We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Greeting, but nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prati B&B and Prati Vatican Apartment
Ranked #1,508 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We had a good stay, great breakfast, but we were rudely greeted by Alessandra (the owner). She watched as we entered the building trying to figure out which floor to go to and did not offer assistance until we were half way up the stairs when she shouted if we had a reservation behind us. Then we were literally not even in the door of the B&B before she insisted on ALL the CAST at that instant for the whole stay. She put up a huge stink about it and was really rude until she had it in her hands and then smiled for the first time. Otherwise the stay was fine and the metro stop is really close. There was free wi-fi too which was fantastic. We found a hotel across Rome in the center for 35 euro less a night for the SAME amenities... so look around first, because you can get a better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shelley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 119 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

After a long flight from Australia my friends and I were happy to be greeted by Alessandra! After traveling by the lift to our second floor apartment we were pleased to find a comfortable and spacious apartment with plenty of room for us.

The apartment was clean and simply furnished and we were given a tour by Alessandra who then sat with us and told us about some public transport options to help us get around Rome. While Alessandra's English is not 100% she tried very hard and was able to make conversation with us.

The plans for our holiday were to spend our first 3 days and last 4 days in Rome. We were overwhelmed and grateful to find a traditional Easter cake waiting for us when we returned for our second leg.

Overall the service we received from Alessandra exceeded our expectations. We had expected, like most rental apartments to pick up a key and be left to our own devices - but this was not the case.

We did not expect hotel style accommodation and service. We chose to rent an apartment, rather than book into a hotel to get a real experience of living like a Roman.

If you are looking to come to Rome and stay in an apartment, eat in an apartment and laze around all day then this is not the place for you - Why would you when you are in close vicinity of The Vatican, shops, restaurants and Ottiviano metro station. However, if your idea of a trip to Rome includes seeing the sights, visiting museums and eating lost of Pizza, Pasta and gelato then this is the ideal accommodation for you!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Alessandra is a really nice person. The place (double blue room) was clean, cosy, warm(there was a heater) and had a big bed and tiny bathroom. We have been there for 6 nights and everything was always ok. This apartment is very close to the vatican and to the market place. We didn't use any public transport (we've been everywhere by foot) but it was also close to the bus stop and metro station(Ottaviano St. Pietro).
We would definately stay there again.
(the only thing was no kitchen to make some tea in the evening but you can manage it if you are creative enough)

Room Tip: doble blue room is good for a (young)couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pzielony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

i was in this apartment with my family, there service was very execellent, no noise, and the greatess is that you will feel at home. they are very friendly,cheerfull and careing. i like them and i promise to be lodging in there apartment when ever i visit rome

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramseynharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We rented the Prati B&B apartment. We've never stayed in a place like it, and have never had a host like Signora Bonaccorsi.

For starters, the website photgraphs are deceiving and are not an remotely accurate reflection on what you get. One description describes the place as a "lovely apartment" . Well, the apartment does have great bones and great location. That's about it. The building 's front hall, elevator, and stairway are dirty and dusty. The apartment is spacious, but it has not been maintained- it is grimy and needs to be painted (the paint is discolored in every room, it has nicks and dings and someone's tried to patch the paint, but it doesn't match, and it's really pretty gross). The floors need to be redone. The apartment needs to be given a deep and thorough cleaning and degreasing from top to bottom and under the beds. The scary part is the electrical system, which is old and, I venture, not safe. It certainly can't be up to code, and must be about 60 years old. The entire building was without power for 18 hours the last day we were there- no hot water for us on our last morning. Many of the outlets and switches in the apartment didn't work, the TV was jury rigged to the electrical outlet, which was one of about 4 things hooked up to it with extension cords. Ditto for the microwave, and on and on.).

Do not be deceived by the floor plan posted on some of the sites. One bedroom faces on to an inside courtyard, and is very dark all day long- needless to say the ceiling light is dim, as was the room light (which we moved to the living room in an attemp to get more light there.) The corner bedroom has windows facing two streets and the noise, even with the shutters closed and curtains drawn, is invasive- scooters, garbage trucks, automobile traffic are going 24/7. You can choose to either have the windows closed and have the room stuffy and sort of quiet, or to have the windows open a crack for fresh air and racket which makes Manhattan street noise sound pastoral. Our bedroom had two 20 watt bulbs for illumination, which made it impossible to read in bed or find anything out of the range of the weak light; the room had no ceiling light.

The kitchen is a typical, cramped Italian apartment kitchen, ditto the bathroom. No surprises there. The kitchen was an odd mix of clean in some areas and grimy in others. The bathroom was clean, although the bath and kitchen floor mats were filthy. It was obvious they had not been washed in months.

The pictures make the place look nice, with antique furniture. The piano was covered with a sheet, and we were told not to play it. The dining room table too high for the chairs and was uncomfortable to sit at. The sofa was covered with a throw; there were no other chairs in the main room except for the dining chairs. Most of the stuff on the walls- cheap African masks and wall hangings-- had been nailed to them and had a fine layer of dust across the top. Much of the other furniture in the other rooms was cheap and flimsy or looked like it had been parked there becuase there was no more space in the attic.

The beds were comfortable, but the sheets smelled musty, as if they'd been put away damp. Ditto for the towels. It's not so nice to get showered and then towel off with a stinky towel.

The television remote was partially broken and the television could not get a decent signal (may have had something to do with the jury rigged power supply or more likely the jury rigged cable access). It was on and working fine when we came in, but stopped when we turned it off and then back on. The Signora said she would send her husband to fix everything, and he never showed up.

Scattered through the apartments were signs like this one on the stove: "Please use with care. 500 Euro if damage occur thank you". There was the same sort of note on on the exercise equipment in the living room, the CD player with the broken lid in the living room, and a lamp, although the cost of damages were lower. Who does this woman rent to?

Now as for Signora Bonaccorsi: There's no one else like her.

The site says she speaks English. Her abilty to speak English is very poor, and we spoke the entire time in my poor Italian, which tells you something right there. Have no idea about her French or Spanish.

Signora is .......challenged by the hospitality business. We found it odd she was so aggressive when she met us at the beginning, and asked for her up front cash payment. (We now know realize this was done in an effort to put us off guard and for her to be paid before we realized what a dump we'd rented.) I am not sure who this woman rents to, but she seemed to think we were out to get her or wanted to rip her off. Her business plan is one of minimal work and minimal effort for as much money as she can possible get. We made an effort to pleasant and responsible renters, but she seemed to find us troublesome and a bother, and seemed to think it important that we know how she felt.

The key she gave us for the street door did not work.;we tried and tried to make it fit in the lock. We had to call her- it was the late afternoon of the first day we were there- and she came down to tell us what to do and also let us know we had disturbed her.

A day later we asked her for a stronger light in the living room, because one 40 watt bulb for a 14x14 room really does not give enough light. I asked her for a second dish towel and also asked if would be possible to have a new one every day. Signora said she could give me a second towel but that she would not give me a new dish towel every day. She said that that she changed her dish towel once a week and that would have to do for us as well. I could wash the towels out myself.

(Aftger that, we spent some time wondering what Signora's kitchen was like.)

And we did have to buy our own toilet paper and garbage bags. They were not provided.

The last night we were there, after the power had been off for hours, she brought is a candle (we'd gone to get our own at the tabacchi down the street so we could pack, or try to pack, in the dark) and a flashlight. And she kept telling us how the power outage was not her fault. We didn't hear any "I'm sorry", or "I apologize for the trouble", just "This is not my fault, this is not my fault". We knew better than to ask for a partial refund of the day's fee, since we felt such a request would have really set her off.

Now the ultimate:

We had made planswith her for the final inspection of the apartment the evening before we left. Our plans changed and I asked an Italian friend- another signora- to come and speak to Signora Bonaccorsi since I was not confident of my Italian, and because frankly I was afraid her. We knocked on her door, and when she finally opened it, I said, "Signora, I would like you meet this Signora" and pointed to my friend Silvia. Signora Bonaccorsi looked up and down at my friend and then said "E chi sei TU?" ("And who the hell are you?). I stepped in and said "She is a friend of mine, Signora", and Signora looked at my friend and said in Italian : "Well, you know, there are all kinds of strange people walking the streets around here.... and I thought maybe this woman ( head nod indicating me) had picked you up off the street."
For God's sake.
I don't pick up strange people on the street.
My friend Silvia is not a street walker.
If I were dumb enough to pick up a streetwalker, do you think I'd introduce her to Signora Bonaccorsi???

Who the heck does this woman think she is?

Stay away, stay away, stay away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Va_lady513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Prati house on Via del Scipioni has an utterly central location. Though it was really close to the subway, we walked everywhere. There are many shops and supermarkets around, you can do your daily shopping very easily. It is a very big house. The bedrooms are almost as big as an individual hotel room. The kitchen and bathroom are new and spotlessly clean. All in all a very good place to stay when in Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank palindrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

5 mins from Vatican and a metro station! Room was small but had everything you need (apart from tea and coder making facilities). Breakfast is brought to you at 8, it was nice enough and very large! The hostess was very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
Shelley, England

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 123shelley456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
6,963 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#345 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prati B&B and Prati Vatican Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prati B&B and Prati Vatican Apartment

Address: Via Degli Scipioni 135, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,508 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $56 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prati B & B is located in the center of Rome near the Vatican, a few steps from St. Peter's Basilica, Vatican Museum and Castel Sant Angelo, in a prime location for sightseeing in the capital. 50 meters are: the underground Metro Line A (Ottaviano St Peter) and numerous bus routes are well connected to the most beautiful places of Rome's most popular tourist itineraries in the capital and located in the commercial center of city. For walkers, a few minutes you can reach all the most beautiful shopping streets: Via Cola di Rienzo, Via Ottaviano, Via del Corso, Via Condotti, in addition to the Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, besides the typical Trastevere district full of restaurants and pubs and many other places to meet Tiber Island, near which was founded Rome .. Bed and breakfast is on the second floor of an elegant building of '900, in Via degli Scipioni, in the central Prati district, near the Vaticano.Il Prati B & B for your stay balanced in the eternal city, provides 2 sunny rooms are spacious and comfortable decorated in blue(double) and yellow(single with french bed), , with wooden furniture, terracotta floors.. The rooms have private bathrooms, small and graceful complete with shower, toilet and hairdryer, in blue and yellow to match the rooms, in addition to the features such as air conditioning, heating, color satellite TV (with digital terrestrial ), wi-fi internet access free high-speed, spare linen and towels every 3 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prati B&B and Prati Vatican Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing