We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too many added fees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
Ranked #390 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Too many added fees”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel, ornate rooms, nice staff, but you pay extra for everything from wifi (16€ per day per DEVICE), parking (12€/day), to use the business center, over the top bar/restaurant charges. Leaves you with a bitter after taste instead of enjoying the place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    689
    422
    168
    124
See reviews for
260
440
78
881
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The rooms are clean, big and beautiful. One small thing,, why on earth having the heating on 24° and virtually impossible to have it down, must be cultural.

Now for reception, they keep you queuing while they talk together, they tell you that you have to go to another counter for taxi when they told you the contrary the day before, not a word of apology.

The bar staff is terrible, I had a voucher of 100 eur, had to consume it fully in one time, no accommodation possible, and when you complain they make fun of you.

Breakfast is not really good, but nothing unexpected in a global hotel....A little below average though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odzodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Rome Marriott Park for 12 days for business. I was not that impressed, and more than a bit disappointed.

Pros:
- Collect Marriott points!
- American-style beds and bedding (meaning large, comfortable beds and soft sheets)
- Moderate facilities (restaurant, fitness centre, etc)
- Fitness centre open 24 hours

Cons:
- Location. There is nothing - literally nothing - nearby. So unless you want to take and pay for a taxi, you're eating in the restaurant.
- For an American chain hotel, I was disappointed by the lack of understanding around typical American fare (one day I requested "oatmeal" and received a "porridge" made of cornflakes. Yes, cornflakes. I also confused them by asking for "maple syrup"). I have lived abroad for 3 years and so normally do not expect American-style food, but this is an American brand.
- Fitness centre was marginal. The room was always hot, the water was nearly always empty and a fair amount of the machines were broken. The TVs either didn't worked or offered terribly grainy service.
- The restaurant is expensive! The food is okay, but the prices are high for what you receive
- Service is marginal at best. I often was the only person in the restaurant and yet had to wait ages to get water, wine, bread - or even a look/glance from the server. Service at breakfast was a bit of a joke, too. I had to go and find my waiter to get a coffee.
- The chefs either don't understand, or don't care, about how to cook food. Several times I asked for "medium rare" only to receive food that was well done (and I'm being generous). I explained what I wanted in both English and Italian (with help from an Italian friend) and yet received ruined food every time. I eventually had this taken off my bill.
- Internet is expensive! I don't understand why the nicer the property, the more expensive the internet service. This should be complementary.
- Housekeeping was sporadic. Some days I received toiletries, some days I didn't. Finally on the 11th day, after 3 requests and me using a hand towel in the shower, I received a washcloth. (Side note: I will never understand the European aversion to washcloths. There was a bidet but no flannel - odd).

All in all, I wasn't very impressed. I expect better from a Marriott property. I won't be returning (unless I have to) and will instead choose a property in the city centre. I am sad to lose the Marriott points, but the tradeoff for better service, lower price is worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the diagonal rooms - They offer a large bathtub and a large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliavoyage11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
249 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

In general this place was not too bad. Treatment for Elite members are as what is expected nothing more, nothing less. Staff are friendly and helpful. This is the closest airport to FCO, they do have shuttles provided (in Dec 12, it was 10 Euro p/p), however its operation time is limited, I believe till 10 pm.
Location wise, this is only good if you have to be around the area. The hotel itself seems to be a main convention hotel. Other than that, it takes about 15 mins with your own transport to Rome center. Most probably they have some alternative arrangements.
Rooms are spacious and breakfast spread is ok, not too grand (as compared to the area where you have breakfast).
There is a nice outdoor pool, but only useable during the warmer months.
There is a Concierge lounge which is 24 hours open and during the weekdays they do have some evening canapes. Weekend is only limited selections of drinks as it is unmanned.
In general the hotel is not too bad if you have your own transportation, but if your main purpose is for the center of Rome, this might not be the best hotel.
The only downside of this place is the logic of squeezing guests especially in the weekends for parking (approximately 12 Euro) when the the parking area is virtually empty in the weekends. Accordingly only management (which surprisingly was not present in the weekends - can't believe no managers on duty in the weekend at a hotel!) can waive the charges. I guess they know that guests would need a car since in the weekends I doubt any public transportation is available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nldogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Rooms are spacious, clean, modern furniture, and if you are lucky to be on the east side (even room numbers) you can have a partial view of the dome of St. Peter .
But the location is poor - it takes almost half an hour to get to the city, at a cost of 20-30 euro by taxi, or 3 euro with the hotel shuttle (that goes only to the Vatican, up to 9pm).
The worst part of the hotel is the restaurant and the food. In Italy, one expects good Italian food. Italian food cannot be bad!! But in this hotel, the food was bad :( You get one choice of pasta, one choice of meat, and they are such that you do not want any more of it.
Even breakfast was much below what I expected in such hotel.
Bottom line - average

Room Tip: even numbers, east side, have a partial view on the vatican (st. peter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nir1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

First of all, we use this hotel because we are a Marriott family and secondly, we didn't want to deal with the traffic in central rome. It would help to be at least a Gold member (internet and breakfast buffet...)
The Marriott Park Hotel was a very nice hotel located about 30-45 minutes away from Rome by hotel bus. There is a fee for the bus, but it is worth the convenience of not having to deal with traffic. It is also conveniently located near a bus stop (they sell bus tickets at the concierge desk) - and the bus will eventually take you to a metro. Both options are essential for you to be aware of when visiting the city. We have a young child, and the hotel chef was very accommodating in preparing our son's breakfast and some a la carte items.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blue_terp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montegiorgio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were in this hotel early in Jan on transit, we decide to stay here mainly because of the name “Marriot”. I book the rooms via Marriot global phone and the lady say you need two rooms because you are 4, two adult and 2 kids. She proposed connected rooms for reasonable price and I was agreed. When we arrive after the check-in we discover once we were in the room that the room were not connected and the lady said in this hotel we don’t have any connected room… unbelievable…
After I raise the voice finally they give one big room were we can stay all of us, even cheaper.
Dinner in the restaurant was not as I had in other Marriot hotels around the word, the pasta was not cooked even for me that I like “al dente”, the T-bone steak ( 800g x 30euro) was not as you expect a steak in Marriot. You could see from the table inside the kitchen, all the food come already prepared in the vacuum pack..
Breakfast was appearance lovely, a lot choice, but all the food was terrible.
I do not recommend this hotel. If you are on transit in Rome, Hilton airport hotel is much better and convenient-

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cunillu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#41 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Marriott Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Park Hotel

Property: Rome Marriott Park Hotel
Address: Via Colonnello Tommaso Masala 54, 00148 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Rome
#197 Business Hotel in Rome
#209 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#292 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#308 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rome Marriott Park Hotel is located only 11km from the Fiumicino International Airport and 14km from Rome's city center. A short shuttle bus ride will take you downtown, where you can wander to the Coliseum, ascend the Spanish Steps and make your wish at the Trevi Fountain. Discover a memorable stay by planning either a corporate meeting or a romantic weekend getaway thanks to the amazing event facilities and the full-service resort amenities offered by this hotel in Rome, Italy. All 601 rooms boast luxurious Marriott Revive bedding, marble bathrooms, soundproof windows and handcrafted furniture. Our Spa wellness center offers you an oasis of relaxation and well-being after a long sightseeing day. Experience one of Europe's largest convention centers in this Rome business hotel with 40 meeting rooms, ideal for intimate gatherings or large events. When planning a conference or luxury European travel, nothing compares to the Rome Marriott Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rome Marriott Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing