We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly great!”
Review of Funny Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Funny Palace
Ranked #961 of 3,664 Rome B&B and Inns
Surrey, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpectedly great!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Although the reception in the laundromat seems a bit strange, the room was actually great for the value. The room was clean, the people were very helpful and provided some great tips and it was conveniently located near the train station

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jagbir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    71
    29
    12
    18
See reviews for
12
56
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I booked a private room and were so please with how clean the room was! Eric was very helpful and even upgraded our room. The added complimentary bottle of wine was nice too! The location is convenient to the Termini station. I definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgarcia3582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Friendly staff, clean rooms and washrooms, and free computers/wifi. Definitely one of the best hostels I have been to so far. Only downside is no big space to meet other travellers. A big plus was that it is a 5 minute walk from Roma Termini, which means it is very easy to access all major tourist sites by metro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was skeptical to stay here due to the name of this place. We were originally booked into a shared room with two other people, however we did not want to share a room. We called two days before we arrived and the manager had no private rooms available. He offered us a room inside his mother's house. It was great!! We had out own living room, bedroom, and bathroom. We had privacy. The lady staying on the other side of the house was really sweet. The owner also gave us a bottle of wine to welcome us to Italy. It was great. I would stay here again!

Note: I accidentally clicked swimming pool below. The place does not have one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at funny palace to a warm welcome, bottle of wine and some great recommendations as to what to do in our few days in Rome. The room was clean and the bathroom was excellent with a great shower (we booked a deluxe double). Location was good but traffic noise from the road below was bad and combined with an uncomfortable bed didn't make for a good night's sleep.
The service we received from the Funny Palace was great and far better than that you receive in other establishments in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathiesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

we've stayed for 3 nights. The staff were really friendly. Even helped us to make plan to get the best of rome throughtout our stay. Room was fabulous! Even get discount to a nearby indian restaurant, with great food and quite cheap too! Near termini, which is good if you're planning to take public transport to go anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzlee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

we stayed 3 days at this hostel. It was fabulous!! We were upgraded without asking for it, Free bottle of wine each day. The breakfast was just enough and good. The internet was free not only during our stay but when we returned to pick up a bag that they stored for us for free for 10 days while on a cruise! My 11 year old daughter said that when we returned to Rome we could not stay anywhere else!!! Totally clean and nice sheets on the very comfortable bed. VERY IMPRESSED WITH THIS AMAZING GEM OF A PLACE. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: For just a little more get a private room. soooo worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#65 of 1,098 in Rome
263 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Prati
Comics guesthouse
Comics guesthouse
#128 of 3,664 in Rome
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#31 of 1,098 in Rome
733 reviews
Esquilino
B&B la Casa di Patty
B&B la Casa di Patty
#397 of 3,664 in Rome
189 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Gialel B&B
Gialel B&B
#333 of 3,664 in Rome
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funny Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funny Palace

Property: Funny Palace
Address: Via Varese 33/31, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #961 of 3,664 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here you will find really spotless, safe, and low cost accommodation in the center of Rome. Whether you are looking for Hostel accommodation in dorm beds or for comfortable private rooms in a hotel, the Funny Palace is the ideal place to stay to enjoy the wonders of Rome. Every thing you need is close by, from tours, restaurants, internet, and laundry service to air tours above the ancient city. Stay as long as you want, we guarantee your stay to be a joyful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Funny Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funny Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing