We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roman Rooms Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$776
$525
Curio by Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$386
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Navona(Rome)(Great Value!)
$1,084
$872
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$218
$178
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$276
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
$378
$309
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$430
$350
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$1,151
$1,061
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$2,145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$363
$264
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveler rating
12
13
7
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
13
7
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 35 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Roman Rooms was one of the cheaper B&Bs that I found in Rome (only 105 euro/night). It's really a large apartment that's been converted into a B&B. It's about a 15-minute walk to the Colisseum and Forum. There's also a Metro stop directly in front and the 64 bus goes by there. It's also only a 6-7 block walk from Roma Termini train station. Aside from that, there isn't much that you'd want to do in that neighborhood.

The room was spacious and clean. The hardwood floors are old and creaky so you'll know exactly when your fellow guests are coming and going. I think there are about 3 rooms total. The place is run by a family who are happy to sit down with a map of the city and run through the sites with you like a personal tour guide. Super nice and very personal attention to detail. They also have a refrigerator stocked with juices and yogurts that you can help yourself to at any time. Their "towels" however are more like tablecloths (you'll see what I mean if you go there) and the breakfast is awful. DO NOT make coffee. They don't clean out the coffee pot so there's mold growing in there. Also, ladies, you may want to bring your own blow dryer there as the one in the bathroom is fairly useless.

If I go back to Rome, I'd rather stay in the Spanish Steps or Campo del Fiori area as it's more central to the areas where you'd want to spend most of your time in that city. However, I thought Roman Rooms was a fairly reasonable value for the incredibly low price.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sde74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We stayed in Roman Rooms in March. It is completely different to what is advertised on the internet. First of all there is no pretty Courtyard outside the rooms, merely washing lines and very dilapidated buildings. The rooms are tiny, with very creaky and unstable floor boards. The floor boards are all splitting so watch out for splinters! The bathroom is so small it has to be a health hazard. There is no door between the bathroom and the bedroom, only a pull over barrier, so there is absolutely zero privacy. The shower is good, lots of hot water but very small and the bathroom floor was completely soaked (because of the ill fitted shower curtain) and all the water then ran out into the bedroom floor. The only good thing about this place is the bed. When we were in Rome we checked out other B& B's, which were half the price and the same standard as a hotel. This place is just a rip off, dont be fooled and dont stay there, unless you are extremely stuck.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank bradylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

Roman Rooms is centrally located near Roma Termini and is within walking distance. The rooms are large (only 3) and clean. Tom is a wonderful and valuable source of information, who greets you, assists you with your lugguage and gives you a map and directions. He is always available,friendly and willing to help with your requests. The included breakfast is self-service from the kitchen, including an assortment of crackers, bread, cake, croissant, cheese, pate, yoghurt, juice and hot drinks. The only troublesome thing was bringing our lugguage through several flights of stairs to get behind to the courtyard where it is situated. There is a lift go get the lugguage up once you reach the building block. Roman Rooms is convenient to get to Roma termini (with another station on that street), supermarkets and food.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1stclassbackpacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

My friend and I stayed here in September and we found Roman Rooms very clean and quite spacious, the position of the hotel is excellant for the Termini and tour buses, Tom was very helpfull and pleasant., nearby are some lovely restaurants, and the beautiful cathedral Santa Maria Maggiore. Magnificent!!
We were ripped off the first night that we arrived by a gready taxi driver. the cost for the fare was 22e. from the terminin which was only a 10min. walk, but we arrrived late and didn't know our way around so it was a soloution to our situation. So watch out as they charge for suitcases as well.
North East England.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anothersuitecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

My husband and I spent our 1st week of our six week honeymoon at Roman Rooms. We were to arrive around 8.30am in the morning so we paid for an extra night so we could check in straight away. After a 24 hour flight from Australia we were glad at the ease of getting from the airport (FCO) to Roman Rooms. Took the Leonardo Express from the airport to Termini train station then it was less than a 6min walk.

The owner Tom was very welcoming and helpful through out our whole stay. Helped with our bags to our room and helped us with how to get around until we found our feet etc.

Our room was larger than we expected and very comfortable. The bed was a full size queen bed and not two single beds placed together (like many beds in other places we stayed in Italy).

We also enjoyed having breakfast in the morning to meet other Romans Rooms guests. We found that the breakfast room became a place for discussion on shared holiday experiences.

There was a internet point with a couple of computers that access the internet only about 10 metres away from the entrance to Roman Rooms and only 1.5 Euro per hour.

There is also a grocery store down the end of the street (about 100 metres).

Thank you Tom for all your help in the lead up to our arrival eg prompt response to our emails and for your hospitality during our stay.

Roman Rooms was very charming and comfortable.

P:S As a professional photographer I have uploaded some of the images taken around Roman Rooms and Rome on the internet. If your interested in having a look, go to [--] and click on the button 'password login' username = Rome and password = Photographs

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank barneypenguin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews