We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Intimate Botique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Ranked #108 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Tucked away in a side street in Trastervere, Rome, is this quaint little former Monestary.
Designed around a central courtyard, it has a warm, cosy, and very secure feel. This botique hotel is small, the rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished with a seperate bathroom and shower room. Spotlessly clean, friendly, helpful staff, Thank You Valentina for all of your attention and service!
A great location just 10 minutes walk into central Rome, good places to eat and shop almost on your door step.
The price of this hotel is inexpensive at around 220 euro per night including breakfast. So close to Rome, but on the other side of the Tiber River the prices are generally cheaper than in central Rome. If you are looking for quiet, intimate, clean, convienient, inexpensive and secure accomodation this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lookingfor7stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile reception at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Guest,
we were all extremely grateful when reading your kind review.

When we receive such entousiasthic feedbacks from our Guests we know we wre going the right way. Thank you for giving us the chance to enhance our welcoming skills day by day: this is what we like to do the most!

Thank you again on behalf of the property and all the members of the Staff.

Arrivederci a Roma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 438 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was really looking forward to staying here but I am afraid that my heart dropped when I saw our room. Whilst I acknowledge that the staff are helpful,(and in particular the kind breakfast lady), the hotel garden and reception area pleasant, my discontent with the room is made worse because where there is no sitting room (other than the garden) and no bar, the room becomes more important. We asked for a triple room and we got our 3 beds, though one without side light, bedside locker or headboard. There was one wardrobe barely big enough for one person's possessions, one hardback chair and desk not really accessible because a bed was jammed against it, and nowhere to put the suitcases except on the floor so what little floor space we had was taken up with suitcases packed with clothes. Perhaps you think we had a garden view to make up for it but alas ours looked out onto the motorcycle/cycle park. After our first sleepless night (because the iron beds creaked/whined incessantly) I asked to be moved but the hotel was full so obviously we are a lone voice in our discontent. After giving 24 hours notice, we moved out. Had the price been very low I could have expected these little inconveniences but I found it very bad value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panama27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile reception at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you first of all for taking the time to review your experience.

We highly appreciate your kind words towards our Staff.

Of course we are extremely sorry instead, that the room did not fully keep up to your expectations. We must sincerely admit that the Triple Standard room that was available at the moment of your reservation is usually chosen by families made up of two adults and one child. In fact, we have never received any complaint on that room size from these kind of families, who generally find it perfect for theirs needs.

We could not know you were three adults, otherwise we would have let you know, and of course, if it was possible, we would have done our best to assign you a more spacious room, more suitable to your needs. As you came to know by our Staff, unfortunately this was not made possible during your stay given the very high occupancy of our premises. We did not have any alternative room available to offer.

We would also like to thank you for your suggestion about adding a light and a bedside locker to the third bed: we have provided them now, following your kind advice.

If you will be kind enough to give Relais Le Clarisse a chance of positively suprising you next time in Rome, you will be our most welcomed Guest.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is located in Trastevere in walking distans to the turist sights.
The hotel is clean and modern. It has an basic breakfast. The rooms are modern and has air condition and heating. Free internet. My room was in the new building and was a little noicy in the night because the hotel is located on the main street of Trastevere.
The staff are all very nice and helpful.
The only problem was the check out. On my confermation papers from Booking.com it was written that the check out started at 7 o´clock in the morning but arriwing to the reception at 7 o´clock, the front door was closed and locked. It became a very stressful situation because I didnt know what to do. The hotel had an emergenzy number to call after reception houers but the number didnt work. No one told us at check in that the reception opend at 8 o´clock insteed of 7 o´clock. Anyway the receptionist arrived early at 7,45 so I could pay the bill and did make it to the airport in time.

Other than that I may say that everything was great and if you are gooing to Rome you should stay in the areas of Trastevere, Piazza dei fiori, Gewish Ghetto, Piazza Navona, then Relais le Clarisse is a very good choice of hotel. The price is allso (more or less) about 20% lower than if you stay at a hotel of same standard on the other side of the river.

Room Tip: Maby the old part of the hotel is more silent at night.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrilleofMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for the kind words expressed and for taking the time to write this nice review.

We are very sorry for the reception opening times misunderstanding: usually this is the first information we give at check-in but maybe this time we did not. We had no clue Booking.com displaied this mistake and we proceeded in correcting it as soon as you left on that morning. So thank you also for making us aware of such a thing.

We hope to welcome you anytime soon again in Rome.

Warm regards,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent the first 4 nights of our honeymoon here & loved the hotel. The hotel, was spotless & very comfortable & the staff were extremely helpful. We were able to walk everywhere to all the main sights & discovered plenty off the beaten track,the location is perfect. Plenty of good restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk. Thank you for a great introduction to Rome.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room at the back that was peaceful.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile reception at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Mr Chris,
we deeply thank you for sharing your experience at Le Clarisse with other travelers.
We are proud you chose us for such a special occasion and gave us the opportunity to make it even more special. We are delighted to know, by reading this kind review, we reached the goal!

So THANK YOU for making all of our efforts worth the hard work.

See you in Rome next time!

Our warmest regards,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I did not actually stay at this hotel but booked it for my niece who was visiting us in Rome for a couple of days. From the very start, when I was making enquiries, I received top service from Gloria. It was Gloria who welcomed my niece at check-in and she couldn't have been more kind and helpful. The hotel knew that my niece is getting married shortly and they had provided a welcome tray of Prosecco and nibblies, which was a lovely and thoughtful touch.

The room looked very clean and simply yet elegantly furnished. My niece reported that the bed was comfortable and the breakfast in the lovely courtyard was very good!

As others have mentioned, the location is terrific. A short walk over the river to the historical part of Rome, and surrounded by excellent cafes, bars, restaurants.

Thank you to the Relais for helping to make my niece's short trip to Rome a memorable one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile reception at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Madame,
I cannot thank you enough for your kind words: you made my day!

I clearly remember our e-mail exchanges first, and our meeting later on, on occasion of your lovely niece's check-in, and I am so glad she was happy with her stay with us.
We always try to do our best in making our Guests' experience of Rome a memorable one, and we are especially grateful when they choose us in such special occasions such as your niece's was.

I truly hope we will have the chance to welcome you all again in Rome, next time.

Our warmest regards to all of you, and once again our best wishes for the upcoming wedding!
Gloria
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just returned from a 6 day stay at Relais Le Clarisse and loved the hotel and its warm Italian hospitality.

Among many more, the location is the biggest advantage. We didn't even need public transport and instead went everywhere by foot. Only 15 min across Ponte Garibaldi to the Pantheon, and a nice 30 min stroll along the Tiber to the Vatican. And as for Trastevere, we just loved going in any direction without a particular aim and see where we would come out again.

Even though the hotel is located in the middle of Trastevere with all its lively atmosphere, the rooms were really quiet (both the superior room with garden view and the standard room in the adjacent building). We did hear noise from other hotel guests due to the stone floors, but virtually no noise from the streets which was a big plus.

The rooms were not big, but nice and cool (it was melting-hot outside), with good beds and great showers in the bathrooms. We also appreciated the supplied hot water kettle and tea/coffee bags.
We have only one small suggestion for an improvement, which would be to integrate some boards into the cupboards for storage. We couldn't really unpack because there was nowhere to put the clothes except on the minifridge or on the safe in the cupboard. Two or three added boards would be helpful to provide more space.

Breakfast was served between 8 and 10.30 and we enjoyed eating it in the lovely little courtyard which is nicely decorated with mosaic tables and lots of plants, adding to the typical, laid-back Italian feeling.

During our whole stay, the staff went out of their way to help us and answer any questions, making our stay even more special.

We'd definitely come back to the Relais Le Clarisse whenever we're back in Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenTravelCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile reception at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you: you made our day!

As we offen tend to remark, our Guest's opinions are what we most care about in our business. We could not provide the service we proud ourselves to give, without them.

So Thank you for choosing us and, besides the obvious gratefulness for your generous words towards what we do, we also deeply thank you for the suggestions you gave us to improve: we have taken note of it and I can assure our Manager is already taking care of the wardrobe issue in some rooms.

Arrivederci a Roma!

Our warmest regards,
Gloria
Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a great 3 night stay at this little hotel. For a family with 2 teenage children, we were accommodated in La Vite which was big enough for 2 double beds and an additional single, with still plenty of space left over. The bathroom was large too, although could do with being updated. There was a pretty little courtyard to have breakfast. Breakfast was basic but all we needed.

The staff at the hotel was wonderful - very warm, friendly and helpful. They were very happy to book our dinner reservations for us in advance and all was perfect (we gave them our requests)and they willingly printed out a Colosseum tour confirmation for us which didn't come through to my email until after we had left home. Nothing was too much of a problem for them. It was a very relaxing and family-orientated place to stay.

Trastevere itself is a lovely area and away from the rest of hectic Rome, although still within walking distance of all the major sights and I would always book this area to stay in. There are also some great restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrissieDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
we deeply thank you for your kind review.

We are grateful that you noticed our Staff's efforts to help you make your stay as pleasant as possible, we try to make our Guests feel at Home in a friendly and warm atmosphere and as you correctly noticed, the neighborhood helps us in achieving this goal.

Arrivederci a Roma!

Sincerely,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#287 of 1,267 in Rome
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,267 in Rome
2,949 reviews
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#521 of 1,267 in Rome
170 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#477 of 1,267 in Rome
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere

Address: Via Cardinale Merry del Val 20, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#139 Family Hotel in Rome
#152 Business Hotel in Rome
#232 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $94 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Le Clarisse is located in the heart of Trastevere, one of the most animated and picturesque districts of the capital. One of the favorite destinations of the Roman "movida" within walking distance are found some of the most notable sites of ancient Rome as Santa Maria in Trastevere, the Isola Tiberina, Piazza Navona and the Pantheon. Using public transportation, you can reach with ease and speed, the Vatican City, Piazza di Spagna, the Coliseum, the Foro Romano and Piazza Venezia. The hotel has various rooms and is designed to meet the needs of families and couples on a romantic getaway. All rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with air conditioning, safe, free Wi Fi, flat screen Tv, Sky Tv, minibar, desk, hot drinks tray. The comfortable and modern bathrooms offer shower, hair dryer, towel warmer, body care kit. Some rooms are equipped with Jacuzzi and others overlook a peaceful courtyard. During the summer, the garden is the best place where you can enjoy a hearty breakfast, buffet style composed of cheeses, cold meats, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit and homemade sweet and savory pies. The Relais offers room service. The reception has laundry and ironing service is available as well as a left-luggage room, maps of the city and tourist information on restaurants and shops in the area. Wi Fi is available in the entire hotel and it is possible to park in the street with park meter. Pets are welcome. Whatever the reason of your stay, Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere is a great choice for your permanence in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Le Clarisse Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing