We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B & B Suburbe Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B & B Suburbe Roma
Ranked #1,212 of 3,736 Rome B&B and Inns
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The location is perfect. The fountain that you can see in the pictures is lively at night, but in a wine and ice-cream all generations way; it's a great way to feel submerged in the culture. You can see the Colosseum from the front door! In our opinion, it's a much nicer area than the Vatican. There is a pizza bar along the road, which we ate in all the time.
The room was really beautiful with an unusual wooden ceiling. It is cleaned by the owner (a lady) everyday. She provides orange juice, coffee, cereal and croissants to the room for breakfast.

The street is noisy, but the double glazing shuts it out. AC would be a good addition, but there are two layers of curtains to keep the heat out; we napped in the heat of the afternoon, doing the sites in the morning before the heavy crowds.

We would definitely stay again if we were to return to Rome, we loved it!

Stayed Aug/Sept 2012.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBCDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
44
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were a group staying in November 2012. It was clean, the service was great, our room had view to a plaza. It's near to everything, Coliseum, Fontana Di Trevi, great structures, train terminal and good nightlife. We are going back, hopefully soon...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h_burgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Excellent location, 5 minutes walk to the collesuem and overall great location. B and B was clean, owner was lovely, rooms are on 3rd floor but there is a lift which was fully functional during our stay. We had an excellent weekend here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here back in November 2010 so when my husband & I were planning 2 nights in Rome in June 2012 prior to a cruise with my parents (in their 70's) & my sister & her husband I had no hesitation in booking this accommodation. When we were their in 2010 there was no lift only lots of stairs, now there is a small lift. I honestly dont know why people are negative about this accommodation. We had the 1 b/rm apartment & also a double room. Breakfast was served in our room both mornings, pastry's & coffee. Not huge but certainly adequate. We never had any trouble with water supply or the airconditioning. The location is fantastic. You walk out the front door & there is the colosseum at the end of the street. You can easily walk to all the attractions. The windows are double glazed so we had no noise problems at night. When we left the rooms we were able to leave our bags in the Office until we were getting picked up to go to the cruise ship. Admittedly there is no front desk but you are booking a b&b not a hotel. We never needed assistance so didnt have to contact the owner at all during our stay. The girl that met us on arrival can't speak or understand much english but when we arrived she rang the owner & I spoke to him easily. If you only have a couple of days in Rome this accommodation is perfect. The 1 b/rm apartment accommodates 2 couples easily enough and as they say LOCATION LOCATION. If you are happy to look after yourselves, & don't require room service or 5 star accommodation you will be more than happy with this b&b.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k1w1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwon, South Korea
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We made our booking for the accommodation named House Monti 1875, as a few other travellers did, but that's it, the property at via dei Serpenti 164.

The location is just perfect and could not be better - especially for the very modest price!! We arrived to Termini station, and the walk to the hotel took about 10 minutes, when we saw the Colosseum right in the end of via dei Serpenti - and so close to it was our hotel! No more than 5 minutes, great! The area felt very nice, not too "touristy" and safe (although it was cold February, it may be different in summer...)

They do not have 24-h reception desk. Upon making reservation we were told to call when get there, so we did. The guy showed up quickly, he was friendly enough, but they gave us a room not in the main building on via dei Serpenti 164, but 5 minutes walk from there, on the small quiet side street called via Cimarra. He claimed everything else was fully booked or something. Does not matter, actually, because it was still very close to all the sightseeing, and quite nice inside, too. The building did not look like a hotel, but as an apartment building with a courtyard ("inside garden"). Room was spacious enough, small kitchen, new and clean bathroom with towels, soaps etc, no problems with cold and hot water. But the floor was cold!!
Again, does not matter really, as we only came there to sleep, we spend all the days out walking. No breakfast was included, but there were a few small shops and cafes in the area, so no problem.

Overall, highly recommended if you want to be near all the attractions, but do not want to spend a lot of money on a room you will only sleep at.

Room Tip: Specify in advance that you want to be in the main building on via dei Serpenti if it matters for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja_nsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I stayed in the accommodation but purchased tickets under the name 'House Monti 1875'.
Breakfast was not supplied so we had to go out the front door and back into the ground floor which was run by a different organisation.
The room was simple but very tasteful with exposed beams in the ceiling.
We did hear noises from the adjoining accommodations.
As far as we could tell there are only 4 rooms on the first floor of the buildnig in use as a B+B.
The bathroom was brand new and clean with good water supply.
Soaps were not abundant. Towels were good hotel quality.
Access would be an issue if you didn't have a mobile phone. We were instructed to ring when we were at Termini which we did so accecss was not a problem.
The room was warm enough so we didn't need to use the air conditioning.
The TV had more that 100 channels but none in english language.
There is no permanent 24 hour reception.

Room Tip: We were in room Caesere on the first floor with a view overlooking Via del Serpanti. Corner rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seeburg3Leixfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

A neat, clean B&B. Owner pleasant. Bed comfortable. Location fantastic! 5 min walk to Colosseum. Great pizza/pasta place across the road and a few shops up....Al "Forno" Pizzeria, run by Milvio. Great pizza by the slice, yummy salads and pastas. Breakfast was a nice warm croissant and the coffee machine was welcome.
On the negative, AC not working. Had to have window open but noisy late into the night with the Piazza next door and recycle bins clattering with empty bottles. Told owner about AC, and she said someone would look at it. Reading previous reviews, noticed others had same problem, so don't think they are hurrying to fix that problem. Also, lift didn't work (hasn't for a long time apparently), so walking up 3 flights of stairs with luggage is not fun.
All in all, was ok due to location, but paid full price, and should have got a little more for our money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freddo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Piazzetta de' Monti Suites
Piazzetta de' Monti Suites
#1,085 of 3,736 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Emily House Bed & Breakfast
#2,360 of 3,736 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Monti
B&B Room To Rome
B&B Room To Rome
#927 of 3,736 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Locanda Monti
Locanda Monti
#3,250 of 3,736 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ferraro
Hotel Ferraro
#955 of 3,736 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Monti
Inn Urbe Colosseo
Inn Urbe Colosseo
#81 of 3,736 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Suburbe Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Suburbe Roma

Property: B & B Suburbe Roma
Address: 3rd Floor Via Dei Serpenti 164, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,212 of 3,736 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — B & B Suburbe Roma 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your B & B Suburbe Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b & b Suburbe Roma Hotel Rome
Bed And Breakfast Suburbe Roma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing