We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont see Rome with out Salvador and Lisa”
Review of Obelus B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Obelus B&B
Ranked #873 of 3,621 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Dont see Rome with out Salvador and Lisa”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Obelus is a comfortable B&B in a fantastic location, walking distance to most tourist locations. But what really made the Obelus outstanding was their management team of Salvador and Lisa. They took the time to get out maps, ask our priorities and orient us to the city. They also recommended the best Gelato in town," the Palms". They were friendly, knowledgable and you can tell they did care about our stay. Lisa makes a great Italian breakfast. We had been to Rome several times before but this was by far the best trip due to the consideration of Salvador and Lisa. They also had recommendations for our next destination Sicily which helped us have an outstanding day there as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    103
    22
    9
    1
See reviews for
130
101
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My best friend and I stayed at Obelus for 3 nights and LOVED IT! It was quaint, clean and the staff was incredible. The location was perfect for us. Sal and Terese were so helpful in educating us on all the important things we needed to know for our short visit: transportation system, when (and where) to eat, must-see locations, etc. We will most definitely stay at Obelus for our next visit to Rome! Our trip wouldn’t have been the same without Obelus and their staff. Thank you Sal & Terese!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adge29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The Obelus is not located in a tourist area but it has the great benefit of being just around the corner from the Manzoni metro stop. Although there were only two of us, we booked the triple room for three nights based on another Trip Advisor review and were very pleased that we did. We had just completed a two week cruise and needed the space to repack our stuff before setting off for 10 days in Austria. We enjoyed our stay here. The previous remarks about how clean everything is lived up to expectations. Unlike some places the air conditioner was quiet and worked perfectly. Sal and Lisa are top notch managers and who delivered everything they promised.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CZSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed at Obelus for four nights in June and it felt like staying in someone's home. The B&B is in an apartment in a block on a residential street. On the second floor with a lift, it's conveniently located about five minutes walk to the nearest Metro station and about 10 minutes walk to the Colosseum. Great eating places nearby (one round the corner) and on San Giovanni in Laterano leading to the Colosseum. The triple room we had was comfortable and the air con worked like a dream, for which we were grateful as Rome was very hot when we were there. Breakfast was lovely -- coffee/tea, croissants, toast, cereal, yogurt -- served by Teresa or Galia, who were so friendly and answered any questions we had. We were happy with our choice and we would surely stay here again. There was free Wifi, and we connected easily on our Ipod Touch.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed at Obelus with two young children ages 5 and 6. Arriving at Termini we found the place pretty quickly using google map directions. The location is perfect for the families, quiet and yet fairly close to Centro Storico. We walked there by foot. We also walked to Trastevere for dinner. Obelus itself is close to Colosseum, about 15 min walking. We were very happy with our accommodations; we stayed in quadruple room that is rather spacious. All facilities in the hotel were very clean. The owners and the staff were extremely helpful. We received plenty of tips on where to go and the best way to get there, what time is the best to eat and how to pick a good restaurant. The kitchen sitting area outside of the rooms proved to be very useful to wind down and relax when the kids were in bed after long day of activities. There is a Wi-Fi and the laptop for the guest use. And the breakfast was plenty. We felt very easy and welcome at the Obelus B&B and would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Obelus B and B is located in a typical Italian apartment block, not 'touristy' at all.
We travelled from the airport by train, and then used the Metro to get to within a few minutes walk of the apartment. Sal was very helpful explaining things, telling us where to walk, get the best gelati, etc.
The double room is small, so we were glad we hadn't brought bigger cases: kept most of our things in them. The room has a door opening onto a tiny 'balcony'; but not one you would want to sit on, as it overlooks the central service area for the apartments!
Breakfasts were typical continental, plenty to set you up for a busy day site seeing!
The location is excellent: Metro a couple of minutes away, although we walked most places. As Sal advised, wear comfortable shoes, with good soles!! Just to see ancient walls at the end of the street was great! San Giovanni in Laterano a short walk away and a 15 - 20 minute stroll to the colosseum, Forum, etc.
Would definitely recommend Obelus: clean, comfortable, convenient, good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Beach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Both the owners and the morning staff were very helpful with directions around the city and tourist locations. They gave us a map of the city and outlined the good roads to take and where to buy the best gelato in town. The room was very clean, but the beds were a bit hard (however, we did find this everywhere in Italy). If arriving at the main train station I would rocommend that you get a taxi to the B & B as it was quite hard to find. There is no fridge in the room, but you could use the one in the main kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glentaniamoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Charme Holidays Colosseum
Charme Holidays Colosseum
#389 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Esquilino
In The Center You Too
In The Center You Too
#175 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Esquilino
Domus Laurae
Domus Laurae
#815 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Roma Central Guest House
Roma Central Guest House
#207 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Esquilino
Ad Hoc Domus
Ad Hoc Domus
#568 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obelus B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obelus B&B

Property: Obelus B&B
Address: Via Tasso 150, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #873 of 3,621 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Obelus B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It truly will feel as though you are staying at your best friend’s home when you are a guest at Obelus B&B located near His Majesty, The Colosseum. The three charming guest rooms have high ceiling and are clean and spacious and neatly furnished. All rooms have private bath rooms with shower, air conditioning, TV and safe box.You will wake up to the aroma of freshly baked croissants which are served every morning in the breakfast area located in the center of the apartment. The continental breakfast includes eggs, cheese, nutella, bread, toast, yogurt, american coffee, cappuccino, juice. So Monika and Pierdavide (the managers) make sure that Guests are given the proper startup for another dream-day in one of the most beautiful cities of the world.This B&B's located within walking distance of the Colosseum and it is the heart of the city. Consider that the Vatican is the farthest of all tourist attractions and it is only 3 kilometers away from Obelus, yet it can be reached with the underground train (the stop is around the block) and it is only 7 stops away (less than 8 minutes!!!) .People visit Rome for a multitude of reasons: the art, culture, food and wines. Relax and feel the magic in the air while walking the wonderful streets of The Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Obelus B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing