We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE MOST HELPFUL STAFF - EASY ACCESS FOR AIRPORT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Selva Candida
Ranked #419 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THE MOST HELPFUL STAFF - EASY ACCESS FOR AIRPORT”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel was comfortable, clean, spacious, easy to get to , excellent direction ; and the staff could not have been more helpful. They changed our room ( because a smoker had been there before and upgraded us) ; gave us directions so that we drove straight into the heart of Rome and parked next to St Peter's Square ; told us where to get the best gelato (they were right) ; let me send an email in the middle of the night - and were charming from start to finish. No Roman arrogance - just Lazio laid back friendliness. No wonder the car park was full!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    145
    27
    6
    7
See reviews for
99
140
9
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Hotel Selva Candida. Room were small but very nice and clean. Breakfast included was wonderful. More than enough food and everything was fresh. Transportation is necessary. Only 5 minutes from the metro. Francesco and Stephano were very accomodating. They were there for all our needs. Either for a room problem, at the bar, or to drive you to the metro station. Located 15 minutes from the airport, walking distance to the market and a few restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ddcloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here one night before early flight from Fiumicino. Staff very helpful, room clean and comfortable and adequate size for one night. Not an extensive breakfast choice, but adequate. No restaurant, but hotel arranges a deal with a restaurant 100 metres away. Just be careful on the walk as there are no pavements.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

25 American tourist showed up Francesco Hotel. We were to spend 7 nights in a Villa and the last 3 at his hotel. When we arrived we found out the Villa had been overbooked. Francesco found us a hotel for our first night and a beautiful villa that could put us up for the other 6 nights. He saved our vacation!!!!! The last three days were spent at his hotel. Since we also lost all our van transportation, Francesco & his brother drove us to points in Roma & picked us up. His hotel & grounds are beautiful but more than that Francesco and his staff are beautiful people. I would highly recommend his hotel if you are visiting Roma. Thank you Franseco!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EileenB53951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Wa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed at the hotel one night prior going to the airport. Overall I would recommend this hotel. The room was small but very clean. We were there in November, so didn't have a chance to enjoy the grounds around the hotel, but they were very nice. Would be enjoyable in nice weather. Breakfast was very good and was only about 15 minutes by car from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWiltse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We last stayed at this hotel in May 2011 as a couple, minus the kids. When we arrived early evening of the 14th September 2013, Francesco looked up from the desk, indicated me and said 'I recognise you', and then pointed to my husband and said ' you also'. Looked at the kids and said 'but not you!' Says it all really, the fact he gets to know the guests well enough that he can recognise them after over 2 years. Its a small hotel. They effortlessly get to know their customers, making them at home. Immediately after showing us our rooms, Francesco set about organising directions for us to get into Rome and the best streets to get parked, once again providing himself an absolute godsend.
The rooms were scrupulously clean and nicely made up, a double bed for us, the room was small, but perfectly adequate. The kids had the room across our own little hall - a double bed settee made up. The bathroom/shower was in the middle. There was spare bedding in the wardrobes - extra pillows etc.
On leaving I forgot the camera and had to go back in and the door would not open with the swipe card. Francesco had 'real' keys and had us in in no time, and reset everything and we had no further problems. Similarly the aircon was playing up, but he set it to our selected temperature from reception for us, so we had a pleasant cool nights sleep. Silly little things, but at this place you just need to ask, and it will be sorted immediately.
The following morning the lass at reception printed out all of our boarding passes for us for our flights home the next day, once again, very helpfull as this is a laborious task.
Breakfast was up to the usual standard, 3 different fruit juices, fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, rolls, cheese & meat, jams etc. The children loved the selection. As always, everything was spotlessly clean. After breakfast our kids had a nice potter about in the gardens whilst we finished our coffee. The garden area is ample and well kept.
On our return from Rome on the Sunday, we unfortunately discovered our car had been broken into, with the little side window at the back smashed. When we returned to the hotel, the current member of staff could not have been more helpfull. (I'm so sorry, can't remember his name - Stefano perhaps?) He came out with a brush and dustpan, and proceeded to help my husband clean up all the glass and then made a great job of covering the hole with bags and tape. We could have managed ourselves, but it had really upset us, and his care and attention made the whole experience so much more bearable.
Added to which, when we had returned to our rooms, housekeeping had made a lovely job of remaking our beds (which we had left in a right mess - apologies for that) and had placed the kids little toy Mario men from McDonalds that had been lying on the floor, on their pillows, and it really made it seem so much more like home. By this point we had been away for a full 2 weeks, so these little touches made all difference to them.
On an entirely seperate note, the hotel now has another entrance, which has been added since our last visit. This road can be accessed via a barrier which is activated with your room card. Its brilliant, much much quicker to get into town.
On the morning we were leaving, Francesco came into the restaurant to say goodbye, and have a chat as he was going home after his night shift had ended. We were touched by the gesture, but not surprised, as it is so indicative of how he treats the guests. Truly, it was like coming home, before we came home, and a perfect way to end our holiday!
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Its worth every penny, and for this area, its very reasonably priced anyway. I'd defy anyone to try and find better value or service for their Euros. If I ever return to Rome for a 3rd visit, I would definately stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EilidhMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here in 2011 for 3 nights, room was of good size, decor little aged, clean room.
We had late breakfast was very good, also tasted the hot chocolate (actual chocolate).
I think wifi was a bit flaky but managed to sort it out , with the help of the friendly reception staff.
Gardens are keep in very good order and can take a relaxing stroll.
The hotel is some distance from regular public transport, we were driving to the Metro station leaving the car in some side street, but finding a parking spot was not easy.
Returning to Rome next year will look for a place closer to center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cd954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gianicolense
Relais Castrum Boccea
Relais Castrum Boccea
#441 of 1,257 in Rome
344 reviews
Hotel Orto di Roma
#501 of 1,257 in Rome
279 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#182 of 1,257 in Rome
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#213 of 1,257 in Rome
627 reviews
Hotel Petra
#307 of 1,257 in Rome
128 reviews
Resort la Rocchetta
#250 of 1,257 in Rome
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selva Candida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selva Candida

Property: Hotel Selva Candida
Address: Via di Selva Candida 200, 00166 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#129 Business Hotel in Rome
#182 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#189 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Selva Candida 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Selva Candida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selva Candida Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing