We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Rome, use Welrome.”
Review of Welrome Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welrome Hotel
Ranked #612 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Mary and Carlo our hosts, could not have been more helpful in ensuring that our stay in Rome was to our satisfaction. Our room was more than adequate which included breakfast of juice, croissant and coffee, which we didn't expect. Internet services came with the room and was satisfactory. Carlo, pain stakingly provided comprehensive advice on our days activities which proved to be accurate and helpful. Both were exceptionally friendly and seemed pleased to provide assistance. A rating of 5 koalas was awarded by our party.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 330 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

My 8 year old son and I stayed at the Welrome Hotel from 26/08/2012 up to and including 02/09/2012.

I travel to Italy approximately 4 times a year for business and pleasure and have stayed in Rome, Milan and Venice, and I can honestly say that the hospitality of Carlo and Mary at Welrome Hotel has been the best I have experienced to date (for comparison in April 2012 I stayed at the 5 star Hotel Excelsior in Lido di Venezia but the reception received there was cold, too formal and not a patch on the Welrome hotel).

Knowledge - Carlo has an astounding knowledge of the Historical attractions within and outside of Rome. He conveyed his knowledge with enthusiasm and was able to include and engage my 8 year old son in the conversation about the attractions and Roman history.

Location - The hotel is situated approximately less than 5 minute walk from the termini train station. This short walk is very welcoming after a long flight and bus journey from Ciampino airport. It is also in a good position to reach all tourist attractions.

Rooms - The Colosseo room was clean and contained comfortable double and single beds. The room had air conditioning, a small safe located within the wardrobe, a television, a stocked bar fridge and tea/coffee making facilities including condiments.

Parking - We hired a scooter and were able to leave it parked on the road outside the hotel.

Food - Although the Welrome Hotel doesn't have a restaurant, each morning we received a croissant and a carton of fruit juice each, and both Mary and Carlo were able to suggest the best restaurants in Rome to cater for our specific requirements, and there recommendations were always spot on.

I highly recommend this hotel to all Tripadvisor users.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed with a friend at the Welrome Hotel for 5 nights. The hotel is located closely to the termini train station which will get you around the whole of Rome in no time. The hotel is right next to a bus stop which is a short journey to spanish steps, vatican city, piaza nevona etc. Mary & her husband are extremely helpful. They made us feel incredible welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Carlo and Mary are amazing. They speak fluent English and will guide you around Rome, to the best of their knowledge. The rooms are clean and if there are any problems, Carlo and Mary fix them immediately. There is A/C and cable TV in each room. The hotel is within walking distance from the train station and from all of the tourist sites (except the Vatican), which is convenient. We had a great time at Welrome hotel and would recommend it to our friends!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GiantFatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This Hotel gives you what you need if you don't need fantastic Breakfast, they don't have Breakfast but YOU can make coffe or Tea and you get free croisant and juice. Very nice and calm atmosfere and nice beds and Aircondition.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MickeHagis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you want to feel secured, safe and babied while on a trip, Welrome is the hotel for you. It may not offer you a 5-star facility but Mary , the owner, will make you feel at home. Upon our arrival, she immediately accompanied us to the supermarket to buy things we need. She even allowed us to use her discount card. Mary and her husband, Carlo, made sure that we were guided accordingly as far as places to go, routes to use and ways to keep ourselves safe are concerned. Though they don't serve breakfast a yummy croissant and orange juice is provided everyday. My hats off to this couple who are not only very dedicated they are honest people as well. Location is within walking distance from Termini train station. Thank you very much Carlo and Mary:)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McLeague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel June 19th to 22nd. We chose the hotel after reading the reviews from Trip Advisor and were very satisfied with our choice. There are only seven rooms named after the famous piazzas of Rome. The hotel is very small, but clean. The room was a decent size. There was a fridge in the room and stores very close where you can buy food. My only issue with the room was the very small shower which is 2 feet square. The hotel itself was very close to the Termini railway station. Prior to our arrival, Mary emailed us specific directions on the best way to get to the hotel. Your hostess Mary goes out of her way to make you feel at home to include a customized croissant and juice waiting for you outside your door every morning. She is very helpful in planning your day letting you know the sites to see and how to get there. As a bonus our first full day in Rome happened to be a Wednesday which unbeknownst to us was the day the Pope speaks to his people. Mary informed us of this and told us exactly where to go to get free tickets for the audience with the pope. We hope to get back there again someday and hope a room at the Welrome is available.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penst8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,023 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,273 in Rome
300 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#106 of 1,273 in Rome
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#221 of 1,273 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#74 of 1,273 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welrome Hotel

Address: Via Calatafimi 15-19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $73 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Welrome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing