We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & the price was right :)”
Review of Obelus B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Obelus B&B
Ranked #930 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
keisha11
1 review
“Great location & the price was right :)”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Obelus! The B&B is located about 10 minute walk from the Colosseum, and about an extra ten-20 minutes to other locations (we walked everything, good exercise!). There was air conditioning, which was great since it was 98 degrees outside. The girl who ran the B&B was amazing, so helpful and sweet. This was by far the cheapest place to stay among all of our locations, and it was very nice! Our room was a bit small for American standards, but fine for European standard. The room was cleaned everyday, the bathroom was spotless. Very clean, very friendly, amazing value. The only drawback is that it is not in the heart of Rome, but considering the value it is worth the walk. You will not find a deal like this in all of Europe this time of year (Summer).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandalynne415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    103
    22
    9
    1
See reviews for
130
101
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The Obelus B&B made my Roman Holiday. It had a central location, but was removed enough from the hustle and bustle of Rome to create a quiet and relaxing environment. It is only a 10 minute walk from the Holy Steps and San Giovanni cathedral. The metro is only a 2 minute walk. This metro line it happens to be on takes you straight to the Vatican in about 20 minutes! (This is incredible for Roman traffic standards). Also the Colosseum is about a 10 to 15 minute walk. The location allows you to enjoy Rome by walking around in, yet being close to public transportation.

The rooms are spacious and extremely clean. The shower and bathroom was one of the biggest I saw in all of Europe. As an American, I was beyond excited about this. The room was also self-controlled air conditioned.

Breakfast was simple and basic but still delicious. They had pastries, toast, cereal, yogurt, coffee, juice, and nutella! The cookies that are kept in the common area are to die for.

The owners of the B&B are an absolute delight. They were extremely welcoming and very willing to answer questions. They are very knowledgable about Rome as a whole and the neighborhood of the B&B. They were even willing to drive us to the airport at 4:30am. They speak English fluently and clearly. I had left a valuable possession at the B&B and they even sent it to me. I consider that going above and beyond what they needed to.

The Obelus B&B help make Rome my favorite city in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillyb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The beds were very comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful overall, and the location is excellent. It's about a 2 minute walk to a metro stop, and only a few minutes by metro to many of the sites in Rome. The breakfasts are tasty and fresh, if a bit basic. The rooms were clean, and except for one night (hyperactive child upstairs) very quiet. Rooms were decent in size, and the AC worked great. Highly recommended overall.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank all_of_that_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Wonderful little B&B with a tasty break fast and very close to the metro. People are very nice and helpful. Clean, comfortable rooms with posh bath rooms. More than worth the price!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lailams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This was my very first Bed and Breakfast and specifically in my dream city, ROME! I was at first hesitant in staying at a Bed and Breakfast, but I had some issues with the hotel I reserved, so I needed to find a place real quick, because I was traveling alone (and I'm a girl) but thank goodness a friend of mine mentioned to me that her cousin stayed at Obelus and assured me that I will be safe and sound. I didn't expect the place to be great, but I was wrong! As soon as I got in the building I got way excited with the things I saw, from the old-fashioned elevator, to the keys, the living and dining room, the kitchen, the bed, the room and the toilet ("restroom/bathroom" as we Americans prefer). The place was very clean, simple but elegant! What I like is that it had this "home sweet home" feeling. I felt right at home to think the fact that I was by myself (it was my first time in ROME, so everything felt just right!) I would like to thank Sal(the owner) for answering my phone call at 6am, Italian time, I didn't think that I would interrupt his sleep, (because I thought that it's like a hotel which can be called 24/7..haha) and for OBELUS to have a vacancy for me. Sal even thought that I was "pranking him," but thank goodness he realize that I was serious and needed a place to stay while I'm in Rome. He definitely was a very nice person, he told me the best places to go eat in Rome, and the shortway to get to the Colosseo and the Forum. Sal's wife, was also very nice to come in and help served breakfast. I really appreciate that the owners, themselves, would take the time to wake up early to check up on their guests and to just get to know each other. That really was something to me, I really admired that.
The other OBELUS helpers, Liisi and Luna, were so great!!! They helped me realize how much I love NUTELLA! Thank you for serving good breakfast. They were so nice and made me feel comfortable we are even good friends now specifically on facebook hehe. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at OBELUS not because of the distance, which as I mentioned earlier, OBELUS is soooooo close to the Colesseo, the Forum, Palatino, and other Rome's attractions, also the Metropolitan's right around the corner (that you can take to get all over Rome and to the Vatican City), but the hospitality that I have received from the owners and their helpers. That was the biggest thing, because everything else went to place. Moreover, there were also nearby stores and bars. The place is on a safe and quiet area. Obelus made my Rome vacation dream an experience I will never forget!! Once again, thank you thank you OBELUS!! So I am definitely in love with Bed and Breakfast type of vacation stay. However, I am definitely staying here the next time I go back to Rome! I am very satisfied with my stay here and highly recommends this place!! So what are you doing now? Email or call or book your stay at Obelus!! :))

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blahblahblah2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Obelus B&B for four nights at the end of June 2010 and were very happy with both the the B&B itself and the wonderful service provided.
Obelus B&B is in a good location, it's close to the Colosseum and within walking distance to the centre of Rome, it's also around 100m away from the nearest Metro station. We found the Metro to be a cheap (€1/trip) and easy way to travel around Rome. The area surrounding Obelus B&B is quiet and we felt safe here at all times during our trip. The B&B itself is immaculately clean and tidy. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are an adequate size. Salvatore and Lisa were fantastic hosts, they were kind and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They gave us indepth advice on the best sites, restaurants and most importantly ice cream shops! We would thoroughly recommend Obelus B&B.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotfi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2010

great location, very nice hostesses, very clean, quiet and close to all main tourist attractions. Lisa really knows how to treat guests. Hope to return there again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SALPHOTO999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Eurostars International Palace
Eurostars Roma Aeterna
#282 of 1,259 in Rome
1,214 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#94 of 1,259 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Domus Laurae
Domus Laurae
#747 of 3,669 in Rome
35 reviews
Esquilino
Aria Rome Rooms
Aria Rome Rooms
#1,140 of 3,669 in Rome
32 reviews
Esquilino
Laterani Suite
Laterani Suite
#644 of 3,669 in Rome
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obelus B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obelus B&B

Property: Obelus B&B
Address: Via Tasso 150, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #930 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Obelus B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It truly will feel as though you are staying at your best friend’s home when you are a guest at Obelus B&B located near His Majesty, The Colosseum. The three charming guest rooms have high ceiling and are clean and spacious and neatly furnished. All rooms have private bath rooms with shower, air conditioning, TV and safe box.You will wake up to the aroma of freshly baked croissants which are served every morning in the breakfast area located in the center of the apartment. The continental breakfast includes eggs, cheese, nutella, bread, toast, yogurt, american coffee, cappuccino, juice. So Monika and Pierdavide (the managers) make sure that Guests are given the proper startup for another dream-day in one of the most beautiful cities of the world.This B&B's located within walking distance of the Colosseum and it is the heart of the city. Consider that the Vatican is the farthest of all tourist attractions and it is only 3 kilometers away from Obelus, yet it can be reached with the underground train (the stop is around the block) and it is only 7 stops away (less than 8 minutes!!!) .People visit Rome for a multitude of reasons: the art, culture, food and wines. Relax and feel the magic in the air while walking the wonderful streets of The Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Obelus B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing