We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to be. And to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Ranked #18 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place to be. And to stay!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

At first, we were 2 friends booking Il Boom B&B. Since the beggining, we could see how Angelo was kind and helpful to us. We could be sure about it when another friend has decided to travel with us, sharing the room for some days with us. Angelo didn't feel bothered at all: he helped us arranging the room for the 3 of us.

And what a room! Located in the charming neighborhooh of Trastevere, the B&B us enormous, with super comfortable spaces. The building doesn't have elevators, which may cause just a little trouble carrying your luggage, but every effort is worthy. The rooms are nicely decorated, you can use almost all the spaced you want, including a kitchen and a living room. There's also a kind of a penthouse, were you can see a big part of Rome and to be mesmerized by that experience.

The breakfast is awesome. There are plenty of breads, juices, pie, candies, jams and even more. And Angelo gives you all the attention you need, giving the best suggestions where you can go, giving you maps of Rome and being helpful anytime you need him.

I'm sure I'll go back to Il Boom the next time I'll go to Rome. And I hope it'll happen soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. The only thing to be observed is that not all the bedrooms have bathrooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcantonho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Many many thanks for your so great review.
It was a real pleasure to have all of you with us, and it' a great satisfaction to know you have appreciated so much our place.
Hope to see you soon in Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    89
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
100
294
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Feels like back in time (in a good way) in Italy in the 60s or 70s surrounded by cinema posters, books, videos, vintage games, etc. Good location in Trastevere, quiet street, 5 minutes walking from area plenty of bars and restaurants. Good breakfast, nice terrace.
The owner is very charming.

Grazie A.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudiu_Ci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Many thanks for your great review!
It was a pleasure to have you with us, and I'm happy you enjoyed our place so much.
Hope to see you again in Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We loved our stay. The room was beautiful and the bath well appointed. Angelo was full of information both when we arrived and as our stay went on, advising us of a partial transit strike and of some areas to avoid after a wild soccer game one night. The common area with movie posters, pinball machine, and cardboard cutout of James Dean was a great place to relax. Breakfast was overwhelming; cereal, yoghurt, bread, ham and cheese, pastry, cookies, fruit and of course expresso. A short walk from the heart of Trastevere, which from our experience is the most interesting part of Rome to stay in. We could walk to the Forum, the ghetto, and the Vatican but there are plenty of buses as well. An uphill climb at the end of the day but worth it for the views and to work off the breakfast, dinners, and gelato. And in addition to the three friendly cats there are pet turtles on the terrace.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
What a wonderful review!!
Thanks a lot for your kindness and love for Roma and our place.
It was a pleasure having you with us, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Outstanding! My family of four loved sharing both Angelo's hospitality and beautiful Villa. Angelo's attention to detail is everywhere - greeting guests, room decor, bathrobes, tile work, and breakfast choices. Our teenage kids enjoyed meeting the two resident cats! The shaded rooftop garden terrace and adjacent self-serve breakfast area were a wonderful way to start the day over coffee and views of Roma through the treetops. We'll be back, even without a coin in Trevi fountain!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Many many thanks for your so great review!
I'm happy you and all your family enjoyed so much Roma and our place.
It's a real satisfaction to know you felt so nicely in our place, and I hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Il Boom bed'n breakfast one week in last June. We traveled in a group of three women, two teenagers and one middle-aged.
Angelo had ordered us a private taxi from airport to Il boom and that was a good way to transfer. It was cheaper than if we had taken one of the public taxis waiting outside the airport, from Fiumincino to Il boom it cost 40 euros. We used the same service also after our holiday when going back home.
Angelo welcomed us warmly. We got good tips about what we could see during our stay. Angelo also booked us tickets for Galleria Villa Borghese, because it would have been impossible to get in without booking in advance. He spoke English fluently and were always ready to help us if we wanted to ask something. The cats were nice and so were turtles.
The Location of Il Boom is excellent. Trastevere is a beautiful neighbourhood. Bus stops were near to us and we used busses quite a lot. We didn't need to walk too much to find a good restaurant at the evenings, Trastevere is full of them. Having experience about staying in two other areas in Rome (Pyramid and Prati), Trastevere is absolutely the most delightful area. It was about 10 minutes walk to Piazza di Santa Maria and there were lots of restaurants in the paths around Piazza di Santa Maria. We liked very much to jog in the Gianicolo park, which is near Il Boom. There is also an idyllic tiny park right next to Il Boom and through that we jogged to that bigger Gianicolo park. There were lots of local people and beautiful views including for example little pond full of turtles and swans and water-fountains.
Our room was big enough and we had a large bathroom with jacuzzi. The roof terrace was also nice. If I have to mention some negative sides about our stay I could say that the extra bed was little hard and there were a bit traffic noise at the night, but that didn't really bother us because one of us used earplugs and the rest of us slept so tight. Breakfast was rangy: yoghourt, bread, honey, muesli, cereals, fruits, cakes, ham, cheese etc. And the Italian coffee we were able to make was good and it was easy to make. Also the electric orange juice maker was nice. But we missed a bit something warm and fresh to add in the breakfast, for example freshly baked bread. But all in all it was good.
If you want a pleasant stay in Rome with delightful surroundings, Il Boom is definitely a great option to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeppis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks indeed for your so great review.
We are happy you enjoyed so much your week stay at our place, especially because you have already experienced different areas and places in Roma.
Really hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We loved the cosy atmosphere of this place and the personal service we got from Angelo. Lots of good tips and all other kind of good service. Angelos good english made the communication very easy. The sun terrace was a excellent resting place after long walks in the city and the 2 bus-lines stopping at the house were a good option to reach wider areas. The flexible breakfast hours suited us very well. We stayed in the Sophia Lorens room which is on the opposite side from the road. The noise from the road was surprisingly high from the end window but not a problem in the night and with closed window.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Many thanks for your so great review!
It was a pleasure having you with us, and I'm really happy you appreciates us so much.
I'm sorry about the daily noise... as you could see there are some big work in progress in the building in front of us, and we can't do anything about that.
Hope to see you again in Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

On my 4th visit to Il Boom, and Angelo's gracious hospitality - another memorable trip to Rome. You can read my other reviews of Il Boom which will tell you why I keep coming back - the warm welcome, the comfortable, stylish and uniquely appointed accommodation, the quiet yet accessible neighbourhood and the wealth of things to discover in Trastevere. Even the cats remembered me! As I continue to come back to Rome, Il Boom provides me with a secure base from which to continue exploring this wonderful city, and the cool roof terrace is a haven following a day of summer heat and sore feet. Thanks again Angelo for your courtesy, flexibility and sharing your gorgeous home!

Room Tip: Room towards the back of the house tends to be quieter than the two rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenscribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
How to thank one of our most cherished guests?
It 'a great pleasure to continue to have you with us, and to can contribute in the best way to your Roman holiday, and your great photos.
Thanks again, and we're waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,259 in Rome
2,903 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,259 in Rome
184 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast

Property: IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Address: Via Dandolo 51, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast IL BOOM is in a large apartment (where owners’ family lives) located on the attic floor and penthouse of an early 20th-century building, without lift/elevator, offering a breathtaking view over Rome. Up to 2005 this apartment has been just our home. We restored it with our taste and passion for the three decades (fifties, sixties, seventies) when Rome and Italy made progress and opened up to the world and culture. We tried to save what we could (vintage floors, ceilings, doors, full-length window), and maintain the Roman atmosphere of our place. One of the unique feature of our apartment are the two splendid terraces, equipped with deck-chairs and umbrellas, where guests can sunbathe and enjoy the romantic atmosphere of the Eternal City. On-site amenities furthermore include a comfortable lounge/kitchen, a PC with internet access, and wireless Internet access throughout the apartment. The Bed and Breakfast IL BOOM enjoys an excellent position in the heart of Rome, on the legendary Gianicolo Hill, along a beautiful tree-lined avenue in the charming Trastevere district, one of the city's most ancient and picturesque neighbourhoods. We are located in a quiet and secluded residential area, at a few minutes walking from the most important artistic, archeological, cultural sites of the city.Vatican City is just across Gianicolo Hill (half an hour walking through Fontanone - a monumental fountain - and Piazza Garibaldi - the most beautiful view of the city. Campo de Fiori, Piazza Farnese, Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Tiber Island, Campidoglio, all the historical center is just under our place. Restaurants, pizzerias, bars, pubs, any kind of shops are at five minutes walking. And we have also very efficient and close public transportation (daily and nightly): Bus 44, 75, 870, H; tram 8. The Bed and Breakfast Il Boom offers 3 spacious double guest rooms (Loren, Magnani and Vitti), each featuring an elegant private bathroom and ample wardrobes. Individually decorated in an attractive 50's, 60's and 70's style, the rooms are named after three famous Italian movie stars of that period: Anna Magnani, Sophia Loren and Monica Vitti. Each room is large and very light, with high plastered ceiling. Room Loren is the quietest one because it gives onto Villa Sciarra (a small public park) and nearby gardens. It features a small private en-suite bathroom with shower, and a flat screen TV. Room Magnani has a window with a wonderful view over Rome. It features an external (just in front of the room itself) very large private bathroom with large jacuzzi bathtub and shower. It has a flat screen TV. A single bed can be added. Room Vitti has a balcony and a window with a wonderful view over Rome. It features an external (just outside the room itself) private black & white bathroom with shower. It has a flat screen TV, and a double sofa bed. All accommodations are strictly non-smoking and equipped with independent air conditioning, centralized heating, hair dryer, and wireless Internet connection. A delicious self-service continental breakfast, with home-made cakes and biscuits, toasts, jam, yogurt, fruit juice, milk, tea and coffee, is at guests' disposal in the kitchen. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the dining area or on the outdoor terrace, whenever you prefer, at any time until 1 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Boom - Il Bed `n Breakfast Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing