We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Welcome in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welrome Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welrome Hotel
Save
You added Welrome Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #482 of 1,287 Hotels in Rome
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Welcome in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My Wife and I had many experiences in Europe. Mary and Carlos were the definition of hospitable. If you have a question they will make sure there is no confusition about there answer. There will be no getting lost in a foreign land here. Good recommendations. Rooms are small but all that you need. Close to train station, which makes traveling to other Italian cities easy. Close enough to walk to some popular Roman attactions. Recommend taking public transportation to Vatacan. Which Mary can help you with.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Micah_Kalila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    72
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
168
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have to start with thanking mary and carlos, the owners of the hotel for all the help. They were so kind and enjoyed to answer each and every typical tourist questions. Carlos is very passionate about the history of rome and will share lot of knowledge with you through his books collection. He told us few stories about sistine chapel and vatican before visiting a day before. It helped us alot to understand the meaning of each character in Michael Angelo's piece. He also gave us lot of information about the shortest way to see rome by walking. It was soo much fun to see rome by walking than any of the bus tours. Regarding hotel, its a decent place with excellent service if you are looking for something in budget. Eventhough, its not B&B, but mary is kind enough to serve with fresh cream filled croissants, juice, water, some more local goodies in the fridge everyday. We never had to spend money in the morning for breakfast. There is no extra charge for any of these goodies. We stayed here for 4 nights and it was totally worth it. The only thing that bothers me is that you have ring a bell and then someone - either mary or carlos will come and open the door for you. I understand they have kept this way for their safety since its very close to Roma termini station but if you are late in the night..it made us feel awkward to bother them. At a walking distance from Roma termini station, excellent location, totally worth it. We were on our honeymoon, so they arranged champagne in our room before our arrival. Very sweet of them. I will definitely go back again and stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Pantheon room. Very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hinal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Thanks, Carlo and Mary, for your friendly help and thoughtfulness. There's nothing we didn't enjoy about our four-day visit. We knew you had a lot of fans. Now you have two more. Please stay as sweet as you are !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank salixman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Welrome Hotel 2 years ago and absolutely loved it, mostly because of the hosts, Mary and Carlos. In October 2012, we returned to Rome again with our 23-year-old son with us. This was our son's first visit to Rome and he immediately agreed with our positive reviews about Welrome Hotel. By the end of our trip, we all vowed that we would visit Rome again and would always choose to stay at Welrome Hotel. The accommodations were spotless, adequate, safe and close to trains, buses and walking distance to many sights. Mary and Carlos were both born in Rome and they continuously gave us the most valuable information and advise that we could ever receive about Rome. We look forward to coming back to Rome again and again and staying at Welrome Hotel.

Room Tip: One of the rooms that does not face the street is quieter, and has a very cosy balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Italy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice central location, fabulous and very helpful owners who are always available, and clean rooms. We had a very pleasant stay there in Oct 2012. Mary and Carlos were amazing and had quality customer service. They even upgraded us to a bigger room at no cost since it was available!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We must agree to all the positive reviews about this nice hotel! Visiting Rome for the first time we were in need of help and advice to make the most out of our stay. And at Welrome we were given all the help we could possibly need (thank you, Mary & Carlos!). And a very pleasant stay we had - a nice and quiet room, good beds, and a location that made us able to walk to almost all places of interest. In our 3 days stay we managed to see and experience everything we had planned for in this lovely town.
Next time visiting Rome we really hope for to stay at Welrome again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steinar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

If you're new to Rome or simply just want tons of friendly insight and advice, stay with Mary and Carlos at Welrome! Convenient and safe location near trains, buses and walking to many of the sights. It is like staying with your loving and knowledgable aunt and uncle, they want to make sure you enjoy their fabulous city. They had spot on advice on how to get to places, where to go, where to eat, and how to enjoy Rome economically. If they didn't know an answer, they picked up the phone and got you the answer immediately. The rooms are modest and clean, a great place to settle done in after a long day seeing the sights. As a single traveler they went out of their way to make sure I enjoyed myself, was safe and had everything I needed. Mary went so far as to wake up at 4am and walk me 3 blocks, in the dark and rain, sheltering me with an umbrella, to make sure I got to the airport bus safely to make my flight! Ivy never had, seen or heard of anyone at another hotel doing something like that. I was so pleased with stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AriesGal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#947 of 1,287 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Panda
Hotel Panda
#516 of 1,287 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#433 of 1,287 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#432 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Azzurra
Hotel Azzurra
#416 of 1,287 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#465 of 1,287 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welrome Hotel

Property: Welrome Hotel
Address: Via Calatafimi 15-19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#75 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#306 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Welrome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing