We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“greatest service”
Review of Funny Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Funny Palace
Ranked #891 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 3, 2009

i had a great stay at funny palace. eventhough you are checked in at the laundromat next door, this is actually the best service i have ever experienced at a hostel - that they give you a map and all the information necessary for your whole stay was very apreiciated. but it was also a nice and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 222 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2009

The jokes of the staff get a little tedious... but really friendly and helpful so very impressed overall. The rooms are modern and spacious + spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I stayed here with my wife and two young children. Families can feel a bit out of place in hostels but we were made to feel amazingly welcome. The owner, Marbri, is a very friendly and helpful guy. More than six months later my daughter still talks about "Marbri-bello!" We had a triple room with an ensuite which was a lovely hotel room, really, not a hostel room! The hostel/hotel is superbly located- very easy walk to Termini station, but still quiet. There are cheap places to eat nearby and it's really easy to get around and see Rome's sights. Marbri gave us superb advice on how to make the most of our time. Staying here really helped us to have a fantastic time in Rome, I can't recommend it highly enough!

Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank Chissy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

stayed in 4 beds dorm for 7 nights. twice we had some problems with electricity in our room but it was fixed immedietly. very nice stuff the que for a shower might be long couse it can be up to 12 people for one shower. but as total it is good place to stay in rome

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yav85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

After navigating from the station to the 'hostel' (not far away from it at all) we were slightly confused as we were directed into a laundrette and internet cafe. Our booking was not when we booked for (completely our fault) so we actually ended up not staying there. We never made it to the bedroom so no comment can be made about them or any other facilities the 'hostel' had to offer apart from the laundry and computers which looked great!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We_love_Brody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

The 'office' is in the laundromat downstairs. The rooms are upstairs. Three bedrooms, 8 people, sharing one bath was tough in the morning. Set up like a small apartment with a kitchen in the front and 3 bedrooms behind. Possible to cook, but your in Rome so eat out.

I felt like the neighborhood around the hostel was safe and friendly. Other directions from the termini were not as inviting.

Easy to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpylamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

My wife and I booked a double en suite and we are very happy with our choice! It is a five minute walk to Rome Termini. For 10 euros they'll do two loads of laundry for you. We got a free bottle of wine when we showed up. Payment was due in advance. Security of the building we stayed in was TOP NOTCH. The room was beautiful and in a beautiful, secure building. I would certainly stay there again.
Americans be warned, though. Air conditioning in Europe is rare. You must learn to sleep with the windows open and deal with street noise. A/C might be out of order, "off until June," or not there at all. You just have to get used to it. I would try it at home first to help get used to it.
Laundromat/Internet cafe on ground floor.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratherthanlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#656 of 1,270 in Rome
144 reviews
Esquilino
The Roma House
The Roma House
#1,267 of 3,743 in Rome
64 reviews
Prati
Comics guesthouse
Comics guesthouse
#241 of 3,743 in Rome
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Friend House
Friend House
#1,682 of 3,743 in Rome
58 reviews
San Lorenzo
B&B Stay at Rome
B&B Stay at Rome
#1,838 of 3,743 in Rome
52 reviews
Esquilino
Evan's Guest House
Evan's Guest House
#2,900 of 3,743 in Rome
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funny Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funny Palace

Address: Via Varese 33/31, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #891 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $38 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here you will find really spotless, safe, and low cost accommodation in the center of Rome. Whether you are looking for Hostel accommodation in dorm beds or for comfortable private rooms in a hotel, the Funny Palace is the ideal place to stay to enjoy the wonders of Rome. Every thing you need is close by, from tours, restaurants, internet, and laundry service to air tours above the ancient city. Stay as long as you want, we guarantee your stay to be a joyful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Funny Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funny Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing