We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convient Location - right near the train station”
Review of Funny Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Funny Palace
Ranked #949 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Convient Location - right near the train station”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Simple, clean hostel that was very well-located near the train station. We were able to walk to some of Rome's famous sites (like the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, etc). There was also very good security and free internet!

We were only there for one night as a jump-off point for the rest of Italy, but it's of good value for the price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamss22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    71
    29
    12
    18
See reviews for
12
56
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Good location near the train station. Simple and clean rooms. The free internet is a definite perk. We didn't spend much time here, but it was great for one night at the beginning of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlimaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sand Springs, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Although Mabri was very helpful in giving us a map and an idea of what he would do in Rome, it wasn't enough to make me want to stay here again.

Pros:
Near the Termini Station, grocery store, free breakfast at a nearby cafe and Mabri was helpful in giving us our options for an early morning departure.

Cons:
I thought our room was in very poor condition. Stains and marks all over the walls, the bathroom, although clean was in need of some freshning up. Our shower leaked everytime we used it.

I also thought the hostel was quite loud at all times. The walls were thin so everytime someone would speak outside our room or down the hall we could hear every word.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPayne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Excellent location near the Termini Station. Matt gave us our whole itenerary in the first ten minutes. husband reccomends staying here just for there advice on wher to go and how to get there. I knew where I wanted to go, opening times, how long it would take etc etc etc... but Matt gave us bus numbers and when to avoid lines, resturant recommendations. It was fantastic.

Beds were singles pushed together that slid apart. Did dampen our holiday but the sheets were queen size. modern decor. Western toilet. very secure - three doors to get into your room. We stayed in the building next door. Recieved a bottle of red on arrival. Didn't drink it as we are not red wine drinkers. Free 30mins internet per person. Enough for our three night stay. Rome is best seen at night if you want to walk the streets.

Great place to stay and after our chalet in Banff Canda, this would be our next best accomodation we stayed at in our 5 week world tour. Eat the the Taverna Alba around the corner for the best cheap Italian meals with authentic atmosphere and accoridan player. Breakfast was included but a coffee and sliver of cake or crossiant is not enough. Had to pay 1Euro to suppliment the coffee for a hot choc. We bought bananas at the fruit market and had biscuits to suppliment breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusiDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2010

I my self have worked for a famous 5 stars hotel in Vietnam and would like to try to experience a hostel in Europe. As first sight, this hotel is really strange since the checkin point is an Internet and laundry shop but the room is more than decent: about 24 m2 and we have been upgraded to a room with separate bath room and WC. The hotel is just nearby the train station TERMINI so you can almost go every where. we have free internet and small breakfast. suggestion programme for 3 day: day 1: Vatican and its Museum (bus 64 or 40), discover the centre. day 2 Coloseo (bus 175). day 3: villas Borghese bus 910.
many interesting shop near on the way from Panthenon to Fontana di Trevi . leather shop : belt, leather i phone cover

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thanhJAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller574
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

hostel/hotel is amazing
very friendly and professional management
very helpful with local attractions, bus routes information

the double room i was in was very clean, well maintained
the laundry and internet service is great, ;)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Me and my cousin travelled in Italy for 5 days in September and we stayed at the Funny Palace hostel during our stay in Rome on 23rd and 24th nights. The location is very close to Roma Termini Station - just a 5 minute walk.

We were thankfully looking for the internet / laundromat reception, if not it would have been difficult to find the place as there was no name board suggesting the hostel's name at all. Anyway, having seen good reviews we chose this place and reserved a shared bathroom dorm. We were greeted by Matt, who was working there and ran us through the map of Rome and provided wonderful suggestions on where we should visit, and ideal times and also suggested good places to eat and also the hit Granita di Cafe.....
We were then greeted by Mabri (The owner I think), who simply upgraded us to a private double with ensuite due to a cancellation and that for free too! He also greeted us with a complimentary bottle of wine! now who would expect this from a hostel? It was simply awesome and when we were escorted into the room, we were shocked, it was a very nice room and very clean too! Mabri was so friendly and helpful too...I would definitely go back to stay there during my next visit if ever....and I would highly recommend this place....awesome location.

The breakfast as others mention, is offsite in a local cafe, but was limited to a coffee and a croissant of your choice, but was more than satisfactory for me and I have no complaints on that. All in all, it was a wonderful place to stay if you visit to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Select Garden
Hotel Select Garden
#532 of 1,263 in Rome
310 reviews
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#70 of 1,121 in Rome
264 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#17 of 1,121 in Rome
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#33 of 1,121 in Rome
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funny Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funny Palace

Property: Funny Palace
Address: Via Varese 33/31, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #949 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here you will find really spotless, safe, and low cost accommodation in the center of Rome. Whether you are looking for Hostel accommodation in dorm beds or for comfortable private rooms in a hotel, the Funny Palace is the ideal place to stay to enjoy the wonders of Rome. Every thing you need is close by, from tours, restaurants, internet, and laundry service to air tours above the ancient city. Stay as long as you want, we guarantee your stay to be a joyful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Funny Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funny Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing