We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Selva Candida”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Selva Candida
Ranked #398 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
san diego
1 review
“Hotel Selva Candida”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for ~10 days at the end of May 2010. The hotel is clean, spacious (comparing to Rome central hotels) and cheap. We chose this hotel because the package price (3 airline tickets+10 day hotel) was cheaper than buying the airline tickets alone. The hotel offers a good breakfast (free). The hotel property is well maintained with a lot of trees and grasses, making you feel like living in the countryside. The staff are helpful and courteous, except at the end that they wanted to charge me for the stay, while in fact that I already pre-paid to Travelocity. They figured it out and apologized. There is a grocery store right across the street where you can buy water and snacks. It's 50 euro to the airport.

The bad part about this hotel is that it's far from any restaurants, the city center and the local subway stations (~10 minutes/ 15 euro taxi ride to the subway station, then 30 minutes subway to the Termini). Because there is no restaurant at the hotel (except for breakfast), we tried to walk to the closest restaurant (10 minutes away). It was challenging because the road is VERY narrow and people drive fast. There is a bus across the street from the hotel that runs every 25-30 minutes, but we could not figure out the schedule. We had trouble finding a taxi to come back to the hotel from the local subway station because there is no taxi stand. We ended up having dinner at a restaurant and asked the waitress to call for a taxi. We once wanted to book a tour to Napoli, but the tour bus would not pick us up at the hotel because it is too far. So keep this in mind.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j18sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
effeaniballi, Proprietario at Hotel Selva Candida, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear j18sd,
thanks for your appreciation for our hotel and the work we are doing. I'm happy you enjoyed the hotel and our services but I have to clarify some of the aspects about resturants and public trasport to the city center:
Resturants: the closest resturant is in front of the hotel, about 40 meters from our entrace, 5 meters over the bus stop. It's called ristorante Selva Candida. Another resturant is called Sapori veri, about 400 meters from our hotel. Other resturants (Portobello, Ristoro Santa Gemma, da Monica) are about 800 meters from here. Check on googlemaps.
Taxi: the rates you wrote are right, but the fare to the airport is a fixed price for the trasfers we can arrange, in case you get a standard taxi the price goes from 48 to 70 €, depending on wich airport you are coming from, the traffic, the number of the baggages the taxi driver mood...
Bus: bus 904 passes in front of the hotel every 15-20 minutes. You can check the timetable here http://trovalinea.atac.roma.it/zoom_in.asp?VediSemafori=off&VediMeb=off&VediParcometri=off&VediFermate=off&VediLinee=off&VediRivendite=off&percorso=904RT&idmtram=50963&xmax=2306970&ymax=4648758&xmin=2301556&ymin=4641647&tipologia=URB&linea=904&circo=NO at the public trasport company website.
Street: yes, the public street is not as large as an highway and there is nothing I can do to fix this problem. In these yeasr this area is developing: new houses should even menas new streets. We hope. Meanwhile we built our own street from the hotel to via Casal del Marmo to reach the hotel extremely fastly skiping the traffic.

Best regards

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    145
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
94
139
9
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2011

I have just stayed at the Selva Candida Hotel after a 3 year absence and I had forgotten how wonderful the hotel is. The only drawback to visitors to Rome would be the transport link into the city, as previously mentioned on the site the 904 bus can be unreliable. However dont let this put you off as the hotel and its peaceful setting more than make up for this. You are guaranteed a warm friendly welcome and a very peaceful night's sleep. The hotel and the rooms are spotlessly clean with lovely furnishings and there is a real sense of warm character throughout. There are extensive gardens and I can imagine on a beautiful summer's day the location would be hard to beat. Having stayed at other hotels in Rome I would put the Selva Candida right at the top of my list and look forward to returning in the near future

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SC0822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2010

The hotel is on the outskirts of Rome and has wonderful facilities and a fantastic staff. Each morning we had a wonderful breakfast with cappucino. Nice, modern bathrooms and quiet. The only down side is the distance from downtown Rome (about 40 minutes by public transport). As long as you keep that in mind for your planning, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Hotel Selva Candida is a great hotel. The staff was unbelievably friendly and our stay was wonderful. If you are looking for a clean, lovely hotel just outside the city of Rome this is the place for you. You definitely need a car when staying here since it is about a 15 minute drive to the center of the city but it is extremely easy to get there. Just ask the front desk and they will give you directions. The complementary breakfast was great--very delicious and a wide variety of choices. Just make sure you ask for your coffee :) Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wxyz321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2010

My husband and sixteen month old daughter stayed at hotel Selva for five nights. This was maily following recommendations on this website but also the availability of gardens (running toddler) and the quiet surroundings (sleeping toddler). I cannot fault the place other than the no. 904 bus which can be a little unreliable.
The rooms were clean, the staff spoke good Englich and the owner (Francesco) was there most days with a wealth of local knowledge.
If you are planning to see Rome but are in no rush or are planning to drive up the coast this is a perfect hotel as it close to the ring road.
The only word of warning to future guests would be to be aware that there are no side walks and to use a little caution when approaching the road/getting off the bus.
I would definately return and enjoy their hospitality again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara_srs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2010

My Husband & I loved this hotel. The room was very nice & it was a very good size with a lovely Terrance. The Staff was great, spoke great English and were super helpful! If we ever make it back to Rome, we will be staying here again. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed here for 3 days. Its a very well kept place with great amenities. I would have given it a 5 star if had good public transportation access. Sometimes we had to wait almost an 1 hr to 1.5 hrs at the train stop for the bus to show up, Its especially bad when it rains. It was a easy find by car though when we intially arived here on a rental car. Staff here are very friendly and go above and beyond to help with anything.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suman_goli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
9.8 mi away
Hotel Darival Nomentana
Hotel Darival Nomentana
#453 of 1,291 in Rome
94 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Genziana
Hotel La Genziana
#480 of 1,291 in Rome
109 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Orto di Roma
Hotel Orto di Roma
#421 of 1,291 in Rome
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Domidea Hotel
Domidea Hotel
#213 of 1,291 in Rome
606 reviews
4.3 mi away
Resort la Rocchetta
Resort la Rocchetta
#314 of 1,291 in Rome
166 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Petra
Hotel Petra
#318 of 1,291 in Rome
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selva Candida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selva Candida

Property: Hotel Selva Candida
Address: Via di Selva Candida 200, 00166 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#129 Business Hotel in Rome
#182 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#189 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Selva Candida 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Selva Candida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selva Candida Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing