We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Ranked #113 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent the first 4 nights of our honeymoon here & loved the hotel. The hotel, was spotless & very comfortable & the staff were extremely helpful. We were able to walk everywhere to all the main sights & discovered plenty off the beaten track,the location is perfect. Plenty of good restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk. Thank you for a great introduction to Rome.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room at the back that was peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile reception at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Mr Chris,
we deeply thank you for sharing your experience at Le Clarisse with other travelers.
We are proud you chose us for such a special occasion and gave us the opportunity to make it even more special. We are delighted to know, by reading this kind review, we reached the goal!

So THANK YOU for making all of our efforts worth the hard work.

See you in Rome next time!

Our warmest regards,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 451 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

I did not actually stay at this hotel but booked it for my niece who was visiting us in Rome for a couple of days. From the very start, when I was making enquiries, I received top service from Gloria. It was Gloria who welcomed my niece at check-in and she couldn't have been more kind and helpful. The hotel knew that my niece is getting married shortly and they had provided a welcome tray of Prosecco and nibblies, which was a lovely and thoughtful touch.

The room looked very clean and simply yet elegantly furnished. My niece reported that the bed was comfortable and the breakfast in the lovely courtyard was very good!

As others have mentioned, the location is terrific. A short walk over the river to the historical part of Rome, and surrounded by excellent cafes, bars, restaurants.

Thank you to the Relais for helping to make my niece's short trip to Rome a memorable one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile reception at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Madame,
I cannot thank you enough for your kind words: you made my day!

I clearly remember our e-mail exchanges first, and our meeting later on, on occasion of your lovely niece's check-in, and I am so glad she was happy with her stay with us.
We always try to do our best in making our Guests' experience of Rome a memorable one, and we are especially grateful when they choose us in such special occasions such as your niece's was.

I truly hope we will have the chance to welcome you all again in Rome, next time.

Our warmest regards to all of you, and once again our best wishes for the upcoming wedding!
Gloria
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just returned from a 6 day stay at Relais Le Clarisse and loved the hotel and its warm Italian hospitality.

Among many more, the location is the biggest advantage. We didn't even need public transport and instead went everywhere by foot. Only 15 min across Ponte Garibaldi to the Pantheon, and a nice 30 min stroll along the Tiber to the Vatican. And as for Trastevere, we just loved going in any direction without a particular aim and see where we would come out again.

Even though the hotel is located in the middle of Trastevere with all its lively atmosphere, the rooms were really quiet (both the superior room with garden view and the standard room in the adjacent building). We did hear noise from other hotel guests due to the stone floors, but virtually no noise from the streets which was a big plus.

The rooms were not big, but nice and cool (it was melting-hot outside), with good beds and great showers in the bathrooms. We also appreciated the supplied hot water kettle and tea/coffee bags.
We have only one small suggestion for an improvement, which would be to integrate some boards into the cupboards for storage. We couldn't really unpack because there was nowhere to put the clothes except on the minifridge or on the safe in the cupboard. Two or three added boards would be helpful to provide more space.

Breakfast was served between 8 and 10.30 and we enjoyed eating it in the lovely little courtyard which is nicely decorated with mosaic tables and lots of plants, adding to the typical, laid-back Italian feeling.

During our whole stay, the staff went out of their way to help us and answer any questions, making our stay even more special.

We'd definitely come back to the Relais Le Clarisse whenever we're back in Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenTravelCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile reception at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you: you made our day!

As we offen tend to remark, our Guest's opinions are what we most care about in our business. We could not provide the service we proud ourselves to give, without them.

So Thank you for choosing us and, besides the obvious gratefulness for your generous words towards what we do, we also deeply thank you for the suggestions you gave us to improve: we have taken note of it and I can assure our Manager is already taking care of the wardrobe issue in some rooms.

Arrivederci a Roma!

Our warmest regards,
Gloria
Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a great 3 night stay at this little hotel. For a family with 2 teenage children, we were accommodated in La Vite which was big enough for 2 double beds and an additional single, with still plenty of space left over. The bathroom was large too, although could do with being updated. There was a pretty little courtyard to have breakfast. Breakfast was basic but all we needed.

The staff at the hotel was wonderful - very warm, friendly and helpful. They were very happy to book our dinner reservations for us in advance and all was perfect (we gave them our requests)and they willingly printed out a Colosseum tour confirmation for us which didn't come through to my email until after we had left home. Nothing was too much of a problem for them. It was a very relaxing and family-orientated place to stay.

Trastevere itself is a lovely area and away from the rest of hectic Rome, although still within walking distance of all the major sights and I would always book this area to stay in. There are also some great restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrissieDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
we deeply thank you for your kind review.

We are grateful that you noticed our Staff's efforts to help you make your stay as pleasant as possible, we try to make our Guests feel at Home in a friendly and warm atmosphere and as you correctly noticed, the neighborhood helps us in achieving this goal.

Arrivederci a Roma!

Sincerely,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great location in Trastevere. Charming hotel with lovely courtyard for eating breakfast. Rooms comfortable and very clean if not luxurious but vaulted ceilings lovely. Staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. My only minor complaint was air conditioning could have been colder, but it was very hot outside. All in all a great find. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRG10003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLeClarisse, Proprietario at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for the nice comment and words you dedicated to all our staff. We are extremely delighted to know that you appreciated the quality of the services and professionalism of our team.
Our most heartful thank you for your lovely feedback that we gladly shared with all our hotel team.
Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Warmest regards,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

To discover travestere area and walking access to the old town, it's the right spot. Staff is friendly and premises are clean. All rooms are ground floor with view on the little courtyard where you can have breakfast. The rooms are good size, but rather dark. Water pressure is an issue and the bathroom can be smelly. So works on sanitaries have probably not been extensive. Its a good place, but bearing in mind what has been said above, the price seems rather excessive.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron_1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you, first of all, for taking the time to share your opinion with other travelers.

We are glad you enjoyed our location, garden and rooms, along with the service our Staff works hard to provide. We are seriously taking into consideration, though, your comments on our sanitaries: we did not know we had problems with water issue, so thank you for letting us know in the first place, so we can make sure everything will work fine in all rooms.
As for the smelly bathrooms, Trastevere is one of the oldest neighborhoods in Rome with all its positives about it, but we are aware that something should be done, on behalf of the City, for its sewage system, way too old. We do have our tricks to solve the problem, though, when rarely in summer (with very high temperatures) it may happen, so I truly hope you asked our Staff, always eager to help.

We hope you will be our most welcomed returning Guests anytime in the future.

Warm regards,
Gloria
Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had stayed at Relais le Clarisse for three nights four years ago, and had loved the charm, the staff and the location, so when we needed a place to stay for one night in Rome at the end of a two week vacation, we eagerly booked two rooms (for five people). Since our last visit, the management has changed, and although cordial, the staff did not treat us with the same personal, engaging service that we remembered. The problem with this visit was that, in the heat of the summer, the air conditioning unit on our room did not work, and the room was sweltering. Since there is no staff at the front desk after 10 pm, there was nothing we could do except sleep with the door to our room, which opened into the courtyard, open. We spent a miserable night, and sadly, our fond memories of this hotel were ruined.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nuwest222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLeClarisse, Direttore at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us here at Relais Le Clarisse.
I am concerned to read that you were dissapointed with aspects of your stay with us. I have spoken to our housekeeping manager and she has addressed this incident with the maintenance team. We do pride ourselves on keeping a very high standard of service and cleanliness here and take your comments very seriously.
Again thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we always welcome comment and strive to constantly maintain and upgrade our standards to ensure a positive experience for
all our guests.

Kind Regards,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#268 of 1,271 in Rome
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,271 in Rome
3,006 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#563 of 1,271 in Rome
180 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#174 of 1,271 in Rome
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere

Address: Via Cardinale Merry del Val 20, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in Rome
#152 Business Hotel in Rome
#232 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $74 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Le Clarisse is located in the heart of Trastevere, one of the most animated and picturesque districts of the capital. One of the favorite destinations of the Roman "movida" within walking distance are found some of the most notable sites of ancient Rome as Santa Maria in Trastevere, the Isola Tiberina, Piazza Navona and the Pantheon. Using public transportation, you can reach with ease and speed, the Vatican City, Piazza di Spagna, the Coliseum, the Foro Romano and Piazza Venezia. The hotel has various rooms and is designed to meet the needs of families and couples on a romantic getaway. All rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with air conditioning, safe, free Wi Fi, flat screen Tv, Sky Tv, minibar, desk, hot drinks tray. The comfortable and modern bathrooms offer shower, hair dryer, towel warmer, body care kit. Some rooms are equipped with Jacuzzi and others overlook a peaceful courtyard. During the summer, the garden is the best place where you can enjoy a hearty breakfast, buffet style composed of cheeses, cold meats, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit and homemade sweet and savory pies. The Relais offers room service. The reception has laundry and ironing service is available as well as a left-luggage room, maps of the city and tourist information on restaurants and shops in the area. Wi Fi is available in the entire hotel and it is possible to park in the street with park meter. Pets are welcome. Whatever the reason of your stay, Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere is a great choice for your permanence in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Le Clarisse Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing