We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a conference at Cavalieri”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adagio Rome Vatican
Ranked #15 of 1,121 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a conference at Cavalieri”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while attending a conference at Cavalieri and found everything to be average but perfectly acceptable. The room was kept clean, the internet was fast enough and breakfast was good. There is a restaurant right next to the hotel that was very good value, I got back to the hotel at 8pm most nights and needed to carry on working so ordered takeaway, which they were happy to do.

Note the hotel charges €30 for using the kitchen but if you've just used a couple of plates that you wash up yourself you can explain it to them at checkout and get them to knock it off your bill.

Room Tip: Suites aren't really worth the money, I stayed in a superior double which was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelloLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    241
    65
    31
    13
See reviews for
206
185
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had a package shipped to the hotel for my arrival. The host did not know about it, but did not need to as it was already in my room for me - Bonus! I was pleasantly happy with this.

The beds were soft, but in the "spring"y sort of way. I slept well enough, but it certainly would not hurt to update the beds.

My wife had some issues with the hot water in the showers. I faired fine with this.

Breakfast was outstanding. I looked forward to it everyday as I had issues finding food I enjoyed in Italy. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh meats, cheese, fresh bread, a good selection of coffee styles, cereal, milk, juice, and some fancy pastries.

Rooms have a kitchenette, but you'll pay 30 euros to use it. They don't do dishes or clean it during your stay. Considering they don't provide any cleaning materials (dish soap, sponge, etc) it's a little pricey, yet convenient.

My major complaint was the price of parking. Parking was approximately 20 euros a day, which was painful to pay as hotels.com implied (though not stated) that parking in the garage was free. It's not.

The hotel is conveniently located around the corner from a train station that takes you to the metro in two short stops. We rode the train for free the first couple of days as there is no place to buy tickets at the station by the hotel. Watch out for the ticket personnel on the train who is happy to fine you 10 euros without a ticket.

The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

Hotel was quiet which was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Senica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

... and must attend a conference there HR Mallia is an excellent alternative. You can walk to the congress-centre (I am 62 and overweight and needed less than 20 minutes, my fit daughter less than 10) but taxis in Rome are not expensive. If you want to visit Rome there is bus 913 (5 minutes walk): every 10 minutes it passes near the Vatican Museum and goes all the way to the other side of the river, near the Spanish Steps. Rooms at Mallia are spacious and clean. The buffet breakfast (the usual Italian pastry + cheese, ham, salami) is served in a nice room on the ground floor with interior and exterior sitting. The price is a bargain : we had an apartment with 1 bedroom, 1 livingroom with 2 large sofas, table and 4 chairs, flatscreen, a kitchen (you pay extra if you use it) with a large fridge & freezer, a complete but rather old fashioned bathroom and a terrace for only €85 per night breakfast included. Also very fast WIFI.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loeloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice hotel in the outskirts of Rome. Staff isnt that service minded and we had to ask for toliett paper and more towels. Did get paper but not towels. They dont clean the room every day , just makes the bed. AC doesnt work in every rooom. The breakfast is poor and they run out of different things every morning. The pool area is nice. You have to wear a cap in the saltwater pool ( 3 euros) and the sun bed is 4 euros a day. Nice bar that serves cold drinks and fruit. The trainstation is around the corner but the Metro in Aurelia was down for service so we had some difficulties gettting into the city and back. Nice restaurant at the hotel with good pizzas but the meat was dried and grilled to long and they served me a worm in the salad aswell... ( just an excuse).

For the price the hotel is OK but wouldnt stay there if it wasnt for the pool. After a warm day in Rome the pool is an exellent place to be..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed in the Mallia during a business trip and found the experience pretty disappointing. The hotel claims to be four-star accommodation, but is closer to a good two-star, or an average three-star. The room was a decent size but in dire need of updated decor and a little dingy. The bathroom was also slightly grimy, and I found two hairs on the towels that weren't mine. What's more, there was no view to speak of, and the location wasn't terribly convenient. The breakfast was at least tasty, but what really spoiled my stay was the service. The staff weren't terribly friendly or helpful to start with, but beyond that, they tried to charge me for using the mini bar, which I hadn't - not least because it was empty when I arrived. They were then rude and difficult over sorting out the mistake. I certainly wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cehack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The location is fine, fairly convenient for the city center with the light rail. The hotel has, as of March 2012, some renovated and some non renovated apartments/rooms. The non renovated ones are spacious and clean, but quite a bit run down (nowhere near the international standard for a 4 stars). The pool is a joke, and is almost always used by the nearby sports center. You will be bothered by the noise coming from it, and that's it. What is worse, the renovation work is in progress, and will provide for a noisy stay (and no sleep in the morning). The staff (not easy to deal with for non-italian speakers) will try to screw you, telling you that your room will not be affected by the renovation works, only to have you wake up at 7 with the workers hammering and noisily toiling in the room below yours. Avoid this place, and in general be careful in Rome, where most often than not people will try to screw you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connemara289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

A party of four of us stayed at the Mallia for a rugby international. The hotel is pretty far out of the way, I suppose a mile or two north of the Vatican. There is a train station next door which will get you down to the Vatican fairly quickly with connections for the northernmost of Rome's tubes, but late at night getting back there, or in bad weather, it's a bit inconvenient, especially as the tube and train lines don't cover a lot of the historic centre of Rome for obvious reasons. Buses we didn't investigate but I don't think that it would have made much different. For sightseeing, restaurants, bars, churches and so on you are better off closer to the centre.

The hotel displays four stars but I'd query that - I have stayed in two-star hotels which aren't much different. The rooms are so-so: I had a bed where you could feel the springs and the shower-room was pretty shabby. That said, the rooms were large and the linen clean. The soundproofing wasn't great (perhaps because the room had connecting doors that were locked for non-family occupancy) and on the Saturday night I needed my iPod earphones to cancel out the sound of the kids, TV and general kerfuffle in the room next door at around midnight, despite having had a few drinks at and after the rugby and generally being a decent sleeper.

The breakfast is frankly poor - some of the heavy Italian-style sweet croissants, a bit of salami and cheese and a grotty machine that dispenses juice which I suspected was actually produced from concentrate or powder of some sort - at least, I couldn't see any oranges going in and a lot of juice seemed to be coming from somewhere. No fruit as such and the tea and coffee from the little machine where you press a button - the sort of thing you sometimes get in waiting rooms.

One or two of the reception staff were welcoming and polite but there was one very brusque lady in attendance who seemed to be in a position of some responsibility which her demeanour made clear didn't include being nice to visitors. Why people choose to go into the hospitality industry and then get grumpy with the punters is beyond me.

On a rugby trip you don't particularly care where you go, but had my mates not booked this hotel I wouldn't have gone there and would not go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhodriMawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#119 of 1,263 in Rome
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,263 in Rome
6,750 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#32 of 1,263 in Rome
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Rome Vatican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Rome Vatican

Property: Adagio Rome Vatican
Address: Via Damiano Chiesa 8, 00136 Rome, Italy (Formerly Mallia)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,121 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Rome Vatican 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adagio Roma Vatican is located in the green area of the Balduina district, not far from the shops and the Gemelli Hospital, and just 2.5 Miles (4 km) from Vatican City. The Aparthotel has 107 air-conditioned apartments, ranging from studios for 2 people to 2-room apartments for 4 people, a meeting room, a breakfast room and a private garage. The Balduina Metro station is close by and provides easy access to the main tourist and business areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adagio Rome Vatican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Mallia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing