We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service”
Review of B&B Best Vatican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Best Vatican
Ranked #923 of 3,619 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Bridgford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed February 21, 2009

The B&B itself is very good, as others have commented, clean, good location, great breakfast. However, we had an unfortunate incident where we were kept awake most of one night by a commotion which appeared to involve someone else staying at the B&B. We reported this, on the telephone number supplied to us, and the response we had was for it to be dismissed out of hand. Two points; it brings home in a stark fashion that you are sharing an apartment with people you don't know and there are no B&B staff on the premises (or apparantly willing to come and help); and, this is the worst example of customer service I have come across in many years of travelling. I emailed the B&B after I returned - no response. I couldn't stay there again if this is typical of their behaviour if anything goes wrong.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestBBB, Owner at B&B Best Vatican, responded to this review, March 1, 2009
This is the message that we have sent to our guest:

“We truly and deeply regret the incident that has happened during your stay at Best Vatican, which has caused an unpleasant nuisance to you.
With this mail, as well as offering you our heartfelt apology, we would also like to clarify what happened during that night, as the real dynamics have become clear only the next morning.

Close to your room a couple of other guests returned to their room separately that night. One person remained outside, definitely not right in itself, that has repeatedly tried to enter into the B&B playing, as you know, the bell of the door. His companion, for some reason did not want to let him enter. So after a first attempt by the Lord, he returned again, stressing even more strongly on the doors.

After that second attempt someone advised our phone number and also called the police. The staff member on duty that night has called the owner of B&B who went to Best Vatican in the middle of the night to try to understand what was happening. When he arrived near the B&B, the police was going away and the situation was now calm.

The staff member explained later that the conversation was interrupted because of the telephone service. If the tone of his voice seemed rude to you, please accept our apologies as there was no intention to be rude with you, as you had, with reason, requested our assistance for a very unfortunate affair.

We ask you again accept our apologizes on behalf of our entire staff.
Our intent was to provide our best service and we are truly sorry if you were in some way dissatisfied of your stay.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    38
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
84
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

This is a great place to stay while in rome! Myself and a friend booked to stay here for 5 nights on our first trip to Rome. The location was very close to the vatican, as we actually stumbled across it on our first night there! We were quite surprised by the b&b as its situated in an apartment block, which looks a bit worrying at first, but the rooms are great, very modern and a great size, although we were asked to move rooms on our second day there with no explanation which was a bit of a hassle! Our breakfast was delivered to our room every morning and was delicious, we usually didnt need to eat again until dinner! The only problem we had was it was a bit of distance to other tourist attractions and therefore we found ourselves coming back early at nights to catch the metro. Otherwise this really is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CL1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a one week stay in the Best Vatican B&B. We booked our room via their website which linked us to Venere for the actual booking process. My wife followed this up with several e-mails directly with the property. Each communication was responded to quickly and professionally.

We booked our own transfer from Ciampino Airport with Rome Shuttle Limousine. It was €35 and the driver had no problem finding the B&B. A girl was waiting for us on arrival and checked us with no problem. She explained everything to us in fluent English.

Handy location for the Vatican and the Metro. I'm recovering from a broken leg so we bought integrated tourist tickets for use on the Metro, buses, etc (€11 for 3 days or €16 for 7 days). I'm sure if I had been fully fit then we could have just about walked to all of the main sights without a problem.

Restaurants in the Vatican and Borgo area were not great. Better to go into the Centro Storico or Trastevere to eat.

The B&B is on the 3rd floor of a quiet (even over New Year) apartment building. The elevator is very small - a little bit of a squeeze for two of us with 2 suitcases and a day-sack. The decor is very modern and the whole place was spotlessly clean.

We had a superior double room furthest from the kitchen. The bed was very comfortable plus there was a table and two chairs at which we ate our very ample and freshly prepared breakfasts.
My wife was particularly impressed with the free Wi-Fi connection as I had bought her an iPod Touch for Christmas and she was able to play with her new toy.

The only problem we encountered was with our morning shower. Occasionally the temperature would fluctuate between tepid and hot. The B&B was pretty full so the hot water system was probably operating at its very limit. Particularly as the kitchen was in use at the same time.

Our pre-ordered breakfasts appeared on time every day. With lots of choice and plenty to eat and drink. Brilliant!

Really friendly staff. There was no hassle to pay. We just settled using a credit card with the girl doing the breakfasts on the morning we were leaving.

We would thoroughly recommend Best Vatican B&B.

  • Liked — Location, room, breakfasts, free Wi-Fi.
  • Disliked — Occasional fluctuating hot water.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pierre48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2008

We booked our room at the Best B&B Vatican through Venere, but followed up with an email to the property. They were really helpful and, like an earlier poster, arranged for a car to pick us up from the airport (I think it was 50 euros).

Here are some specifics on our stay:

NEIGHBORHOOD: The B&B is in an apartment building on a smaller street VERY close to the Vatican. We've both stayed in the touristy bits of Rome before and really liked this change of pace... mostly locals and a very different, cosmopolitan vibe from the other locations. Plus it was steps from the Vatican and walking distance to all of the major sights in Rome (at least if you like walking).

PROPERTY: The B&B basically takes up most of (I think) the 3rd floor in a quiet building. There's a small elevator, a small common living room with a sofa and free internet on a laptop, and a kitchen, where they prepare breakfast. Decor is very nice, clean and modern - the photos they post are accurate.

ROOM: We got the small double room nearest the kitchen with one window overlooking a small building courtyard. Again, decor was very modern and chic - we were impressed. Bed was comfortable with all white linens and duvet; there was a small clear plastic breakfast table and chairs, a flat-panel TV (CNN and BBC), a DVD player, the cutest honor system minibar I've ever seen, and a TINY IKEA closet unit, which worked fine for our things. It's a small room, but they do a lot with it, and it's very clean. The one big problem is that the walls are pretty thin (as mentioned before) and I would specifically request not to have our room, as it was right next to the kitchen and the cook/maid comes in at 7.

EN-SUITE BATHROOM: Bathroom was nice... decent size shower and insanely soft, huge towels. They were the best towels on our entire trip. Seriously, I wanted to buy the towels.

SERVICE: Some people have complained about a lack of service, but the gentleman who checked us in was very helpful and around in the afternoon. It is a very hands off B&B... more of an apartment, but we appreciated that, and he was great about answering all of our questions in advance.

BREAKFAST: The reviews you've read were not lying - it was almost better than the breakfast we had at our posh agriturismo. It was DELICIOUS... lots of fresh fruits every day (which they left us even after they took away the breakfast cart), breads, eggs, meats, cheeses, juice and tea/coffee. It was AMAZING! And as small as our room was, it was actually really comfortable to eat breakfast in the room.

I think that's about it. We really enjoyed our stay and would gladly stay here again in the future. 89 euros/night including breakfast was an incredible deal.

  • Liked — BREAKFAST, decor, internet access, location, towels
  • Disliked — Thin walls and maybe the size
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Slangevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2008

We are just back from staying two nights in the Best Vatican B+B with our two daughters aged 12 and 14.

When we arrived, no-one was there to welcome us so we called the telephone number on the buzzer and were told that the girl would be with us in two minutes. The traffic was terrible the day that we arrived in Rome because of some student demonstrations, so our greeter had been delayed. She did arrive within minutes and settled us in. They do not have a member of staff on the premises all of the time, so you are given a set of keys and you can come and go as you please. We really liked this - it was nice being able to relax and do our own thing and feel like we had our own little place in Rome rather than feeling that we were staying in someone's home.

The Best Vatican B+B is exactly as it looks in the pictures - cool and minimalist and chic. It really is lovely - warm and relaxing and everything works really well.

There are four bedrooms - all with ensuite shower-rooms - and a little office with a lap-top so that you can use the internet and an extra loo. There are plenty of guide books on Rome and maps too.

The bedrooms are just great - The beds are king-sized and wonderfully comfortable, there is a travel hairdryer that you can plug in in the bedroom near to the mirror. There was an air-conditioning unit but we didn't need it. There is one of those little plug-in fridges as a mini-bar with beer, prosecco, water and soft drinks. The prices were fine - I had a little bottle of prosecco and was 4 Euros.

The en-suite bathrooms are fine - compact, but clean and everything works. There is masses of hot water and the actual shower cubicle is plenty big enough.

The breakfast was a real treat! A girl slips into the B+B in the morning and and unlocks the door into a little kitchen and starts busying around. You leave a card hanging on your door as you go to bed the night before with your preferences. We had (proper, not out of a bottle) freshly squeezed orange juice, scrambled eggs with crispy pancetta, warm croissants and pastries with butter and jam. Yum! There was also yoghurt, cheese, Parma ham, fruit, toast... You certainly won't starve here!

The location is good in many respects - easy walking distance of the Vatican/ St Peter's and - very helpfully - just round the corner of a Metro stop (Ottaviano). However, we like to go to a nice restaurant every evening and then to totter home, so would have preferred to have been in the area around the Pantheon/ Spanish Steps/ Trevi Fountain where there are lots of pretty cobbledy streets and bars and restaurants all around. In hindsight, we might have preferred the location of the sister B+B - Best Pantheon. However, I haven't looked into this in detail and this may well be considerably further away from a Metro stop and so less convenient in the mornings for getting up and out to the sights. It's personal preference really.

The price is, we thought, extremely reasonable considering that the B+B is so chic and good quality and well thought out. We had a larger room and our daughters had a a smaller room. Altogether, I paid 336 Euros for two nights - I think this is very good value.

Overall, we were very, very happy with the Best Vatican B+B and would not hesitate to recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sarajetsoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Our family (2 adults, 2 seniors, 2 kids ages 4 and 6) stayed at the Best Vatican B & B over Easter weekend, 2007. They arranged for our transfer from the airport, which was very smooth, even though our plane had arrived about 1.5 hours late. We were unable to call ahead to inform them that we were going to be late, but the gentleman at the airport was pleasant none the less.

Upon arrival, we were graciously shown our 2 rooms and the facilities, including the free Internet access on the computer in the common room, which was very nice. The metro stop was litereally 1 block away, which gave us easy access to the attractions across town. Very easy to use the metro. Vatican City and Vatican Museum were about 10 minute walk.

The breakfast was fantastic - no need for lunch. On our last day, we were catching an early train, so they packed us a "to go" breakfast the day before and placed it in the refrigerator. So kind! Many restaurants in the area, too. And a few gelatto shops.

The only negative about this B & B is that the beds were uncommonly firm.

  • Liked — location, nice rooms, great breakfast
  • Disliked — hard beds
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CoachFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We stayed at the Best Vatican for 2 ngts. pre-cruise. I enjoyed our stay [3 gal pals] and would stay there again. We loved being so close to good shopping streets and within walking distance to the Vatican & St. Peters. The breakfast was awesome and delivered at the exact time requested. Rodolfo arranged our transfers from the airport to the Best Vatican and then to the cruise port. He is quick to respond to e-mails and in answering any questions you may have. I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelizsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
B&B 94Rooms Vatican
B&B 94Rooms Vatican
#233 of 3,619 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Best Pantheon B&B
Best Pantheon B&B
#700 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Prati
Best Sistine B&B
Best Sistine B&B
#1,497 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican B&B Rome
#2,242 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican Style
Vatican Style
#225 of 3,619 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Prati
Vatication Bed and Breakfast
Vatication Bed and Breakfast
#1,333 of 3,619 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Best Vatican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Best Vatican

Property: B&B Best Vatican
Address: Via degli Scipioni, 135, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #923 of 3,619 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Best Vatican 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST VATICAN Bed&Breakfast is a brand-new property situated in Rome's exclusive Prati neighbourhood, within walking distance of St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican, just a stone's throw away from the Ottaviano-Città del Vaticano underground station, and right around the corner from one of the city's finest shopping streets, via Cola di Rienzo.Housed on the third floor of an elegant 19th century building, the property boasts sleek interiors and modern facilities, including complimentary high-speed Internet access and free national calls. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and functional and the service is highly professional and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your B&B Best Vatican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Vatican Hotel Rome
Best Vatican Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing