We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Ranked #17 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was even nicer than I thought it would be from the reviews.

Why did I love this? The fabulous terrace; the amazing breakfast available until midday; the warm but not intrusive welcome from Angelo; his speed at getting back to me over the booking; the views over via Dandolo with its magnificent houses; the greenery; the comfy bed; the quirky decoration; the cats... I would definitely go back.

By the way, the steps one reviewer refers to aren't that bad - I barely noticed them - and the number mentioned is up and down (I counted) so you can halve it really. Also the hill is not that steep, it's a gentle if persistent rise which not once had me out of breath. The toilet in the Loren room is high and narrow - it's true - but the bathroom is so beautiful who cares? It's perfectly usable. I was in Loren and sure there was some traffic noise so if you come from the remote countryside you may notice it - so bring earplugs, sleep with the windows shut (or perhaps don't go on holiday to a capital city?)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Londonismyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Your review is simply GREAT!!!
Many many thanks! For two wonderful reasons:
- I'm really happy about how and how much you enjoyed our place. It's not "perfect", but it's so nice to hear it :)
- You said the best way possible for some "weaknesses" that some of our guests have legitimately indicated... the steps, up the hill, the bathroom Vitti (The Loren room is quieter, but with views over the gardens at the back).
And yes, the stairs are not so many, our hill is not so steep and there are very good buses at 50 meters, the toilet in bathroom Vitti has been designed by the famous French architect Philippe Starck, and is absolutely and totally usable :), and then we are in Rome, and earplugs can easily help in avoiding some traffic noise in room Vitti.
The important thing is to know everything before, as in our website we try to explain, and then enjoy Rome and everything that our apartment can offer, from the terraces, the view of the city, the possibility of relaxing for breakfast, being immersed in a happy and elegant and old roman home (with cats and turtles in the terrace), in a family environment that at the same time trying to be professional and humanly warm.
So thanks indeed again for showing all this in such a nice way! And really hope to see you again in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    89
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
102
296
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is the best place to stay in Eternal city Rome!I am very elaborate and spoiled .This B&B covered all my requirements and indulged my whims.Thanks to the lovely host we had a lovely time in the place settled with a lot off taste .Do not hesitate just book it !

Room Tip: Great hotel ,great location and a very friendly staff .Recommend it to everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veliana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
What can I say? Your review is just terrific! And I can only thank you for your so great evaluation of our place and our services.
It's a real and concrete satisfaction form to know you enjoyed so much our place.
Many thanks again, and really hope to see you again here, in Rome, in our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had never been to Rome before so it was really useful to be greeted by Angelo who showed us the bus routes/ places to go etc. This B and B was just as I expected it to be from others' reviews- clean, stylish and with a wonderful roof terrace for our breakfast and coffee. It was surprising how it is so quiet - we didn't see other guests even though there were some booked in and it felt like having the place to ourselves, even in June half term. I really liked the fact that all the kitchen implements are stylish and nice to handle and everything impecably clean. The bed in Vitti is really comfortable, on the hard side, which I like, though I would recommend one of the back-facing rooms if possible as the road at the front is busy, though not a problem with the shutters closed at night (and the quiet A/C on ), and it is a huge advantage to have the bus stop right outside when coming back from the main part of Rome.
The area of Trastevere is fantastic- atmospheric, ancient and alive with amazing value restaurants and cafes, exactly how you imagine Rome to be. Turn left out of the B and B and then right down some very steep steps, which will wind you into the heart of Trastevere quicker and more interestingly than taking the main road to the right. You basically can't go wrong booking into Il Boom in Trastevere. Some people have mentioned the hill climb and the steps up in the building but unless you are elderly this would not be an issue, and worth it to have the rooftop terrace, which as you can see from the pictures is really big.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Many thanks for your so good review!
It is a great satisfaction to know you appreciate so much our place!
It was a real pleasure to have you here, and I hope to see you again in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We visited Rome during what we consider to be the best time of year to stay there, early to mid may (08-05 / 16-05). Lovely weather and a green, lively, bristling city which isn't too hot, too humid, or too full of people or even overcrowded yet . Rome is really charming in may, believe us!

This B&B we stayed in -Il Boom - is absolutely one of the best we ever stayed in (and we stayed in B&B's all over the world quite a lot over the years). The building was charming and located in the beautiful neighbourhood of Trastevere, just across the river Tiber but in walking distance of parks, museums, restaurants and places of interest. Also, the bus stops to and from the city centre and the monuments were almost at our doorstep. Getting around was no big hassle. On foot if possible and by bus or metro if necessary (if you want to visit Ostia, for example).

Our room was very charming, quite spacious and had a clean and comfortable bathroom. Furthermore, the were clean towels every single day (on our request) and the bed linen was changed 3 times during our 9-day stay! To top if all of, there was our host Angelo, who was very gracious and hospitable.

Still, there are two points of interest we would like to mention:

1. B&B Il Boom lies at the Via Dandolo. Now this is a nice street with trees along it in a nice neighbourhood with all kinds of mansions and villa's. Yes, Trastevere and Gianicolo might be called a bit posh. However, this Via Dandolo charming as it may be is also a busy street. Traffic can be noisy, even at night. If you're a light sleeper, go for a room on the back of the building, away from the street.

2. Breakfast is Italian style, so light and sweet. Do not expect an English or full continental breakfast, but rather do as the Romans do: go for a small, light breakfast at the B&B then head to town and grab something to eat or drink on the go.

But for the rest, B&B Il Boom truly is a gem. We will definitely come back some day!

Ciao Angelo,

Erik & Honore

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik_v_12681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Many thanks for your so nice review!
It was a pleasure to have you with us, and it's a great satisfaction to know you enjoyed so much our place.
Hope to see you again in Rome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

If you are looking for a place with character and comfort a short walk from Trastevere , this is the one. It has the benefit of feeling as if you are staying in a real home and neighbouhood but having the sites within easy reach and Trastevere is on hand for evening wining and dining. The whole apartment is an interesting homage to the 50s and 60s. We stayed in the Loren room which was very comfortable with a compact ensuite shower room. The communal roof terrace ( with resident moggies and tortoises) with wonderful views is a great asset. Angelo was really helpful and hospitable. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jools58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Many thanks for your so kind review.
It's a great satisfaction to have our guests happy to stay with us.
Hope to see you again in Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jausiers, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Il Boom is an unexpected way to live a lively, cosy and friendly experience of the roman way of life, not to mention the 'Dolce Vita'. This "real" roman house is located in one of the best neibourhood of the city, near all the majors spots, but without the chaos of the touristical main attractions of the place. First, you'll be surprised by the fact that a man, an italian one, can make of his home such a sweet, funky and tastely heaven. Breakfast on the rooftop is a must, or preheps would ou rather have it in the superb 1960's kitchen, surrounded by posters of actors and films posters? The owner is easy going and an excellent guide for your dinner experiences.
We loved the place and we will come back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francine04_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Many many thanks for your so nice and great review of our B&B.
Really hope to have you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife and I go to Italy and Rome as often as we can. For some time we have wanted to stay in Trastevere but until we found Il Boom it never came to be.

And what a stylish place! Angelo, the very friendly and English speaking host, has decorated and furnished it in the style of the sixties and the place has such an atmosphere! Situated a bit up the hill from "downtown" Trastevere you are a small (walking) distance from the busiest streets although there is a little traffic noise. That is quickly forgotten when you take your morning coffee on the roof terrace with a splendid view over Trastevere!

Conclusion: We look no more - we have found our place to stay when in Rome!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloOla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Many thanks for your so nice review.
It's great to know that now you have your place in Rome :)
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#10 of 1,263 in Rome
2,924 reviews
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,263 in Rome
198 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,263 in Rome
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast

Property: IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Address: Via Dandolo 51, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast IL BOOM is in a large apartment (where owners’ family lives) located on the attic floor and penthouse of an early 20th-century building, without lift/elevator, offering a breathtaking view over Rome. Up to 2005 this apartment has been just our home. We restored it with our taste and passion for the three decades (fifties, sixties, seventies) when Rome and Italy made progress and opened up to the world and culture. We tried to save what we could (vintage floors, ceilings, doors, full-length window), and maintain the Roman atmosphere of our place. One of the unique feature of our apartment are the two splendid terraces, equipped with deck-chairs and umbrellas, where guests can sunbathe and enjoy the romantic atmosphere of the Eternal City. On-site amenities furthermore include a comfortable lounge/kitchen, a PC with internet access, and wireless Internet access throughout the apartment. The Bed and Breakfast IL BOOM enjoys an excellent position in the heart of Rome, on the legendary Gianicolo Hill, along a beautiful tree-lined avenue in the charming Trastevere district, one of the city's most ancient and picturesque neighbourhoods. We are located in a quiet and secluded residential area, at a few minutes walking from the most important artistic, archeological, cultural sites of the city.Vatican City is just across Gianicolo Hill (half an hour walking through Fontanone - a monumental fountain - and Piazza Garibaldi - the most beautiful view of the city. Campo de Fiori, Piazza Farnese, Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Tiber Island, Campidoglio, all the historical center is just under our place. Restaurants, pizzerias, bars, pubs, any kind of shops are at five minutes walking. And we have also very efficient and close public transportation (daily and nightly): Bus 44, 75, 870, H; tram 8. The Bed and Breakfast Il Boom offers 3 spacious double guest rooms (Loren, Magnani and Vitti), each featuring an elegant private bathroom and ample wardrobes. Individually decorated in an attractive 50's, 60's and 70's style, the rooms are named after three famous Italian movie stars of that period: Anna Magnani, Sophia Loren and Monica Vitti. Each room is large and very light, with high plastered ceiling. Room Loren is the quietest one because it gives onto Villa Sciarra (a small public park) and nearby gardens. It features a small private en-suite bathroom with shower, and a flat screen TV. Room Magnani has a window with a wonderful view over Rome. It features an external (just in front of the room itself) very large private bathroom with large jacuzzi bathtub and shower. It has a flat screen TV. A single bed can be added. Room Vitti has a balcony and a window with a wonderful view over Rome. It features an external (just outside the room itself) private black & white bathroom with shower. It has a flat screen TV, and a double sofa bed. All accommodations are strictly non-smoking and equipped with independent air conditioning, centralized heating, hair dryer, and wireless Internet connection. A delicious self-service continental breakfast, with home-made cakes and biscuits, toasts, jam, yogurt, fruit juice, milk, tea and coffee, is at guests' disposal in the kitchen. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the dining area or on the outdoor terrace, whenever you prefer, at any time until 1 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Boom - Il Bed `n Breakfast Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing