We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-frills hotel”
Review of Osimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Osimar Hotel
Ranked #386 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in June for a conference. The hotel is in a residential area of Rome. There are neighborhood shops around and a copule of restaurants on Via Famiano Nardini -I had an excellent ice cream in one of the shops there, 4 blocks from the hotel. It is walking distance to the Plaza Bologna Metro station (10 minutes) and to Luiss Guido Carli University (where the conference was held). The area around the hotel is safe. (If you like to jog, like me, this is not a good area to run.) The staff was friendly and helpful.

The room was no-frills: clean with a big bed, not a lot of space. There is AC, but I couldn't change the settings and the room was a bit warm. I slept with the window open. It was not a big deal for me, but in August, it may be a problem. There was a small flat screen TV on the wall (BTW, with no English channels).

There was a very good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Don't miss breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rauli-tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 478 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

The hotel was nice and quiet with a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Sep/Oct 2011. Stayed one night at the beginning of our trip and two at the end. Staff very friendly and although the rooms were in need of a little redecoration, they were very clean with comfortable beds and working TV, Fridge etc. Staff very accommodating when we requested additional pillows. Nice continental breakfast.Ten minute walk to Bologna Metro station - easy enough to find if you have a map and the hotel sell the metro tickets. BIG BONUS is a new local restaurant (2 mins walk) Rosso Liziano - this is not a 'tourist' restaurant. The pizza's are HUGE and really really good, as are the seafood pasta dishes and the mushroom risotto - the best evening meals of our 10 day trip. Their menu items have really funny English 'translations' such as 'porky mushroom' and 'hypocrite steak on the grate' but the food is delicious and cheap (as is the house red wine). From the hotel door: turn right up to the street, turn right again and walk approx 50 metres to the main road - Rosso Liziano Restaurant is on the opposite side of the road, diagonally to the left. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Lots of one way streets in vicinity so hotel was a little difficult to find in the dark!
Weather was very hot so took the 61 bus into Rome (15minutes) or to piazza Bologna to pick up the metro. Bus stop to go into Rome: Turn left past small supermarket then right at road end, bus stop is next to rubbish recycling bins (not smelly!). On way back to hotel 61 bus via Rodolfo LANCIANI - 2 stops one just as bus turns into street and best one just before Q8 garage. From 2nd bus stop turn right before garage and hotel on left 100 metres..

Room Tip: Quiet spot and soundproofing better than a lot of hotels we have stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My father and I spent 3 nights in Rome at the Osimar Hotel and we both had a fabulous time!
We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble! I was concerned about the location when making my reservation but there was no need to worry as the nearest Metro Station is a short walk away and the network is 'foolproof'. We discovered an amazing Pizzeria round the corner from the Hotel (I think near 'Piazza M Armellini') it's very popular with the locals so I'd reserve a table to avoid disappointment!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

the hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly!
had a little trouble finding it without a map - people on the street gave me wron directions- it is very easy to find though! take the metro to piazza bologna and then walk (takes 5-10min) along the Vialle 21 april , keep on the right side og the road and after u pass the carefour super market turn right and right again, that's the street you'r looking for! go str8 ahaid and you'll see the hotel!! You can also take the 310 bus from termini station , it stops 100m before the supermarket.

the hotel provides u with a map which also shows all the locations one must dee in Rome and they also show u how to get there!

last but nit least, the hotel works with a bus company which pickes u up at the hotel and brings u to the airport! (costs 4euro more than the train and you don't have to walk :) !)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were very disappointed in the location of the hotel. From the description it sounded like it was minutes from the Trevi fountain and other sites in Rome. However, it was a good hour by foot and local transportation to get to anything worth seeing. The hotel is located in an isolated area without other businesses or hotels near. All 6 times we took a taxi or car services they got loss locating the hotel even with a gps since it is in an obscure area. Also staff gave us maps but failed to tell us the logical route was impossible to take due construction. We got lost every night and wasted a lot of time trying to get directions to a location no one had ever heard of.

The room itself was ok, as long as you don't mind sticky floors and a leaky shower. That seems to be typical of Europe so we could have lived with that inconvenience if we weren't already cranky from getting lost every day.

Breakfast was limited and serving staff had resentment issues towards the guests. After scolding me like a small child for not knowing how to use the coffee machine that had no directions the waitress reinforced her disappointment by angrily and loudly slamming everything as she replenished the supplies. Just what you want to hear early in the AM.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Romoli Hotel
#416 of 1,272 in Rome
382 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#173 of 1,272 in Rome
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Resort la Rocchetta
#284 of 1,272 in Rome
199 reviews
Esquilino
Mariano Hotel
Mariano Hotel
#575 of 1,272 in Rome
608 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#289 of 1,272 in Rome
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osimar Hotel

Address: Via Felice Gondi Grossi 87 | angolo Via Rasponi, 00162 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#64 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#137 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $46 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osimar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Osimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osimar Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing