We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Obelus B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Obelus B&B
Ranked #980 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were a group of 5, stayed for 2 nights. The location is very good, lots of restaurants and cafes nearby and the metro station is just a few minutes walk. Collesseo is about 15-20 minute walk, other attractions are also nearby. The best option is really by walking because you also get to stop and see other interesting sites and structures. Hawkers and human statues are likewise amusing to watch. The apartment was more than enough for us with 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, a kitchen with complete facilities and a living room. A nice and thoughtful touch is the clear folder provided by the owner with all the must see sites with transport details and tips for easy and convenient travel around Rome. Staff very helpful too. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper and was given an appartment on the first floor, bring ear plugs. the gar...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank almacedillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 351 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked the Obelus for a week in Rome for our family of four. From the pictures, website and from previous trips to Europe we expected a small functional room. When we arrived what greeted us was more then we had imagined!

Room: We got a room with two separate bedrooms, private washroom and a kitchen. everything was very clean and very well looked after. We had fresh breakfast laid out for us by the maid early in the am, so that we were ready to eat and go when we got up. The room had all the amenities, fridge stove, air conditioning!

Service: Pierdavide was an outstanding host and guide. I emailed him numerous times regarding metro information, arranging breakfast earlier as we were going to Pompeii, etc. Each time he responded withing 10 -15mins, was pleasant and got us the answers we needed.

Location: the location was outstanding. Within walking distance of the Colosseum and a few blocks from the Metro. The Metro line is fantastic and took us every where we wanted to go. The only Taxi's we took were from airport and back.

Overall experience: 10 out of 10 for us. Exceeded our expectations and made for a very memorable trip. Would HIGHLY recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GrimmFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 for 3 nights. The apartment itself is lovely. We enjoyed our stay.
The apartment is located close to San Giovanni Cathedral, close to public transport and restaurants. The Coliseum is about 20 minutes away by foot but is also accessible by bus.
Value for money. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yabkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 for 3 nights. The location is great for, within a 15-minute walk to the sights of ancient Rome, or a 2-minute walk to the metro for other sights. We are a family with 2 grown-up kids and stayed in the bright and spacious quadruple room. Excellent service too, Monika and Mona were very helpful. Hope to return some day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I will try to make this a very fair review because honestly there were some things that were good and some things that really weren't.

Service:
Davide and team were very helpful from even before we booked. They helped us find another good place to stay while in Rome and during the stay, sorted out our airport pickup and drop and were very friendly, considerate and helpful. Even though they do not remain at the location the whole day they are always available on email and phone.

Value:
I got a good deal from Davide which was nice.

Sleep Quality:
The beds are hard and old as are the pillows. They really need to spend a little money to upgrade their bedding. You do not get comfortable sleep at all.

Cleanliness:
The room was clean as was the common area and bathroom but all showed signs of general wear and tear which could again do with a little money spent to deal with the wear especially the bathrooms. One thing to point out here is that we asked for the room/bathroom to be cleaned but it was not cleaned and all the old towels were folded and put back to appear like it was cleaned.

Location:
This was an amazing location. Its literally 15 mins walking from the Colosseum, about 20 mins from Termini (main train station). There are some really nice restaurants and coffee shops in the area. It's right down the street from the subway (Manzoni), bus and tram which is super convenient.

Rooms:
The room we had was probably the worst one at Obelus. It was a double room but was literally only big enough to fit the bed with about 2 feet on all sides to walk around it. The bathroom was clean but small and the shower was tiny. There was a little balcony but it opened up into the central part of the building and it was obviously used for cleaning and storage of dirty laundry.

The thing that was probably the most alarming was that we discovered bed bugs in our room around the 3rd day of our stay.

We stayed in another B&B down the street during our time in Rome and so realized that Obelus does not merit the excellent ratings its getting at all. The owners are very nice but need to sort out these issues to make Obelus reflect their charm.

Room Tip: If you do stay there do not stay in room #3. It is a double room but is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gibran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obelus, Proprietario at Obelus B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

We are really sorry that you left with such negative feelings about our B&B . On behalf of the front desk's personnel let us give you our sincerest apologies. We had a special meeting, where we discussed your review and all the necessary measures to prevent similar cases in the future. We have already ordered new more comfortable beddings and they should be delivered this week.
Thank you for your feedback about the beds, so we can maintain and improve the quality of sleep with the new mattress and pillows .
As for the bathroom is 6mq and the shower is a standard size in Italy 80cm x 80cm
The balconies in the antique part of Rome, most of them overlook the courtyard of the buildings. It was a typical way to build in the end of XVIII century to make people socialize with neighbors.
We're sorry to hear from you that “It's not all it's made out to be by the Tripadvisor ratings” because it means that our daily job to make you feel home it hasn’t been enough and we failed our mission at all.
Thanks for alerting the likely located bed bugs in the room, just a pity that during your stay with us you did not inform us about it. We never heard about this kind of insect but after looking for them on Internet we found out that bedbugs can be transported by anyone and captured in trains, planes at the airport or the railway station so basically you could got it anywhere during your trip.

Since now our staff will give a special attention to control the rooms but for now our Maintenance didn’t find any trace of the existing bugs.

We thank you for your feedback as it helps us to prioritize what we need to accomplish in the future

Thank you one more time for all your comments. We take into consideration all your words for our successful further work.

Best regards,

Pierdavide and Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We came back home today from Rom. Everything was so nice and perfect. My husband and two kids are also satisfied. Location is super, the room and the bathroom are clean, breakfast is also ok. Monika, the manager is very kind, helpful and pleasant person. We just want to say THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NATASA343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

From the moment we arrived until the day we left, we had excellent service. Monica, Davide, and Chiara were so nice and helpful. The day on which we arrived, we received a map of Rome and a list of great restaurants, which helped a lot. The hotel was very clean and located in a quiet area. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is excellent. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. All recommendations by the staff appeared to be on the spot.thank you.
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Eurostars Roma Aeterna
#257 of 1,271 in Rome
1,266 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#215 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Trevi Palace Hotel
Trevi Palace Hotel
#212 of 3,734 in Rome
189 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,921 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obelus B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obelus B&B

Address: Via Tasso 150, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #980 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $55 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Obelus B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It truly will feel as though you are staying at your best friend’s home when you are a guest at Obelus B&B located near His Majesty, The Colosseum. The three charming guest rooms have high ceiling and are clean and spacious and neatly furnished. All rooms have private bath rooms with shower, air conditioning, TV and safe box.You will wake up to the aroma of freshly baked croissants which are served every morning in the breakfast area located in the center of the apartment. The continental breakfast includes eggs, cheese, nutella, bread, toast, yogurt, american coffee, cappuccino, juice. So Monika and Pierdavide (the managers) make sure that Guests are given the proper startup for another dream-day in one of the most beautiful cities of the world.This B&B's located within walking distance of the Colosseum and it is the heart of the city. Consider that the Vatican is the farthest of all tourist attractions and it is only 3 kilometers away from Obelus, yet it can be reached with the underground train (the stop is around the block) and it is only 7 stops away (less than 8 minutes!!!) .People visit Rome for a multitude of reasons: the art, culture, food and wines. Relax and feel the magic in the air while walking the wonderful streets of The Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Obelus B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing