We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$169
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of $195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$381
$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Adriano(Rome)(Great Value!)
$154
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$181
$159
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
$112
$103
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$250
$197
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $331/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Colosseum(Rome)(Great Value!)
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveler rating
465
97
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
97
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssophia lorenrecommend ilgianicolo hillitalian cinemapet turtlesgreat location in trasteveresanta maria in trastevereyogurttired feetprivate bathroomtrastevere arearoof terracebed and breakfastmain sights in romerestaurants and barsla dolceoverlooking rome
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 567 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked IL Boom on recommendations from TripAdvisor and couldn't be more pleased with our stay in September 2012. Angelo was always helpful, providing a map and suggestions, booking taxis and dinner reservations. Our room was very clean and had air conditioning. Even though our room overlooked the street it was quiet. The location was perfect for us, only a few blocks across the Tiber River from Rome but close enough to take a bus or taxi into Rome. There is a bus stop across the street and another down the block. Figuring out the bus schedules takes a little studying but provides access to all parts of Rome. There are various places to eat withing a few blocks walking distance and Angelo can provide recommendations if needed.

This was a good location to start our Rome vacation. Arriving from New York at 10:00am we checked in and then proceeded to walk to the Tiber where we relaxed on a river cruise, taking in the sights with an audio tour where we were able to get of and on at several locations. The best was at the Castile St Angelo where from the top you could see all of Rome including the Vatican. If you're up to it you can take a long walk to the Vatican from IL Boom, or by bus or taxi.

Things to keep in mind: IL Boom is located at the top of a hill and if your walking it's a steep incline for 2 to 3 blocks. It's also another 3 flights of stairs to climb once you get to the B&B

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deray8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Many thanks for your so great review!
It's a real satisfaction to know you enjoy so much our place, and I hope to see you again in Rome.
Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We enjoyed a perfect stay at Il Boom, in a fine room with very stylish furniture and your delicous breakfast. There`s also a large terrace on the roof, which everybody can use.
We loved the location of the pallazo in Trastevere right in the middle of Gianicolo Hill, just a few minutes away from public transport.
But from Il Boom you can reach every important place in Rome by walking. If you visit the Vatican, you should walk trough the park from Il Bloom and enjoy the excellent view over Rome from the hill. a great choice of nice bars and good restaurants are 5 minutes away from the B&B.
We recommend Il Boom 100% and we will come back to this B&B , if we travel again to Rome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4KaMa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Many thanks for your so great review!
I'm happy to know you enjoyed so much Roma and our place.
And it was a real pleasure to have you with us. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

So, this was my third stay with Angelo and his family at Il Boom in Trastevere in Rome and as usual, I received the same warm and friendly welcome. It can be very easy to become another anonymous tourist in Rome, together with the other thousands of tourists, shuffling your way from one monument to another, returning to an anonymous hotel at the end of the day, exhausted and suffering from sore feet and culture overdose. So don't do that - start by staying at Il Boom, where you have a charming host in Angelo (and his son Nicola) who genuinely cares about his guests' welfare and comfort and who is happy to find out what you are interested in seeing and take the time to talk to you and make suggestions so that you can experience the best of what is a fantastic city to spend time in. Apart from having everything I need in a place to stay - it's comfortable, well appointed, has WiFi, a good breakfast to set you up for the day, and a relaxing terrace where you can just chill out if that's what you want to do - it's also in a great location - far enough away from the 'madding crowds' but in Trastevere - the quarter just south of the Vatican along the Tiber which teems with an assortment of locals, students and tourists through it's narrow streets with artisan shops and winding avenues with hidden churches and museums. It's perfect to come back to in the evening for a linger over a good meal and a few glasses of wine. I come to Rome to do night photography and it's well worth saving some of your daytime energy for a wander through the streets at night - all of the main areas are a lot less crowded - the Pantheon, the Piazza del Popolo, Piazza Venezia and the Colosseum. I arrived on this trip in the middle of an austerity protest while the Tiber's waters were rising steadily as a result of torrential rains up country. In short - chaos. Police everywhere, and of course where were the locals? You guessed it - hanging over the river walls watching the encroaching torrent, while the police watched them and I watched the police! Talk about street theatre! Anyway, I digress. Back to Il Boom - well, it has style in spades and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Stay there and you'll engage with the real Rome. Angelo - again, many thanks for being such a gracious host and I look forward to a return trip next year. Have a great Christmas and much success in 2013!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

What a great satisfaction to receive your terrific review!!
You're one of our guests who come to us each year. You are not so many, but even so few. And it's always a great pleasure to see you, to have you here, and "live" your love for Rome, and also for our B & B.
In your case is particularly interesting to share your passion for photography, and to portray Rome and its people.
And this time you had the opportunity to live demonstrations of students and professors against government cuts to public school, and the exceptional flood of the Tiber! It would be great if you like to publish here some of your photos!
Thanks again for your wonderful review. I wish you a lovely Christmas and a 2013 full of satisfactions. And of course you'll look next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Il Boom on the recommendation of a friend and were not disappointed at all. The house is wonderful and quirky and cool; decorated for movie-lovers with stylish kitsche. The owner made us very welcome after we arrived late at night, gave us a city map and circled all the sights and bus routes. He also helped us in pre-booking a private taxi to pick us up from the airport and deliver us straight to the b&b (about 50 euros) as well as helped us with our luggage as it's a few flights of stairs. It felt very homely and welcoming but not obtrusive at all. Our room had the most lovely view from the small balcony, though it is a main thoroughfare so a bit noisy ("When in Rome.."). We had a seperate bathroom just outside the door but not shared with anyone. The bed was hard but we found that the norm in Europe. A continental breakfast spread was laid out for us on a serve-yourself basis which we preferred, it was nice to take it out onto the rooftop balcony and share with two friendly cats and some resident turtles!

It's only a five minute walk downhill to Trastevere centre, then only ten minutes walk through the charming streets and across the river into the main part of Rome. We walked everywhere comfortably although there is a bus right outside the b&b. Trastevere has a piazza with "farmers" style market, cafes and bars (don't feel like you're staying in the boondocks just because you're not in central Rome, it's really much nicer away from the hoardes of tourists and has everything you need). After a day fighting crowds of tourists it was really lovely to return to our little spot and eat with the locals nearby.

Overall a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank now__voyager_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Many many thanks for your so good review.
I'm happy you enjoyed so much Trastevere and our place.
It is a great satisfaction for us. Thanks.
Hope to see you again in Roma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved staying at il boom, the reception was great! It was like staying with a relative, no question was to much! The room was big enough and the breakfast-area was like home with a nice roof terrace. We reccomend this bb to anyone who loves to stay just outside the center of rome but close enough to get everywhere by foot. Trastevere also has it's unique charm with the restaurants and bars, try the one promoted by il boom, it will surprise you!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Many thanks for your so good review.
It was nice to have you here with us, and it's a great satisfaction to know you enjoyed so much Roma and our place.
Hope to see you soon again in Roma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews