We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the station, clean, good service”
Review of Hotel Cavour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cavour
Ranked #933 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Near the station, clean, good service”
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Staff awere very helpful, the hotel is nothing special but does the job for a group of backpacking girls. The room was nice and clean and the location was perfect - just 3 minutes walk from the station and about 10 max to sites such as the coliseum. The trvisio fountain was a bit further - about 45 min walk but easily accesible on bus.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauskiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    19
    16
    5
See reviews for
18
30
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This hotel offered excellent service, with english speaking front desk personnel. Italy is a great vacation, with lots of history and sites to see. Very good value hotel. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcantr9610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Lake
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Wi-fi is free and reliable. Staff were very friendly. 11am checkout. Room is as nice or nicer than Hotel Julia, and pretty much the same thing but without the noise and 40e cheaper. Only stayed 1 night but should have stayed all 4!

Probably depends on which room you get though, as I can see how some of them would be noisy, as the front of the building is on Via Cavour. But my room was at the back and fine.
Location is awesome, close to Roma Termini and Colosseum etc. Double bed room was 65e (single use). Breakfast was a bit lacking, but not complaining for the price.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_Gregg_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ULTRANERDX
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We did not enjoy our stay at Hotel Cavour and we found the area surrounding Termini station to be an undesirable and inconvenient place to stay in Rome. Even if you’re used to walking all the time, it is still a good 30+ minute walk to the nearest sites. A better area would be around the Spagna subway station. Aside from the location, the hotel was just not very nice. The hallways smelled terrible and the room didn’t smell very good either and was very hot (in early March). And when we tried to open our window to let the smell/heat out, the stench from the Chinese restaurant in the alley wafted in—so you had to make a calculated decision regarding which smell was worse. There was seemingly zero ventilation in the bathroom, which was probably no larger than a 10-foot closet. The lighting was bad, the walls were painted an odd yellow-y color that made it feel dirty, and the air conditioner/fan did not work. Breakfast was bread and off-brand Nutella and juice. I believe we paid ~$88/night for the room, and it was not worth it—I’m not even sure that we would have stayed there for $50/night.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ULTRANERDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

What do you want from a city-centre hotel in a major European capital? We look for a good location, clean room with good/clean bathroom, fair price and good staff/service. This hotel ticks all the boxes.
Room - small but perfectly functional, spotlessly clean bed/linen/towels. Quiet too.
Staff - helpful and charming. I would rate this hotel for the hospitality.
Location - as stated by other reviewers, it really is ideal - centrally situated with brilliant transport links.
If you don't need plush indulgence in your hotel room to make your stay in Rome memorable, but instead look for a good value, safe, clean, warm & welcoming place to rest & refresh then you could do worse than stay here. We will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfsncl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia- North Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2008

I stayed 7 nights in a single room at Hotel Cavour. The location of the Hotel is excellent. It is only 150-200 m. to Rome's main railway, metro and bus station Termini and a few blocs away from the Cavour Station. Transportation within Rome and to other cities of Italy is not a big problem. A bus-stop just in front of the building entance and many taxis around. Plenty of restaurants, cafes, pharmacies, souvenir shops and boutiques available in the near vicinity. In general the area was safe even at night.
The room was small but very functional. If you like to stay in a hotel and spend the day and night there, this is not the right address. But if you prefer to use the hotel as a fresh starting point to the day with a breakfast and for having a shower and a good sleep after a backbreaking day, that is. Of course the breakfast is an "Italian breakfast"... coffee, croissant, a slice of bread and jam. The room was CLEAN. The bath towels changed everyday and were so white looked like new. A small shower but a high water pressure making you a relaxing massage. A working air condition included in the price ( which is not usual in most Roma hotels. They charge you extra.) Although the hotel is situated on a busy road there were no disturbing noise in my room.
An excellent team in the reception. All were very polite and helpful. Alfredo, Lorenzo, Andy and Elisa replied my endless questions with patience.
If you compare the price you pay and the services you get it is absolutely a value for money hotel.

  • Liked — Clean towels-room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ZekiCypriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2008

My daughters and I stayed at the Hotel Cavour the first week of August, when it was incredibly hot. One of our rooms was air conditioned, the other was not (despite the hotel being listed as air-conditioned on their web site). So we moved mattresses from one room to another so we could all sleep comfortably. The hotel was a very convenient base to all we wanted to see and do in Rome and the access to the train and Metro couldn't be better. The rooms (and baths) were clean, but the mattresses were too firm.

With the caveat that you should check the status of air conditioning in YOUR room prior to arrival, I'd recommend this hotel for the budget traveler.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The lack of A/C in the rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAMarathonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Marcantonio Hotel
Marcantonio Hotel
#318 of 1,257 in Rome
215 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#99 of 1,257 in Rome
275 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Everest Roma
Hotel Everest Roma
#395 of 1,257 in Rome
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#323 of 1,257 in Rome
823 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#101 of 1,257 in Rome
809 reviews
Esquilino
Argentina Hotel
Argentina Hotel
#577 of 1,257 in Rome
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavour

Property: Hotel Cavour
Address: Via Cavour 47, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #933 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cavour 2*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavour Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing