We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afffordable accomodation,spotless,friendly and close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Obelus B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Obelus B&B
Ranked #842 of 3,758 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afffordable accomodation,spotless,friendly and close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

If you came to Rome to see Rome, without leaving your wallet behind, Obelus Bed and Breakfast is for you. Obelus is within walking distance to all the major sights. If you are not into walking the subway is just around the corner.On arrival Sal and Lisa greet you with a cool drink before showing you to your room. T he rooms are spotless. Each has its own ample sized bathroom, silent airconditioner ( in summer a must) and a tv. With all the things to see and do we had no time for the tv anyway.
Breakfast is very satisfying with breads, cheeses, jams, and croissants which Lisa cooks for you daily. Juice and coffee are unlimited. You may also use their fridge to keep your own beer cold during the day.
Sal and Lisa were the perfect hosts. They provided us with all the information and directions we needed so that we could see the most of Rome in the time we had. Because we had an early departure 6:30 am. Sal drove us to the airport in time for our flight..
If you hope to stay in this convenient, friendly location book early because with only 3 available rooms the place fills up fast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie-El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    103
    22
    9
    1
See reviews for
130
101
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

Lisa and Sal made us feel like home and part of the family

Mark and Magdalena

Toronto ,Canada

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

I found the Obelus Bed & Breakfast hotel on Internet as I needed a room to stay in Rome for one night.
My searching for the hotel criteria was location and price. The Obelus was fitting both these criteria, so I decided to book a room.
It turned out that the Obelus exceeds all my expectations: great location, reasonable price, clean room, friendly owner and all his staff. We really enjoyed stay at the Obelus and I wish we stayed longer. The only thing I would like to mention is size of the elevator in the building where the Obelus is located. Since the Obelus is actually an apartment adopted for the bed and breakfast hotel , other tenants in the building are regular people who live their own life. The building likely is old although it is never been noticed (everything is clean and beautiful). But the elevator in the building is very small, so you should not expect to fit inside with all your luggage and all family members. But it is working all the time, so you may split your rides on the elevator by two or three smaller parties.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilko1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keisha11
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Obelus! The B&B is located about 10 minute walk from the Colosseum, and about an extra ten-20 minutes to other locations (we walked everything, good exercise!). There was air conditioning, which was great since it was 98 degrees outside. The girl who ran the B&B was amazing, so helpful and sweet. This was by far the cheapest place to stay among all of our locations, and it was very nice! Our room was a bit small for American standards, but fine for European standard. The room was cleaned everyday, the bathroom was spotless. Very clean, very friendly, amazing value. The only drawback is that it is not in the heart of Rome, but considering the value it is worth the walk. You will not find a deal like this in all of Europe this time of year (Summer).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandalynne415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

The Obelus B&B made my Roman Holiday. It had a central location, but was removed enough from the hustle and bustle of Rome to create a quiet and relaxing environment. It is only a 10 minute walk from the Holy Steps and San Giovanni cathedral. The metro is only a 2 minute walk. This metro line it happens to be on takes you straight to the Vatican in about 20 minutes! (This is incredible for Roman traffic standards). Also the Colosseum is about a 10 to 15 minute walk. The location allows you to enjoy Rome by walking around in, yet being close to public transportation.

The rooms are spacious and extremely clean. The shower and bathroom was one of the biggest I saw in all of Europe. As an American, I was beyond excited about this. The room was also self-controlled air conditioned.

Breakfast was simple and basic but still delicious. They had pastries, toast, cereal, yogurt, coffee, juice, and nutella! The cookies that are kept in the common area are to die for.

The owners of the B&B are an absolute delight. They were extremely welcoming and very willing to answer questions. They are very knowledgable about Rome as a whole and the neighborhood of the B&B. They were even willing to drive us to the airport at 4:30am. They speak English fluently and clearly. I had left a valuable possession at the B&B and they even sent it to me. I consider that going above and beyond what they needed to.

The Obelus B&B help make Rome my favorite city in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillyb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

The beds were very comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful overall, and the location is excellent. It's about a 2 minute walk to a metro stop, and only a few minutes by metro to many of the sites in Rome. The breakfasts are tasty and fresh, if a bit basic. The rooms were clean, and except for one night (hyperactive child upstairs) very quiet. Rooms were decent in size, and the AC worked great. Highly recommended overall.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank all_of_that_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Wonderful little B&B with a tasty break fast and very close to the metro. People are very nice and helpful. Clean, comfortable rooms with posh bath rooms. More than worth the price!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lailams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Charme Holidays Colosseum
Charme Holidays Colosseum
#417 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Esquilino
In The Center You Too
In The Center You Too
#166 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Esquilino
Domus Laurae
Domus Laurae
#679 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Roma Central Guest House
Roma Central Guest House
#212 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Esquilino
Ad Hoc Domus
Ad Hoc Domus
#574 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obelus B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obelus B&B

Property: Obelus B&B
Address: Via Tasso 150, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #842 of 3,758 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Obelus B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It truly will feel as though you are staying at your best friend’s home when you are a guest at Obelus B&B located near His Majesty, The Colosseum. The three charming guest rooms have high ceiling and are clean and spacious and neatly furnished. All rooms have private bath rooms with shower, air conditioning, TV and safe box.You will wake up to the aroma of freshly baked croissants which are served every morning in the breakfast area located in the center of the apartment. The continental breakfast includes eggs, cheese, nutella, bread, toast, yogurt, american coffee, cappuccino, juice. So Monika and Pierdavide (the managers) make sure that Guests are given the proper startup for another dream-day in one of the most beautiful cities of the world.This B&B's located within walking distance of the Colosseum and it is the heart of the city. Consider that the Vatican is the farthest of all tourist attractions and it is only 3 kilometers away from Obelus, yet it can be reached with the underground train (the stop is around the block) and it is only 7 stops away (less than 8 minutes!!!) .People visit Rome for a multitude of reasons: the art, culture, food and wines. Relax and feel the magic in the air while walking the wonderful streets of The Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Obelus B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing