We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying with a really cool Friend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Ranked #18 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like staying with a really cool Friend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and I spent the first half of our honeymoon in Rome and stayed with Angelo at Il Boom. I'm so glad we did! As soon as we got to the B&B, Angelo gave us a little map of Rome and gave us directions on how to get to a lot of places we wanted to go see and what buses to take to get there. that was very helpful!
We loved having the terrace to eat breakfast and to relax there after a day of sightseeing.
Angelo went above and beyond any expectations we had for customer service. The last day we were there, I needed to call the hotel we were going to in Naples to make arrangements, but the person I spoke with at the hotel didn't really speak English. Angelo got on the phone with them and worked everything out for us! He then called a cab to take us to termini station.Unfortunately, the cab company wasn't answering, so he called an alternate cab company. after waiting 20 minutes on the alternate and getting closer to missing our train, Angelo took matters into his own hands and started putting our suit cases into his own car and was gonna take us to the train station himself! Right then, the cabbit showed up, so we just went with the cabby, but still. what B&B owner does that? You rock, Angelo!
The B&B is very cozy and homey feeling. The decor is very 60's mod style, cool, and clean. We very much enjoyed our stay here and hope to return sometime in the near future.
Grazie, Angelo!

Room Tip: "Loren" has its own bathroom. take that room if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Many thanks indeed for your great review!
I'm happy you spent a part of your Hoenymoon in our place, and you enjoyed it so much.
It's a real satisfaction for me you appreciate Roma, our place and our service.
I travelled a lot and so I know what is important for people traveling abroad, and I just try to do my best as I can.
Thanks again, and hope to see you again in Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    87
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
275
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

It was amazing and unforgettable time that we spent in Rome thanks to the accommodation in IL BOOM. Everything was perfect and the place exceeded our all expectations.
We loved the brekfast on the roof terrace full of greenery and with the view of Rome.
The appartment (Loren) was really cozy, fully equiped and originally designed.
Location is perfect just away from walking distance from the very center of Rome as well as from Vatican.
The public transportation is also very comfortable, there is a tram (no.8) going to Piazza Venezia where from all main tourist places are easily accessible.
Anyway we couldn't wait to come back to Trastevere after the whole day of sightseeing. Even thought there are plenty of restauranst, bars, etc. the district is much more quieter in comparison to the crowded tourist center. Trasrtevere has it's own memorable atmosphere and is the best place for stay in Rome.

We will come back to IL BOOM for certain.

Angelo, thank you very much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomasz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Many many thanks for your so great review!
It was a real pleasure having you with us, and I'm happy and proud you have appreciated so much Roma, Trastevere, and our place.
Hope to see you again here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Look no further! Il Boom is a fabulous B&B in a perfect location (Trastevere)!

We thought that Il Boom was absolutely perfect, we loved the rooms, the kitchen/dining area and the terrace were all first-class and it was a great choice for our stay. Il Boom is situated in a lovely tree-lined avenue in the Trastevere district of Rome which is a fantastic area full of lively bars and restaurants.

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of September in the Magnani and Vitti Rooms. Our rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable and the design throughout the Il Boom apartment was retro in style which we loved! You could help yourself to a great continental breakfast in the clean and tidy kitchen/dining room. There was coffee, tea, bread, biscuits, cereal, ham, cheese, yoghurts, honey....etc., and everything was on hand to use. Every morning we had our breakfast on the terrace which has a lovely view of Rome.

From Il Boom we walked to the Vatican via a scenic route and we could also walk to other tourist attractions from its convenient location. However, public transport is good and the number 75 bus stops in Via Dandolo which is very handy when you have tired feet!

Angelo’s warm welcome and superb hospitality during our stay was second to none and his friendly helpful advice was invaluable during our stay.

We hope to come back again to Il Boom, many thanks again Angelo for everything

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Many many thanks indeed for your so great review!
It's a real satisfaction for me to know you have so much appreciated your stay in our B&B.
It was a pleasure to have you with us, and really hope to see you again in Roma.
Have a great time and thanks again for your warm message.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We very much enjoyed staying at Il Boom. Angelo, the B&B owner, was extremely welcoming and helpful. The rooms have high ceilings, original features and are decorated in a quirky art deco style which our group loved. The roof terrace is also a fantastic addition to an already WOW apartment. The reason I have not given 5 out of 5 is because there were cats in the apartment. Thankfully they were not allowed access the guest area but as I'm not a fan of cats I didn't like that they were around me whilst eating at breakfast. The shower cubicle and toilet area was also a bit of a squeeze. Wi-fi was also intermittent. Lastly, breakfast was just OK. The homemade cakes were yummy but the bread to make a tartine was getting a bit old and one of my butter sachets had gone off. Just a few tweaks needed. With all that considered we would be happy to stay with Angelo again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aysha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thanks for your great review!
Happy you enjoyed your stay in our place.
I'm just sorry about the butter... it was a real our maid mistake I guess.
I apologize.
Thanks again, and hope to see you soon in Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Staying at Il boom was a really great choice. Angelo met us as we turned up and gave us help and advice on rome and where to go as well as getting about. This we used for the entire stay. He showed us around the place and what to do with regards to breakfast etc. Our room was really nice, we could come and go as we pleased and at no point was disturbed by other guests.
Breakfast was amazing. Loads of pastries, cakes, yoghurts, cereals and juices as well as tea, coffee and jams. Eating was really flexible until midday so didn't have to rush up at any point. We always had the breakfast to ourselves and could sit out in the sun on the rooftop terrace with the tortoises!
Rome as a city is amazing with so much to do and see. It was a perfect holiday and i'd fully recommend staying at Il boom.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandCshol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Many many thanks for your so great review!
I'm happy you enjoyed so much your stay in Roma and in our place.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Three of us stayed here for 3 nights as a birthday trip for our 21 year old daughter, and we could not have picked a better spot. Angelo was as hospitable and the B&B as stylish as the other reviews suggest, and the location is lovely - you feel like a Roman rather than a tourist.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Many thanks for your so nice review.
Our first aim is that our guests feel at home... so it's great if you felt a roman at home!!
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Angelo's welcome and hospitality was second to none and he was always on hand to give advice on places to see, where to eat and how to get around - nothing was too much trouble.
Our room and bathroom were beautiful (with stunning retro style) with fresh linen and towel changes throughout our short stay.
The communal areas were also similarly styled - with the choice of a kitchen/breakfasting area, a comfortable lounge, two wonderful roof terraces (with excellent views) and a guest office space. We took full advantage of the communal areas during our stay and Angelo really made us feel at home.
The breakfasts were also a great start to the day - with a choice of teas, coffees and juices; cereals; fresh breads, cakes and pastries; cold meats; cheese; yoghurts and fruit (yum!)
Angelo also recommended his restaurant 'Meridionale' (which is nearby) where the food and hospitality were also excellent.
Overall we had a wonderful stay at il Boom and we cannot recommend it highly enough!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Many many thanks for your so great review!
It was a pleasure having you with us, and it is a great satisfaction to know you appreciated so much your stay in our B&B.
We really hope to see you again in Roma.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Arco del Lauro
Arco del Lauro
#20 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Trastevere
Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Gianicolense
Suites Trastevere
Suites Trastevere
#16 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gianicolense
Casa Eli Roma
Casa Eli Roma
#7 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Gianicolense
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
#2 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast

Property: IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Address: Via Dandolo 51, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast IL BOOM is in a large apartment (where owners’ family lives) located on the attic floor and penthouse of an early 20th-century building, without lift/elevator, offering a breathtaking view over Rome. Up to 2005 this apartment has been just our home. We restored it with our taste and passion for the three decades (fifties, sixties, seventies) when Rome and Italy made progress and opened up to the world and culture. We tried to save what we could (vintage floors, ceilings, doors, full-length window), and maintain the Roman atmosphere of our place. One of the unique feature of our apartment are the two splendid terraces, equipped with deck-chairs and umbrellas, where guests can sunbathe and enjoy the romantic atmosphere of the Eternal City. On-site amenities furthermore include a comfortable lounge/kitchen, a PC with internet access, and wireless Internet access throughout the apartment. The Bed and Breakfast IL BOOM enjoys an excellent position in the heart of Rome, on the legendary Gianicolo Hill, along a beautiful tree-lined avenue in the charming Trastevere district, one of the city's most ancient and picturesque neighbourhoods. We are located in a quiet and secluded residential area, at a few minutes walking from the most important artistic, archeological, cultural sites of the city.Vatican City is just across Gianicolo Hill (half an hour walking through Fontanone - a monumental fountain - and Piazza Garibaldi - the most beautiful view of the city. Campo de Fiori, Piazza Farnese, Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Tiber Island, Campidoglio, all the historical center is just under our place. Restaurants, pizzerias, bars, pubs, any kind of shops are at five minutes walking. And we have also very efficient and close public transportation (daily and nightly): Bus 44, 75, 870, H; tram 8. The Bed and Breakfast Il Boom offers 3 spacious double guest rooms (Loren, Magnani and Vitti), each featuring an elegant private bathroom and ample wardrobes. Individually decorated in an attractive 50's, 60's and 70's style, the rooms are named after three famous Italian movie stars of that period: Anna Magnani, Sophia Loren and Monica Vitti. Each room is large and very light, with high plastered ceiling. Room Loren is the quietest one because it gives onto Villa Sciarra (a small public park) and nearby gardens. It features a small private en-suite bathroom with shower, and a flat screen TV. Room Magnani has a window with a wonderful view over Rome. It features an external (just in front of the room itself) very large private bathroom with large jacuzzi bathtub and shower. It has a flat screen TV. A single bed can be added. Room Vitti has a balcony and a window with a wonderful view over Rome. It features an external (just outside the room itself) private black & white bathroom with shower. It has a flat screen TV, and a double sofa bed. All accommodations are strictly non-smoking and equipped with independent air conditioning, centralized heating, hair dryer, and wireless Internet connection. A delicious self-service continental breakfast, with home-made cakes and biscuits, toasts, jam, yogurt, fruit juice, milk, tea and coffee, is at guests' disposal in the kitchen. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the dining area or on the outdoor terrace, whenever you prefer, at any time until 1 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Boom - Il Bed `n Breakfast Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing