We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect room but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Domus Diana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Domus Diana
Ranked #555 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect room but...”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Reading the reviews of Domus Diana we were looking forward to staying at a hotel where the owner had been raved about as being very helpful and hospitable. However when we arrived at the hotel (which would have been impossible to find without the help of some lovely locals) we were greeted by a lady who didn't speak English and who pressed a phone into my hand. A bit confused I answered the phone and spoke to Diana who said that I hadn't responded to the messages she had sent me asking what time I was arriving (I never received anything). This set the precedent for the rest of the time we were there, we never met Diana and never received any of this so called great help and advice on how to get about in Rome. We were left to navigate by ourselves despite choosing this hotel for the very reason that Diana spoke good English and could help us figure out Rome as first timers.

I may be being a bit harsh but we were disappointed. If I hadn't contacted Diana the night before we left to arrange payment I have no idea how she would have taken it. Unless we left it at the reception for other guests to see?

Also beware of booking through Hotels.com as we did and were charged much more. I was expecting to pay 208 euros as the website offered a 20% discount for booking four nights but after contacting Diana she wanted 276 euros off of us which we obviously hadn't budgeted for. I don't know if this is lack of communication on part of Hotels.com or because Diana wanted to charge us more.

However I do have some positive points. The room itself was perfect, very comfortable and clean and designed well. The shower is amazing and we liked the shared kitchen area. Clean towels everyday which is to be expected. It's also a great location, close to the Colleseum and the Termini for catching trains to the rest of Rome. There's a bit of noise from the theatre opposite but that never stopped us from having a good nights sleep.

If you're comfortable going around Rome on your own and aren't looking for help from the owner then this would be perfect for you. It's also good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    39
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
91
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

During our recent trip in Rome we stayed in Domus Diana apartments and we were completely satisfied. Only 5-10 minutes from the Colosseum and almost 3 minutes to the metro station makes it a very good location to stay. Except the metro you can use the buses from via Labicana to visit the historical center. The area is also safe for travelers who want to return in their room after midnight although there aren't many people walking in the streets late in the night. The rooms were cleaned everyday, the towels were changed everyday and everything was new - the bathroom, the beds, the closet. I was amazed by the cleanliness of the apartment, The only disadvantages were the bad isolation in the rooms - of course I faced this problem to the majority of the hotels that I've been - and the lack of a TV - which we didn't miss it because we spent only a few hours during the day in our room. Moreover, there is a kitchen where you can cook or make a breakfast - there is a supermarket in via Merulana - and free wifi - but with a low speed. To sum up, it is an excellent choice for its price, I highly recommend it to whoever wants to visit Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of October and thoroughly loved our stay! The hotel is perfectly located, so close to the Termini station and local amenities. We used the subway system to get around and there is a stop a few steps away.

When we arrived we were welcomed by Diana's cleaner who showed us to our lovely room. Everything is so new and clean and decorated to a high standard.

We would certainly stay here again the next time we visit rome. And if your visiting through the summer I'd really recommend visiting the sperlonga beach. It was beautiful!!! Such clean warm sea, a golden beach and friendly locals. We paid around 13€ each for a return on the train and it was only 50 minutes away. Its not very well advertised which was nice as when we got there it was very quiet and perfect for relaxing after a lot of walking around the roman streets!

Have a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Our room was through the shared kitchen and the doors are rather thin, I was woken up a couple of ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This beautiful and quirky little B & B situated in the heart of Rome is a must! We arrived and loved how authentic the building was. The B & B is situated on the first floor of a huge apartment block that surrounds a lovely little Italian courtyard. The rooms are all individually designed to a very high standard and the decor is very quirky and modern. Ideally situated close to the tube and the coach station the main sites of Rome can be accessed with ease. The nightlife was great, the food was great, the sites were great and Domus Diana was great!

Room Tip: We have the Emotion room, it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheffield_solicitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a fine place to stay when arriving either by train or by airport (the latter since the train from the airport is so easy to access). In addition, it's a wonderful location for walking around Rome to all sorts of central sites or taking the subway to get just a bit further. Our only regret was that we wasted (a LOT of) money on a restaurant for a several course dinner farther away the first night when we were already somewhat tired (and that place was mediocre): the tiny trattoria just below the hotel was superb both in terms of courses of food and full service and we only discovered it our last night there, when it was almost entirely booked! We also appreciated that there are multiple grocery stores nearby for those occasions you might want fruit or something without eating out more formally, as well as local cafes and bars for when you simply would like a drink and a snack. The neighborhood seemed friendly and safe at all hours with local Italian children, pets, couples, and elderly pedestrians navigating easily among the occasional bicycles, tourists, and Spanish-speaking immigrants who also use these streets of apartments and the nearby public park, soccer field, and gardens (located on the hillside just above the Colosseum). Very nice overall and we'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Best thing about Domus Diana is the location, about 10 minutes away from Termini station and five minutes from the Colosseum and Forum. Our room looked out on the street which was a bit noisy but didn't stop us sleeping! Decor is great in the rooms as well. Beds were comfortable and en suite shower/bathroom great. Diana was really friendly and leant us an umbrella one afternoon when it rained. She also arranged for us to leave our luggage in another hotel closer to the train station after we had checked out on our final day. Lots of cafes and restaurants near the hotel as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
209 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Beautifully done up rooms with new bathroom. Excellent service by Diana with very good value for money.the location is excellent.certainly a hidden gem that is highly reccomended for the price conscious traveller who does not want to compromise on quality

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vijkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Nerva Accomodation
Nerva Accomodation
#97 of 3,752 in Rome
523 reviews
Monti
Relais Merulana Guest House
Monti
Clemy in Rome
Clemy in Rome
#568 of 3,752 in Rome
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Lucky Domus Rooms
Lucky Domus Rooms
#1,305 of 3,752 in Rome
15 reviews
Monti
Ena Guest House
Ena Guest House
#559 of 3,752 in Rome
128 reviews
Monti
Terme di Traiano Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Domus Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Domus Diana

Property: B&B Domus Diana
Address: Via Mecenate 27, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #555 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Domus Diana 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your B&B Domus Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing