We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In sept.2012” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vatican Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vatican Garden Inn
Ranked #1,113 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In sept.2012”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Its not a hotel, its inn and you have to inform them when will you arive so that thay wait for you. It didnt help because the door bell didn't work so we must shout. First day the receptionist already charged on CARD and ask to pay the rest in cash imideatly before we even see the room. Well, it was 7 p.m. after long drive so we do that after a little language fight. We park the car in his courtyard in front of a gazebo for breakfast.
Location is good, short walk from Vatican but you have to search for coffee bars around for morning coffee. The washer for hands was like Pisa tower so you put shawing can on it and it falls down, prety bad early in the morning. Stay there only in emergency.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozren50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    27
    16
    38
See reviews for
36
44
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Praha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Rooms have wall save deposit boxes. The key from this box receives each guest together with other keys from room etc..
My 1100 € disappear from this box during my stay in this hotel. The box was not damaged!! It must exist another key and the staff is sure involved in this criminal activities.
In the same time, in another room, my brother was also robbed. From his baggage in the room disappears his wallet. And his loss?? $700, wallet, 2 credit cards, driving licence.
Our recommendation is to avoid this hotel. Or to be very very careful there.

Room Tip: To avoid the hotel Vatican Garden Inn !
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Stanley151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Pickering, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, it is a ten minute walk to the Vatican and St. Peters. The area is very safe with several good locations in the area. The is also a grocery store right around the corner from the hotel. The hotel is a very nice the room we had was very large and clean. The service at the hotel however is not very good. Upon arrival I found that the lock on the room door did not work and asked the gentleman at the desk to have it fixed, he came and looked at it and proclaimed that he could not fix it himself. I stated that would be fine and that he could have someone come and fix it later or the next day. This never happend. The next morning we found that the drain in the shower was plugged and we asked to have it fixed [several times] it was finally some what fixed the day before for we left. [4 days after the first request] A continental breakfast was included with the room on the first day the buffet table was well stocked however the amount of food on the table declined everyday, the quality was OK but if you arrived a little later than the 7:30 time it opened you may not have much selection. I would stay here again because of the location and the room but I would definately be a little pushier about getting things fixed if needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Due to the advises I had read before leaving (but after booking) I was a bit scared. Actually, I was re-directed to the "chambres d'or" (same owner) because of full booking at arrival and it was a lucky coincidence! Spacious rooms in a historical building (book superior rooms), with green courtyard, bathroom with all comforts (just a bit dark, if one shall find a fault). Personnel is very kind and helpful, delicious breakfast with "caffé e cornetto" voucher for the bar next door. My only remark: when I refused their (paying) shuttle service to the airport, they said they "could not" call me a taxi to bring me to the train station!Otherwise, lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antonio78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

The good thing of the hotel is the location, just a stone's throw away from the Vatican and Saint Peter Basilica. But that's all. Rooms are very small and old. In one occasion at 6pm the bathroom still had to be cleaned. The breakfast is almost no existent, it is poor and hosted in an ugly venue in the garden. Definitely to avoid if possible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

I can not recommend you to choose this hotel. I have very bad experience with the staff. Actually they stole my money via their deceitful practises.
Paul, Hamburg

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We will stay in a two beds room for a weekend and I will enjoy it a lot. The location is perfect, right at a centre near Vatican (about 10 minutes walk). We stay at the luxury floor, that is the name of the floor at other building across the street where Vatican Garden inn has another rooms. Room has been clean, new, with free wifi, plasma tv and comfortable beds. Bathroom has been new and clean, there is everyday cleaning by the hotel stuff. Breakfast in hotel is pretty good but there is not many chances to choose between food. There is only cereals, some toasts, coffe and nothing else. Near the hotel is a few good restaurants for lunch and dinner. During the stay there is no problems, we make payment by credit cart with no problems and also the stuff was very kind. So I can definitely recommend this hotel because you get very good value for good money :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Les Chambres d'Or Hotel
Les Chambres d'Or Hotel
#1,050 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Prati
Joli Hotel
Joli Hotel
#1,073 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Prati
Nautilus Hotel
Nautilus Hotel
#498 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#467 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Prati
Il Gattopardo Relais
Il Gattopardo Relais
#739 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#499 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican Garden Inn

Property: Vatican Garden Inn
Address: Via Germanico 201 | Via Paolo Emilio 32, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,113 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vatican Garden Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Vatican Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vatican Garden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing