferred this location over the crowded streets.

Services were exceptional and responsive throughout. Airport and Cruise transfers plus most of our taxi rides were arranged by the hotel with ease and punctual. Arrangements through the hotel cost a bit more but reduces the hazzles and the risk of getting ripped off by some taxi drivers. As a side benefit, our room was ready upon arrival as the hotel was aware of our schedule. By the way, the taxi meter starts clicking upon dispatch, but nevertheless meteres were used.

Breakfasts were refreshing and enjoyable.

Kudo to the hotel management for making an outstanding effort.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Dear JLInternational
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback on your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the St. George Roma.
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Wonderful staff, great price ($250 CAD on hotwire)
The hotel was in an excellent location close to st. peters square (10 min walk) and to the metro.
The room was very comfortable too and after a transatlantic flight I found the turkish baths a wonderful way to relax and recover from jetlag.
The doorman, Alejandro is the best! He speaks several languages and knows many insider tips.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inside courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank foodiesforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We only had one day in Rome and the location of this hotel was perfect. We were able to see everything either by walking and taking short taxi rides to all the sites. In the morning we did all the sites to the west of the hotel and then made it back to change and relax for a few minutes. We then went to the Vatican in the afternoon. The best part was after a long day of site-seeing we went down to the spa and enjoyed a nice dip in the pool and steam room to relax. Very nice bonus. The area is so close to a few Piazza's where there are good restaurants and lots of action at night.
The room itself was very nice - and the staff and service was great. The only draw back of the room is the sound-proofing - we could hear things on the floor above us often. We were able to overlook this and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear Marinadel
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback on your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the St. George Roma.
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,270 in Rome
839 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#38 of 1,270 in Rome
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George

Address: Via Giulia, 62, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rome
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#69 Family Hotel in Rome
#88 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#138 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $285 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Indigo(R) Rome - St. George is a 5 star luxury hotel located in Via Giulia right in the historic centre of Rome amidst galleries, boutiques and workshops. Our 5 star luxury hotel perfectly blends modern comforts with hints of our neighbourhood story, as the original travertine marble walls and the murals celebrating the area's long history of artistic expression. At I Sofà Bar Restaurant & Roof Terrace, which moves to the top floor of the hotel during summer, our chef Domenico Cassese handpicks seasonal ingredients and crafts farm-to-fork Roman recipes. Relax in our Roman bath including large whirlpool, sauna and Turkish bath at our wellness centre. Our outdoor event space suits 200, and we're walking distance from Pantheon, Vatican City, Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza Navona, Campo de' Fiori and the Spanish Steps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing