We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, simple amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci
Ranked #640 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Excellent location, simple amenities”
Reviewed April 27, 2010

If you want a simple, no frills place to stay close to the Vatican, then this is a good choice.
We paid 90 euros a night, with breakfast included.
The breakfast is continental but there are several choices, including pastries, cereal w/ milk, slices of ham and cheese, yogurt and fruit (apples when we were there). Coffee is excellent, served in a small pot to your table with another pot of hot milk.
The rooms are of course very small, two twin beds that are relatively comfortable. I still put the extra blanket under my sheet for more cushion. The fluorescent lighting is a bit harsh, so if you want to read while your roommate sleeps, bring a reading light. The closet is large enough with hangers and 2 large drawers.
Bathroom is also very small, especially the shower. If you are over 6 foot and more than say 250 pounds, then you may have trouble. The doors open inward which makes it difficult to enter/exit if you are a big person. The water was very hot though.
The internet is not free. 2 euros for 30 minutes, 3 euros for an hour, but it was fast and there is a b/w printer for your use.
Safety deposit box is free.
Location is great, about 300 yds from St. Peters square. There are several good restaurants nearby and small shops to get any necessities. I bought a 4GB media card for 15 euros, which is way cheaper than those souvenir stands. The small pan y dolce place near the corner had great porchetta sandwiches.
The 64 bus stop is at the end of the block near the tunnel or better yet, another stop is about a 100 yards up on Via Della Fornaci.
The desk scheduled us a ride to the airport, which was 43 euros for two people. The showed up right on time in a comfortable mercedes van. The train ride for two people is 28 euros so may as well pay a little more for the convenience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mjd50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    81
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
32
53
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Casa per Ferie S. MARIA TO BRICK, Pzza. S. # 27 Maria all furnaces is a 10 minute walk to Vatican City and 5 minutes to a major Rome [ATAC] Bus Interchange. Simple, clean rooms with private baths, elevator, daily maid service and Continental Plus breakfast. Multi language front desk. Close to many neighborhood restaurants. Book early as it is often sold out. Book by FAX to [--]. I am a frequent visitor to Rome and the Vatican area and this is one of the best value holiday / guest houses in this area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Professor 1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Il
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We had never been to Rome before and Casa Maria was the center of gravity for our explorations of the Vatican/St Peters, Piazza Navona, Trastevere, Campo Di Fiori and Forum/Palatine areas. We did choose to stay in Piazza Navona at the end of our trip but we could have easily explored all of Rome from this location. The bus station is a block or two away for transport around the city on the Red 64 bus.

There is no doubt, we would stay here again. Friendly staff (especially the gentlemen that worked the afternoon/evening shift) well kept building on a peaceful street with plenty of restaurant choices whether it be a snack or a full "Cena", (dinner) there was a little of everything including a direct view of the Vatican from the doostep. The whole place has a welcoming, mellow and quiet atmosphere.

Rooms were perfect. We had very comfortable twin beds, which was ample for busy days of sightseeing and sleeping like a log . Having said that, know and like the person you are sharing this room with, it's cozy in there! The tv was not missed, the room (213) had a big window with no screen that provided a great sleepy breeze at night, giving us the best sleep of our 12 day trip. Woke everyday to noticeable but not alarming church bells and relaxed in the afternoon to Italian children playing basketball in the neighboring schoolyard, both made for a great soundtrack. The bathroom is small by American standards, but more than adequate. My husband is a big guy and was comfortable in the shower. Great water pressure too which felt great at the end of long day of sightseeing. The room includes a huge armoire with drawers and a desk and plenty of accessible outlets and available WIFI access (for a fee). We found that it had everything we needed to enjoy Rome at a great value with the bonus of a cultural significance.

Casa Marie serves a plentiful "colazione" or breakfast every morning starting at 7:30. Italian meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurt, granola and various cereals, biscotti and of course hot coffee. They also had these home made sourdough type biscuits that I wanted the recipe for.

Will return and recommend, no doubt.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NDEEVEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

A friend and I stayed at this hotel and loved it. Yes, it's basic but the beds are good, the bathroom excellent, the breakfast varied and good, the desk staff are friendly and helpful ... All for a low price. What more do you need for a hotel room! We stepped outside the hotel on our first night, planning to walk to dinner, and were startled by the beauty of St. Peter's dome, exquisitedly lighted in the dark of night, just to our left. Only about 2-3 blocks away, it's a very easy walk with lots of shops, restaurants and gelaterria's nearby too. Perfect location and an excellent hotel. Can not wait to return. We actually stayed in 2005, not 2006 and I'm returning in October 2009 ... next month.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLoverWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

My wife and I along with our daughter and a friend staying for five nights. Clean and safe accomodations, good breakfast choices, close to Vatican and San Piedro train station. 64 bus to downtown short walk down the hill. Much longer walk to Metro but you can take the bus to Termini and transfer to the Metro there. Staff in general was very friendly and helpful w/ one exception at the front desk. Excellent deal for the price!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbmmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaveBaggsWillTravel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I recently took a group of 28 people on a tour of Italy. We stayed the last 5 nights of the trip in Rome at this hotel. I have mixed feelings about this property. Definite pros and cons. Pro ~ The hotel was very clean. Con ~The rooms were extremely small and the bathroom was so tiny you couldn't even get the door completely open because the toilet was in the way. Pro ~ The location to the Vatican area was great. Con ~ It was quite a long way to the nearest metro stop. Pro ~ The breakfast buffet was good and the women working it were WONDERFUL. Con ~ The men working the front desk were TERRIBLE. They were usually grumpy, rude and impatient.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HaveBags-LetsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

S. Maria alle Fornaci is a good budget option in Rome. Attached to a church it is religiously affiliated but is not a pilgrimage house per se---anyone can stay there. The rooms are spartan--beds, a nightstand, a lamp, no tv. Bathrooms are decently sized and worked fine. If you view your hotel as a place to sleep, it's great. They have internet access (for a fee) and the breakfast was decent--typical of the Italian hotels at which I have stayed. There is an elevator and access at night is secure--you have to be let in by the receptionist. The location is decent. It's about 3 blocks from the hotel to the Stazione San Pietro (train) and about equal distance to a bus stop. It's a longer walk to San Pietro, but once you get there there is a taxi stand and a larger bus depot across the Tiber. My father stayed here with me and is 70 and has a bad knee; he found the walk to the bus depot/San Pietro tiring but doable. As long is you are mobile it's a comfortable walk and nice to be able to stroll around St. Peter's in the evening. Definitely nothing fancy, but good for the money and a great buy for Rome.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — long walk to metro
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tellana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Emmaus
#518 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Prati
Domus Carmelitana
Domus Carmelitana
#440 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel San Pietro
#865 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Hotel Paolo II
#988 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#495 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci

Property: Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Alle Fornaci 27, 00165 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #640 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is at 300 meters from Vatican with rooms all equipped of ensuite hygienic services, conditioned air and internet wi-fi, and receive those who, singularly or in groups, want to stay "in the shadow of the big dome". Approximately 10.000 hosts coming from all over the world, every year, demonstrate to appreciate the total absence of architectural feature that provides access to handicapped, the breakfast-room, the tv-room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santa Maria Alle Fornaci Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing