We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Ranked #146 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a double room.The room was a decent size for central Rome,beautifully done out and the shower was really smart it had loads of different settings.There was a kitchen area (communal) between 5 rooms where you could make your own breakfast.It was in a good location for all the sites and isnt far from the main train station.The staff were friendly and it was a good price,i would definetley stay here again when im next in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    453
    96
    15
    12
See reviews for
161
724
36
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic stay in this boutique hotel. We were very impressed by the cleanliness, design of rooms, and the service of the staff. I was a bit surprised when I received an email from them asking us to confirm the time of arrival, but then to be personally greeted, offered a free lunch/dinner, and to be escorted up to the room, it set a tone for our whole visit. The location was fantastic overlooking the Teatro and just a block away from Termini -- 20 min walk to Colosseum. This is now my go-to place when I return to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Travlynqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very conveniently situated for Termini Station and within walking distance of Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Palatine Hill and Forum, as well as several restaurants. Staff were very polite and helpful. The room was basic and functional. The lift is the original with a cage like surround. Beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shesaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I found this Hotel to be good value for money, the director Emilianno very friendly and accommodating.
Me and my wife stayed at this new hotel for a week.
The hotel is lovely with a great location just opposite the famous Opera House
The rooms are PERFECT, specially our jacuzzi shower and we did not have even one small problem. 
We would definately come here again to enjoy our favourite city in Italy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertY612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hotel Viminale Hill  was absolutely wonderful. The new hotel has been open less than a year. The spotlessly clean, contemporary designed rooms are very comfy and in bathrooms TV plasma and amazing jacuzzi shower SPA. Staff was very friendly and the free pizza in the restaurant  is a great idea. My girlfriend loved it. We would definately stay Again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidF913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This small hotel is ideally located for the main train station, subway and most sights in Rome. The service was very good with free wifi and use of a fridge and coffee facilities. I loved the old fashioned elevator. On the downside, the room was small, dated and only one pillow each was provided. There was also one morning when the water stopped flowing halfway through my shower. Overall, great location but could do with some updating.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djhunter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Anglees
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is one of these properties you so deserately want to rave about but can't. Just too many wrong things about it.

I booked this hotel as part of a pre-cruise trip to Italy. About a 6 bloock walk from the train station or 3 blocks from the nearest subway station. Location was very convenient to all of the locations I wanted to see.

First the staff, very accommodating and nice when they are there and that was part of the problem with this hotel. Front desk staff only on duty from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. so if you are a late arrival you will have issues. I had planned to arrive by 8:30 p.m. but due to train delays in northern Italy due to snow, I didn't arrive until nearly midnight to find a note taped to the door to call a number. Of course I didn't have a cell phone that worked in europe so I had to have another hotel call for me then wait nearly an hour for someone to arrive standing out in the rain.

This is a small hotel, less than a dozen rooms on one floor. Elevator was not working when I was there. The room was, small but can you say WOW! Custom woodwork and washed walls, 40" plasma TV, and a bathroom that was probably 5 figures to build. All this luxury but....beds that desperately needed to be replaced (mine collapsed on me), a shower with 8 jets and 6 different color llights but with threadbare towels, toilet with built in "wash" but a toilet seat that did not fit causing my rearend to kiss the bowl more than once. There was less than 18 inches between the sink and toilet to get to the shower. Anyone with a mobility problem would not be able to use the bathroom. Closets extremely small and unless you were at least 6 foot tall, unuseable without an extension rod. Small kitchen nook built into an already tiny room but unuseable, no dishes or supplies of any kind. A small kitchen for staff located right outside the room. Could hear all of the noises coming from the hallway.

Skip the extra charge "breakfast" which consisted of a roll and coffee delivered to your room. You could go right out the hotel door, turn left and get the same thing for 1/3 the cost. Also, they charged the room in dollars instead of euros costing me an extra 3% in currency conversion charges.

This place is trying hard to be a psudo lux botique hotel. If form is more important to you than function then this may be a good choice for you. But if the essentials, well executed is your definition of a good stay, probably best to stay away. The price is right though, at only $70 was still a good value even with the shortcomings. Oh, and do not pass up the free pizza a Stella Nuova included with the room. The pizza and the restaurant just outstanding and everything I remember of a traditional, non-tourist restaurant from my youth living in Italy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckdoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#118 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#121 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#98 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#90 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#76 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel

Property: Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Address: Via del Viminale 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Rome
#78 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#118 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#133 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel is an elegant hotel that will allow you to visit the wonders of Rome, starting from the heart of the Eternal City! A few steps from Termini station and in front of the famous Opera House is the ideal location to spend your stay, especially if you're not going to use the car! The handmade furniture, precious curtains and bathrooms finely made with Bisazza mosaics, complete with shower, chromotherapy and whirlpool, make our very comfortable and suitable to spend a relaxing holiday. In corners bar (free) adequately equipped with kettle and coffee maker espresso you can have a tea, a barley or eat a snack. The staff will be happy to assist guests during the holiday and recommend the best guidance for your fantastic journey to discover the Capital! The property offers use of an iPhone during your stay with free landline calls, free 4G internet connection, and free calls to several countries. Amenities include complimentary: high-speed wireless internet access, bar area free tour booking / ticket, safe, express check-in, lift, luggage storage, laundry, private parking lot. Free for children under four years of age staying in the parents' bed. Transfer to / from the airport with a private shuttle service agreed 24 hours before your arrival. Rental bicycles, scooters and motorbikes in shop agreement. The Guests of Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel can enjoy a delicious breakfast nearby at "Il Botticcelli" "in Torino street. The Breakfast will be served in a pleasant place, friendly and very sought after in the details. The ingredients used are fresh and of the highest quality and the prepared menu offers a wide variety of choice. The place to start your day before heading out to discover the Capital! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Viminale Street Deluxe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing