We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“deceitful practices” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vatican Garden Inn
Ranked #1,040 of 1,283 Hotels in Rome
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“deceitful practices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I can not recommend you to choose this hotel. I have very bad experience with the staff. Actually they stole my money via their deceitful practises.
Paul, Hamburg

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    23
    12
    34
See reviews for
31
42
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We will stay in a two beds room for a weekend and I will enjoy it a lot. The location is perfect, right at a centre near Vatican (about 10 minutes walk). We stay at the luxury floor, that is the name of the floor at other building across the street where Vatican Garden inn has another rooms. Room has been clean, new, with free wifi, plasma tv and comfortable beds. Bathroom has been new and clean, there is everyday cleaning by the hotel stuff. Breakfast in hotel is pretty good but there is not many chances to choose between food. There is only cereals, some toasts, coffe and nothing else. Near the hotel is a few good restaurants for lunch and dinner. During the stay there is no problems, we make payment by credit cart with no problems and also the stuff was very kind. So I can definitely recommend this hotel because you get very good value for good money :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The hotel was nice our room was very specious and clean, Bathroom was decent even though had issues like water leaks etc..
Breakfast was decent, nothing too special, best about this hotel it has pretty good location, nice walking distance from all amities, if you can handle 20 to 30 min walk
Both guys in the reception were polite and try to help at their best ability but I believe the hotel own was rude and arrogant person, expect us to fully pay our stay on the 1st date.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidihmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We came to Rome for our holidays and were pleasantly suprised by the hotel we had booked. The staff was very friendly and answered all our questions. The location is excellent as it is just a five minute walk away from the Vatican and very close to many of Romes attractions. The rooms were also very nice. All in all a brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is it's location - really close to the Vatican and a short walk to the Metro. There are also some excellent pizzerias nearby, which are packed out with locals.
Downside is the banging door if you are in a room at the front of the house and a shortage of pastries if you get to breakfast too late.
However, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed at the Vatican Garden Inn for a few days while in Rome. The room was charming, in a good location, with a balcony overlooking a small street. The bathrooms, however were quite small and in need of repair. Our shower head shot water all over the bathroom and when we called maintenance to fix it, they simply loosened a bolt in the shower head, fixing the uncontrollable spray, but providing zero water pressure. We also had a problem with the hair dryer falling off of the wall, and unfortunately our room had no back-up hair dryer. Although they advertise Wi-Fi, we were unable to pick up a connection in the room. The only area that I found connection was the check-in/breakfast area, a few blocks away from our room. One evening we came home to an obnoxious alarm going off. When we called the front desk, no one was there, as they had left for the evening, so we were forced to deal with a loud alarm until it shut itself off a few hours later. There was 1 staff member that we saw in the 3 days that we stayed at the Vatican Gardens Inn. I felt quite bad for him as he tried his best to accommodate us, but 1 person isn't capable of tending to new guests, checking out guests that are leaving, preparing breakfast each day, tending to the grounds, and helping people with room problems. Overall, I wouldn't recommend staying at the Vatican Gardens Inn unless you're only planning on staying there to sleep and not shower.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank razpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
3.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

The decor & the rooms are very nice, and the location is very close to the Vatican. We strolled from here through Rome, but I guess it is long even though the walk is usually described as 30-40 min to Historical Rome. but, one can always use the metro with the Roma Pass and it makes movement very easy. Their breakfast was really good and filling. The front office staff spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeJon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Joli Hotel
Joli Hotel
#940 of 1,283 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Prati
Les Chambres d'Or Hotel
Les Chambres d'Or Hotel
#942 of 1,283 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#591 of 1,283 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Marvi Hotel Rome
Marvi Hotel Rome
#866 of 1,283 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Prati
207 Inn
207 Inn
#681 of 1,283 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Prati
Nautilus Hotel
Nautilus Hotel
#511 of 1,283 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican Garden Inn

Property: Vatican Garden Inn
Address: Via Germanico 201 | Via Paolo Emilio 32, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,040 of 1,283 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vatican Garden Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Vatican Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vatican Garden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing