We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Experience”
Review of Osimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Osimar Hotel
Ranked #386 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had just come from another hotel and had experienced some unfriendly service. As soon as we entered the hotel, we felt like it was different. From our first experience at the front desk to the young man that cleaned our room, everyone was as friendly and helpful as possible. The Metro was about 15 minutes away and a nice walk, past some good places to eat and get food. We were able to go to a local market and get fresh fruit, the attendant of the market picked out the very best fruit and recommended some other really good fruit. The prices in the area are much better because it is in a residential area. It was so nice to get away from the crowds and only three Metro stops from the Colosseum. We highly recommend the hotel, the accommodations were clean and well maintained, but the most inviting part of our stay were the people and their outstanding attitudes. We will certainly recommend this to others coming to Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 478 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

The center of the hustle and sightseeing, it was easy to come by metro in Bologna, of which about 15 min walk to the hotel. It was a nice peaceful walk to the hotel, and at the same time, we stopped to drink coffee in a small cafe. (Cheaper iced cappuccinos and espressos as the center.) Our kids walked to the hotel often the rest of the way, so it was a safe area.
The hotel was clean, small for four people, but we went to the hotel just resting. The bathroom was spacious. The staff friendly. Breakfast is good, especially the croissants. We stayed for 4 nights and we were satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Pros: great price. That's it. Moving on to the more important stuff.

Cons: everything that you can imagine could go wrong, went wrong. First, our bathroom was most definitely NOT as depicted in the pictures. We did not have a full shower... Simply a shower head in the middle of the bathroom and a flimsy curtain. Second, the hairdryers are a complete joke. If you're male, then you can probably live with it. But my girlfriend could not dry her hair with that pathetic of a medieval looking device. I had to ask the front desk for a hairdryer, and the nice gentleman seemed prepared for the request since he had one right next to him. Third, the toilets are designed for giants. I stand at 5'9" and my feet barely touched the floor.

The best was yet to come. Our bed had one sheet and one flimsy bed cover that was more of a bed sheet. I thought this would be enough, but in the middle of the night I had to wake up the front desk clerk to request an additional bed sheet. Finally, power problems plagued the hotel in the last night of our stay. Lights flickered on and off for a full two hours. It was so annoying that we had to leave our room door open to let in the light from the corridor. But even better, we were identified as the source of the power problem. Apparently, my laptop was causing these so called power problems, even though I had it plugged in for two other days without a problem. After they seemed to have fixed the power problems, the next morning we discovered that the power in our room had been limited since the hairdryer we had been loaned was not working with its full power. As such, my girlfriend spent the morning and afternoon walking the streets of Rome with wet her hair. I apologized to her for booking the worst of the four hotels we had booked during our stay in Italy.

So, I'm not sure if the good reviews are simply ancient and the hotel has now taken on a new trend, or if I was just incredibly unlucky. You be the judge, but I would avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingsAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent about 7 days there and it was exactly what we needed while staying in Rome. The staff are extremely friendly and very knowledgeable about the best places to go and how to get there. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the Bologna Metro Station which provides access to almost ever major site and just a short walk to a few important bus stops. The rooms are a little small but for the amount of time you will spend in them they are more then good enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindseyC898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

we stayed at Ozimar during our honeymoon. Actually it is 15 min walking to bologna metro station then almost 30 min by bus to city center.
rooms are very clean, not very big but very enough since all day you are hanging out in this beautiful city
breakfast was basic but delicious.
Staff are helpful.
P.S we stayed there (October 2011) just posted this review and could not find older dates ;)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasmine-C-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and it took us only one day to figure out how to get around.
Breakfast was pretty standard but OK. The only trouble we had was that we get to bring our luggage up to the second floor LoL...
Since it is located in a residential area, staying in this hotel was a good way of sampling the daily Italian life.
The staffs are helpful and friendly. I don't have any complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DigitalOption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our first visit to Rome ... and Osimar proved to be the ideal base. Away from the centre (so it's nice and quiet) but with nearby bus (61) every 15 minutes to Bologna Metro station (or 15 minute walk).
Very comfortable reasonably sized room and friendly helpful staff. Very good value for money. Stayed for 5 nights and would certainly return.
Buy a 3-day or whole week all-in-one bus/metro/tram ticket (includes journey to Ostia and coast) and go in to the centre to eat in the evening.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Romoli Hotel
#416 of 1,272 in Rome
382 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#173 of 1,272 in Rome
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Resort la Rocchetta
#284 of 1,272 in Rome
199 reviews
Esquilino
Mariano Hotel
Mariano Hotel
#575 of 1,272 in Rome
608 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#289 of 1,272 in Rome
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osimar Hotel

Address: Via Felice Gondi Grossi 87 | angolo Via Rasponi, 00162 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#64 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#137 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $46 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osimar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Osimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osimar Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing