We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B - A home from home”
Review of Best Vatican B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Vatican B&B
Ranked #641 of 3,763 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 6, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a one week stay in the Best Vatican B&B. We booked our room via their website which linked us to Venere for the actual booking process. My wife followed this up with several e-mails directly with the property. Each communication was responded to quickly and professionally.

We booked our own transfer from Ciampino Airport with Rome Shuttle Limousine. It was €35 and the driver had no problem finding the B&B. A girl was waiting for us on arrival and checked us with no problem. She explained everything to us in fluent English.

Handy location for the Vatican and the Metro. I'm recovering from a broken leg so we bought integrated tourist tickets for use on the Metro, buses, etc (€11 for 3 days or €16 for 7 days). I'm sure if I had been fully fit then we could have just about walked to all of the main sights without a problem.

Restaurants in the Vatican and Borgo area were not great. Better to go into the Centro Storico or Trastevere to eat.

The B&B is on the 3rd floor of a quiet (even over New Year) apartment building. The elevator is very small - a little bit of a squeeze for two of us with 2 suitcases and a day-sack. The decor is very modern and the whole place was spotlessly clean.

We had a superior double room furthest from the kitchen. The bed was very comfortable plus there was a table and two chairs at which we ate our very ample and freshly prepared breakfasts.
My wife was particularly impressed with the free Wi-Fi connection as I had bought her an iPod Touch for Christmas and she was able to play with her new toy.

The only problem we encountered was with our morning shower. Occasionally the temperature would fluctuate between tepid and hot. The B&B was pretty full so the hot water system was probably operating at its very limit. Particularly as the kitchen was in use at the same time.

Our pre-ordered breakfasts appeared on time every day. With lots of choice and plenty to eat and drink. Brilliant!

Really friendly staff. There was no hassle to pay. We just settled using a credit card with the girl doing the breakfasts on the morning we were leaving.

We would thoroughly recommend Best Vatican B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pierre48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 161 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2008

We booked our room at the Best B&B Vatican through Venere, but followed up with an email to the property. They were really helpful and, like an earlier poster, arranged for a car to pick us up from the airport (I think it was 50 euros).

Here are some specifics on our stay:

NEIGHBORHOOD: The B&B is in an apartment building on a smaller street VERY close to the Vatican. We've both stayed in the touristy bits of Rome before and really liked this change of pace... mostly locals and a very different, cosmopolitan vibe from the other locations. Plus it was steps from the Vatican and walking distance to all of the major sights in Rome (at least if you like walking).

PROPERTY: The B&B basically takes up most of (I think) the 3rd floor in a quiet building. There's a small elevator, a small common living room with a sofa and free internet on a laptop, and a kitchen, where they prepare breakfast. Decor is very nice, clean and modern - the photos they post are accurate.

ROOM: We got the small double room nearest the kitchen with one window overlooking a small building courtyard. Again, decor was very modern and chic - we were impressed. Bed was comfortable with all white linens and duvet; there was a small clear plastic breakfast table and chairs, a flat-panel TV (CNN and BBC), a DVD player, the cutest honor system minibar I've ever seen, and a TINY IKEA closet unit, which worked fine for our things. It's a small room, but they do a lot with it, and it's very clean. The one big problem is that the walls are pretty thin (as mentioned before) and I would specifically request not to have our room, as it was right next to the kitchen and the cook/maid comes in at 7.

EN-SUITE BATHROOM: Bathroom was nice... decent size shower and insanely soft, huge towels. They were the best towels on our entire trip. Seriously, I wanted to buy the towels.

SERVICE: Some people have complained about a lack of service, but the gentleman who checked us in was very helpful and around in the afternoon. It is a very hands off B&B... more of an apartment, but we appreciated that, and he was great about answering all of our questions in advance.

BREAKFAST: The reviews you've read were not lying - it was almost better than the breakfast we had at our posh agriturismo. It was DELICIOUS... lots of fresh fruits every day (which they left us even after they took away the breakfast cart), breads, eggs, meats, cheeses, juice and tea/coffee. It was AMAZING! And as small as our room was, it was actually really comfortable to eat breakfast in the room.

I think that's about it. We really enjoyed our stay and would gladly stay here again in the future. 89 euros/night including breakfast was an incredible deal.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Slangevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

We are just back from staying two nights in the Best Vatican B+B with our two daughters aged 12 and 14.

When we arrived, no-one was there to welcome us so we called the telephone number on the buzzer and were told that the girl would be with us in two minutes. The traffic was terrible the day that we arrived in Rome because of some student demonstrations, so our greeter had been delayed. She did arrive within minutes and settled us in. They do not have a member of staff on the premises all of the time, so you are given a set of keys and you can come and go as you please. We really liked this - it was nice being able to relax and do our own thing and feel like we had our own little place in Rome rather than feeling that we were staying in someone's home.

The Best Vatican B+B is exactly as it looks in the pictures - cool and minimalist and chic. It really is lovely - warm and relaxing and everything works really well.

There are four bedrooms - all with ensuite shower-rooms - and a little office with a lap-top so that you can use the internet and an extra loo. There are plenty of guide books on Rome and maps too.

The bedrooms are just great - The beds are king-sized and wonderfully comfortable, there is a travel hairdryer that you can plug in in the bedroom near to the mirror. There was an air-conditioning unit but we didn't need it. There is one of those little plug-in fridges as a mini-bar with beer, prosecco, water and soft drinks. The prices were fine - I had a little bottle of prosecco and was 4 Euros.

The en-suite bathrooms are fine - compact, but clean and everything works. There is masses of hot water and the actual shower cubicle is plenty big enough.

The breakfast was a real treat! A girl slips into the B+B in the morning and and unlocks the door into a little kitchen and starts busying around. You leave a card hanging on your door as you go to bed the night before with your preferences. We had (proper, not out of a bottle) freshly squeezed orange juice, scrambled eggs with crispy pancetta, warm croissants and pastries with butter and jam. Yum! There was also yoghurt, cheese, Parma ham, fruit, toast... You certainly won't starve here!

The location is good in many respects - easy walking distance of the Vatican/ St Peter's and - very helpfully - just round the corner of a Metro stop (Ottaviano). However, we like to go to a nice restaurant every evening and then to totter home, so would have preferred to have been in the area around the Pantheon/ Spanish Steps/ Trevi Fountain where there are lots of pretty cobbledy streets and bars and restaurants all around. In hindsight, we might have preferred the location of the sister B+B - Best Pantheon. However, I haven't looked into this in detail and this may well be considerably further away from a Metro stop and so less convenient in the mornings for getting up and out to the sights. It's personal preference really.

The price is, we thought, extremely reasonable considering that the B+B is so chic and good quality and well thought out. We had a larger room and our daughters had a a smaller room. Altogether, I paid 336 Euros for two nights - I think this is very good value.

Overall, we were very, very happy with the Best Vatican B+B and would not hesitate to recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sarajetsoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Our family (2 adults, 2 seniors, 2 kids ages 4 and 6) stayed at the Best Vatican B & B over Easter weekend, 2007. They arranged for our transfer from the airport, which was very smooth, even though our plane had arrived about 1.5 hours late. We were unable to call ahead to inform them that we were going to be late, but the gentleman at the airport was pleasant none the less.

Upon arrival, we were graciously shown our 2 rooms and the facilities, including the free Internet access on the computer in the common room, which was very nice. The metro stop was litereally 1 block away, which gave us easy access to the attractions across town. Very easy to use the metro. Vatican City and Vatican Museum were about 10 minute walk.

The breakfast was fantastic - no need for lunch. On our last day, we were catching an early train, so they packed us a "to go" breakfast the day before and placed it in the refrigerator. So kind! Many restaurants in the area, too. And a few gelatto shops.

The only negative about this B & B is that the beds were uncommonly firm.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CoachFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We stayed at the Best Vatican for 2 ngts. pre-cruise. I enjoyed our stay [3 gal pals] and would stay there again. We loved being so close to good shopping streets and within walking distance to the Vatican & St. Peters. The breakfast was awesome and delivered at the exact time requested. Rodolfo arranged our transfers from the airport to the Best Vatican and then to the cruise port. He is quick to respond to e-mails and in answering any questions you may have. I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelizsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

I booked this b&b on venere.com after reading it's good reviews and seeing that it was near to the vatican.
So...
Before we came to Rome i'd emailed Rudolfo (the owner) asking how to get to the b&b from Ciampino airport. He emailed back with all the possibilities - 1 of which was a private transfer which he'd book for us 45 Euros, 2 person, all in. That sounded good so he booked it for us and the driver was at the airport waiting when our flight landed. We arrived at the b&b 40 mins later. The b&b isn't marked clearly but the number is on the outside. It's in a street with some shops, cafes etc with lots of apartments. 3rd floor up, but decorated modernly inside. The owner isn't based onsite but his apartment is downstairs from the b&b so if you phone him when you arrive he'll be straight with you. You are then shown to your room, handed the keys and explained some good places to eat etc. Basic information but enough. You could always phone Rudolfo if any more info is needed.

The b&b is very clean with modern interior. Our room was also the same. The room was advertised as having a 42" lcd and bath ensuite. It was actually about an 18" lcd and shower, no bath, but this wasn't a problem. A breakfast menu was placed in your room each day for you to tick what you want. Choice of hard boiled/scrambled/with bacon/fried eggs - capuccino - selection of teas-toast-croissant-ham+cheese - cereal - yoghurt - muffin etc. Loads of it and very nice too! This is served in your room between 8-10am (you choose). The rooms were then cleaned between 10-11am by the house keepers. Always clean and tidy with fresh towels and bedding when we got back.

This b&b is a 10 minute walk from the vatican and 5 minute walk from the metro station so easy to get to all the sights.
On your last day you check out at 10am but can leave your bags in the building until you leave which is handy.

Overall very good and i'd definitly go back again!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

I echo most of the comments made regarding the ambiance and decoration. After having traveled 3 weeks with a group of friends, we did not mind having the place to ourselves. In fact, we had the entire flat so it seemed so much more like our own private apartment. We had also booked the B&B Sistine for 2 other couples since B&B Vatican only had 4 rooms. The owner, Rodolfo arranged for his niece to greet us early so that we could store our bags while he met with the other group. The rooms were ready when we arrived by 10 so it was not necessary to worry about storing them for later pick up. Julia gave us lots of information regarding where tourist attractions were located, provided us with maps and suggestions for restaurants. The location was great for our needs. We only stayed one night but enjoyed 2 days of Rome so we wanted something close to the Vatican. It was very easy to get around. We walked to Piazza Navonna and other areas ... the 110 bus is close by as is the Metro. We took the Metro and the 64 busline which goes to the Termini. We were able to find the location of the B&B easily -- we had a private driver from the port of Civitivecchia; look for the numbers on the buildings. The breakfast was unbelievable!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jellz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,021 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,272 in Rome
300 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,272 in Rome
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#225 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#76 of 1,272 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Vatican B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Vatican B&B

Address: Via Degli Scipioni 135, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #641 of 3,763 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $64 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Vatican B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST VATICAN Bed&Breakfast is a brand-new property situated in Rome's exclusive Prati neighbourhood, within walking distance of St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican, just a stone's throw away from the Ottaviano-Città del Vaticano underground station, and right around the corner from one of the city's finest shopping streets, via Cola di Rienzo.Housed on the third floor of an elegant 19th century building, the property boasts sleek interiors and modern facilities, including complimentary high-speed Internet access and free national calls. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and functional and the service is highly professional and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Vatican B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Vatican Hotel Rome
Best Vatican Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing