We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”
Review of Hotel Octavia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Octavia
Ranked #1,069 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three days, my stay was very average. The only plus point of this hotel was that it was very close to the train station so there is a connectivity to any part of the town. I don't know about late nights as i was back in the hotel by 8 latest.

The room was clean and nice though a little tiny, however the walls are very thin and you could almost hear all the conversation that was happening in next room. The bathroom appliances were old, there was a problem with hot water some days it was ok some days not so. The entry into the hotel is weird u need to press a lever, which was difficult to understand

The breakfast was good and sufficient, The staff was very friendly and helpful provided me with the map of places to go and even spent some time shortlisting what to do and where to go, though language was a big issue, they absolutely do not understand proper English, i had to struggle to get food and other details... but that was all across Rome so not complaining there.

Among other things there is a city tax to be paid which was not mentioned in the voucher, and there is no dinner service on Sunday which was not mentioned at all.
All in all i feel a tad cheated for the 53$ that i paid per day

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitzX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 114 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very friendly hotel owner, who loves to be able to tell you all about the sites in Rome (we like rome too). We caught the train direct to station near Vatican, very easy to get around.
Room was nice and we enjoyed having our own balcony. Breakfast was good. Very important to us was having secure parking in the underground garage for our motorcycle and this was no issue for owner. Laundrette nearby and supermarket. The only down side is that suburban Rome is quite ugly and trains and station are badly graffitied. Otherwise this hotel is a great Rome base.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Some of the friendliest people I ever met. Slightly older hotel but very comfortable. Most attentive staff. Hotel itself is located along the FR3 line where Rome pass could still be used. Although slightly outside the city centre, easily reached. Safe neighbourhood. Very close to the train station and the day/night bus-stops.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Srinivasan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This hotel was close to the train station which made it easy to get into Rome. The owner was so helpful and the room was clean and spacious with a balcony. The breakfast, which was included, was quite nice. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OntarioTravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

The hotel is nice, quiet and clean, the stuff friendly but their english is not the best.

It's very close to the Octavia train station. The connections to the center of the city are ok in the morning, as the trains come every 15-20 minutes, but in the evening they only go every 40-50 minutes, and the last train starts a bit too early from downtown(around 10:30 PM) There are some night busses but the bus stop is not so close to the hotel.

There are some trains that do not stop in Octavia, so make sure you ask someone before getting on, as the station displays might be missleading.

The breakfast is typical italian one, with croissants and a lot of sweet things, no salty things like vegetables, cheese, eggs or ham.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank puishor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fabio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Salvo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Nardo
Hotel Palace Nardo
#999 of 1,271 in Rome
54 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Giulietta e Romeo
Hotel Giulietta e Romeo
#920 of 1,271 in Rome
56 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tempio di Apollo Hotel
Tempio di Apollo Hotel
#874 of 1,271 in Rome
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Aurora Garden Hotel
Aurora Garden Hotel
#1,026 of 1,271 in Rome
202 reviews
13.0 mi away
Marini Park Hotel
Marini Park Hotel
#382 of 1,271 in Rome
278 reviews
2.3 mi away
Resort la Rocchetta
Resort la Rocchetta
#243 of 1,271 in Rome
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Octavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Octavia

Address: Via Giovanni Gaetano Bottari 38, 00135 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,069 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $48 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Octavia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Octavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Octavia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing