We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Funny Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Funny Palace
Ranked #953 of 3,758 Rome B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hostel was surprisingly very nice. I was a little skeptical when we arrived because the place dosent have a sign and where you check in is a laundry mat. But once we checked in the staff sat down with us, opened a map and showed up how to get everywhere. They basically helped us plan out our whole trip, including the metro and bus numbers along with the price of entering buildings. The location is nice. Everything is about a 15 min walk away but the walks are really nice. However, the train station is 5 min away from the hostel. The staff was very friendly, and even gave us a free bottle of wine, along with a ticket for free breakfast at a place down the street. It was clean and the beds were pretty good for a hostel. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone traveling in Rome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    70
    28
    12
    18
See reviews for
12
56
52
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The location of this place is great. because its right next to the Termini. Its the place that you will land into once you reach Rome. Either by air or train. All trains from the airport connect you to this place.
The owner is very friendly, gave us a bottle of wine as a welcome present. he will help you out with all the places to see in the city and plan your days there too. you can tell him, how many days you're there for and he will tell you what to do, when and how.
The room was decent, big and the loos were clean. All the rooms are air conditioned so that helps as Italy can get really warm. especially during the afternoon.

Room Tip: Ask the owner to plan the days you're in Rome for. he will do a marvelous job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiragAga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We emailed the owner to see if it would be okay to check in late, around 11 PM. He said that it would be fine, and after finally finding the place, he gave us a map with routes and a lot of information about how to plan our days in Rome. He also gave us a bottle of wine! We walked around the corner to another building, and up to the first second floor where our room was. We originally booked for a 5 person mixed dorm, but got lucky and got moved to a 3 bedroom dorm! There is no common area at the hostel, so you pretty much just meet people when they're on the way to the bathroom. There was one bathroom to share between 9 people, so early in the morning, there is a line to shower.

Like I said, the hostel is close to the train station, but it is quite a hike to all of the sites. Buses are easily accessible as well. OVerall, it was a good stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter and was very surprised by the good reviews this hostel had received. I was happy to experience the check in through the laundry and internet point but it was dirty and untidy and I didn't find it ecclectic or interesting. Just dirty. The rooms were terrible and the bed rock hard and the shower did not work properly.
The breakfast of a croissant and coffee was provided in a cafe around the corner and it was very average.
I could never recommend this hostel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The rooms are very nice (more like hotel) and close to the train station! The check in is a little odd in an Internet cafe but the owner is very friendly. We were a little concerned about the safety of our bags just sitting in the cafe while we toured around before check in though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was pleased by the Funny Palace. I wasn't put off by checking in at a laundromat as a matter fact I had them wash, dry and fold my clothes. After walking up the 77 stairs to my room I was pleased by its cleanliness. I was encouraged by the stairs to stay out in the city all day. The Funny Palace is a great value. Everyone there is helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larrycollins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my time at the funny palace, it's really close to the main attractions and the price is reasonable. The service was great as they upgraded our room for no charge with a free bottle of wine!

It doesn't have the typical hostel feel but if you're looking for a quite spot close to most things I'd recommend the funny palace.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepenskefile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel dell'Urbe
Hotel dell'Urbe
#556 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Giustiniani
Residenza Giustiniani
#2,773 of 3,758 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Tiburtino
B&B Foscari House
B&B Foscari House
#210 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Comics guesthouse
Comics guesthouse
#129 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Bed in Roma
Hotel Bed in Roma
#1,170 of 3,758 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Di Rienzo
Hotel Di Rienzo
#692 of 3,758 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funny Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funny Palace

Property: Funny Palace
Address: Via Varese 33/31, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #953 of 3,758 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here you will find really spotless, safe, and low cost accommodation in the center of Rome. Whether you are looking for Hostel accommodation in dorm beds or for comfortable private rooms in a hotel, the Funny Palace is the ideal place to stay to enjoy the wonders of Rome. Every thing you need is close by, from tours, restaurants, internet, and laundry service to air tours above the ancient city. Stay as long as you want, we guarantee your stay to be a joyful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Funny Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funny Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing