We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$381
$288
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$315
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$253
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$267
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$232
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$329
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$417
$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$395
$381
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
$139
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveler rating
445
94
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
94
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrecommend ilsophia lorengianicolo hillitalian cinemagreat location in trasteveresanta maria in trastevereyogurttired feetmain sights in romeoverlooking romelovely roof terracetrastevere arearestaurants and barsespresso machineshort walka wonderful staythree rooms
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 543 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Rome! Angelo's hospitality was second to none . Lots of great information and top tips on what to do and where to go. Waistlines have increased as a result of the delicious home baking .We loved Il Boom and Rome. The sun terrace was a welcome haven after a busy day seeing the sights.
A friendly, clean and stylish home from home in Rome. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Many many thanks for your so great review!
Your stay here with us was very pleasant, and I'm really happy you liked so much Rome and our place.
Hope to see you again in Rome:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a feeling we'd like this place - but it was even better than we'd hoped. Angelo is a genuinely great host - a very nice unpretentious guy who will help you with questions you have and bookings you need to make. There is a calm and laid back atmosphere which makes you feel like this is your house too. The decor is creative (film related posters and memorabilia from the '50s 60's etc.), quirky and great fun and this makes you feel happy to be there - makes me want to start a collection of old Italian films.

The breakfast set-up is so sensible and you can help yourself to toast, cold meat, cheese, jam, cereal, wonderful home made cake, tea, coffee, juice, fruit, yogurt until 12 am. Eat on the plant laden terrace outside the breakfast room in the sunshine. Say hello to the tortoises and cats if you like and if you don't they will happily leave you in peace.

The Travestere is a vibrant neighbourhood full of interesting bars and cafes and is on a bus route to the city centre although it is easily within walking distance if you prefer. There's also a tram stop a short distance from Via Dandolo. We ate twice at Medionale, Angelo's restaurant in the Travestere where the food and service were both superb.

We both agreed that this is, without a doubt, where we would stay on our next visit to Rome. Thanks Angelo for making our stay such a pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Many many thanks for your so great review!
It's a real satisfaction to know you appreciated so much our place, and your stay with us.
I'm also happy you felt like at home. That's my main purpose.
And happy you want to deep your knowledge of old Italian movies! :)
have a nice time, and really hope to see you again in Roma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

There are B&Bs where the host/hostess is interactive – there for breakfast and during the day to be a resource for the guests. And there are B&Bs where the host/hostess provides a place for you to stay and you are left to your devices. The Il Boom is one of the latter. Angelo gets you set up and then you are pretty much on your own after that. The breakfast covers an extended period and you make your own coffee and put together your breakfast. The breakfast was just OK.

The B&B is in the Trastevere district of Rome. It is across the Tiber from the main tourist attractions and up on a hill. It is a relatively short walk to the main part of Trastevere where you can find an abundance of tavernas, trattorias, gelaterias, osterias, pattiserias and ristorantes. Trastevere is really a nice area to explore. It is a 40 minute walk to Piazza Navona, etc. from the B&B.

Il Boom is an interesting place with many retro photos, artifacts and furnishings. The room (Loren) was large and the bath relatively small – normal for a B&B in a converted home.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There is some street noise with traffic going up the hill.

The wi-fi is fairly strong in the common areas, but terrible in the room. I was unable to work in the room as the connection was extremely weak and continually dropped out entirely. I was unable to upload anything from the room. A wi-fi repeater is a relatively inexpensive item to provide service to the guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roams-A-Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Many thanks for your positive review.
I'm sorry you found me not so interactive. I usually try to be, and I believe to be, a resource for my guests, advising what to visit, offering to book the tours, recommending restaurants, and solving their needs. At the same time I try not to be intrusive, with the intention to respect the privacy of my guests.
It 'a difficult balance, and perhaps I may be wrong sometimes. I am sorry if this has happened to you.
About the strength of the wifi into your room you are right. I just tested it half an hour ago. Unfortunately no one told me before. Thanks for informing me about that, and next week it will be settled.
thanks again, and have a nice time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

IL Boom was excellent. Great location (we walked everywhere), fantastic welcome from Angelo. IL Boom is just what you need if you want a stylish, clean friendly Bed and Breakfast in Rome. We will stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Many thanks for your so great review!
Happy you enjoyed our place, and hope to see you again in Roma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The location in Trastevere is excellent. 5 minutes walk to the best authentic restaurants in the city, and 2 buslines right outside the door. One going to the central train station Termini (via Colosseum) and the other to the historic city center. The host Angelo is very helpful, and you really feel welcome. We can truly recommend Il Boom to all couples looking for a romantic stay in The Eternal City.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGrandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Many thanks for your so great review!
IIt was a real pleasure have you with us, and it's a satisfaction to know you enjoyed so much your stay in Rome and in our place.
Thanks again, and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews