We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best BB we ever stayed”
Review of Obelus B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Obelus B&B
Ranked #1,011 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Obelus was the best BB we stayed. Staff was very friendly, gave us many tips etc. Room was excellent, breakfasts OK, . Location of Obelus is very big advantage - 10 min walking to the Colosseum. During our stay we didn't use metro - almost everywhere you can go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 348 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Due to personal and committed response from the hosts was our first encounter with Rome an extra memorable experience. Clean and fresh apartment without luxury at reasonable price, exellent (continental) breakfast served in the apartement, free wifi and lots of valuable advice from the hosts. We warmly recommend this B & B to our friends and others. Located close to local transports and just about ten minutes walk from the Colloseum.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I arrived by car and Monika was keeping a place for parking for me so I didn't go around to look for it! The room was really nice and with a good air condition that I could control by myself, perfect for me because sometimes in the hotel is too cold!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

It was my first visit in Rome and i felt a little bit lost but Monika, the manager made me feel really welcome and like at home. The brekfast was really good, fruits,eggs, ham , cheese, croissant, toasts, biscuits and corn flakes!!!!Amazing!!guys keep going like this!!!thanks!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ely8324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The apartment is fine but nothing exceptional. Can get bus from airport to main termini for 4 euro one way. Then short metro ride `(2 stops) and a very short walk to apartment. Three "apartments" shared by small communal eating area. Can fit 5 people in one room which is difficult to find in Rome. Breakfast is adequate but gets boring with the same food day after day. Did try to accommodate children's "selective appetites" though...which was nice. Room had air coniditioning but no toiletries at all. Air coniditioning broke last day there. Soap dispenser broken. Email owners (with free wifi) during your stay with questions and they respond quickly. All communication before stay is done via email with quick responses. Small fridge in room. Television in room and all shows in Italian. Collosseum 15-20 minute walk and bus stops/metro close to hotel. Small food shops close by and a larger supermarket 15 minutes away. The place is fine, safe and clean but reviewers made it sound so exceptional so I guess we were expecting more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sojourn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Obelus was a 7€ cab ride from the main rail station. It had small rooms wih wifi, private bathroom, and most importantly air conditioning. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was filling. It is only a ten to fifteen minute walk to the Colosseum and a five minute walk to the tram line.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XXXVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spend 3 days in Obleus big apartment for 6 people. Two big bedrooms and one salon, very good and nice large kitchen and good bathroom. The best was, that it was just like home. The apartment have everything and we were missing nothing, soap in the kitchen for dishes, sweet biscuits, coffee and tea, towel etc. Nice cold apartment in the hot summer.
Location was great, 10 min. walk to colosseum and 10 min. walk til nice shopping streeet. Very friendly staff, always ready to help.
Thanks for a nice holiday in Obelus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Luzzatti
Hotel Luzzatti
#884 of 1,269 in Rome
109 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#441 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
Eurostars Roma Aeterna
#261 of 1,269 in Rome
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#351 of 1,269 in Rome
429 reviews
Hotel Tuscolana
#284 of 1,269 in Rome
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obelus B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obelus B&B

Address: Via Tasso 150, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,011 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $63 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Obelus B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It truly will feel as though you are staying at your best friend’s home when you are a guest at Obelus B&B located near His Majesty, The Colosseum. The three charming guest rooms have high ceiling and are clean and spacious and neatly furnished. All rooms have private bath rooms with shower, air conditioning, TV and safe box.You will wake up to the aroma of freshly baked croissants which are served every morning in the breakfast area located in the center of the apartment. The continental breakfast includes eggs, cheese, nutella, bread, toast, yogurt, american coffee, cappuccino, juice. So Monika and Pierdavide (the managers) make sure that Guests are given the proper startup for another dream-day in one of the most beautiful cities of the world.This B&B's located within walking distance of the Colosseum and it is the heart of the city. Consider that the Vatican is the farthest of all tourist attractions and it is only 3 kilometers away from Obelus, yet it can be reached with the underground train (the stop is around the block) and it is only 7 stops away (less than 8 minutes!!!) .People visit Rome for a multitude of reasons: the art, culture, food and wines. Relax and feel the magic in the air while walking the wonderful streets of The Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Obelus B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing