We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is your life mistake to even think of going there”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stromboli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Stromboli
Ranked #1,154 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It is your life mistake to even think of going there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The most terrible hotel ever saw in my life , terrible room smelt bath broken doors awful manager and help desk , I couldn't go to the toilet , no Aircondotion I had a fight with the manager and the word rude doesn't describe it , the room I took was number 205 no Aircondotion , the water was all over the bathroom sink was dropping water all night , plugs out of wall the shower door was broken and there was no shampoo or soap , when I complied he said that is all we can offer we are three star hotel and he told me to wait till morning or go and look for another hotel and it was 10 pm the moment I arrived Rome , I called booking . Com to complaint and the hotel charged me that terrible night with 135 euro and took the city tax for a whole three night I didn't stay only when booking . Com called me and them they agreed to refund only the two nights as I couldn't stay in that horrible hotel and refused to return the money for me unless I sign a paper saying that I am sick and can't stay in a room with no aircondition and then when te manger knew I called booking and complaint he said he changed his mind and not going to refund anything till I collapsed and cried and went looking for another hotel at six am with the budget left till booking.com managed to make him refund te money that was the most terrible experience I passed through being alone a d treated that way please do t even consider going pay more to protect your pride I couldn't find less than one to point

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassy582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    67
    138
    81
    134
See reviews for
61
153
64
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

By virtue of a website search through booking.com, I was enticed to book this hotel for its very affordable price. Reading the review, I felt that I could balance the pros and cons of staying in this hotel. First of all, which I think is the major positive is its location. It literally is a few steps away from Rome Termini station. With the tracks behind you, turn right to exit the station and then at the main road, turn left. It’s a couple of hundred meters away and you won’t miss its façade. So, checking in is a breeze and you are handed a key with a weight attached to it. Just make sure to return it to the reception every time you leave the hotel. So for the negatives, as in life, you get what you paid for. To put it simple, if you would be drunk, this would be the perfect hotel to stay in.
• Elevator fits two with luggage and the mechanism is sure to jolt you into sobriety
• Room is very basic with stained walls and upon entrance, you are welcomed with an odor which somehow is ingrained after years of occupation.
• Putting a card key in to activate the lights and airconditioning is deceiving as the ventilation system does not work. It functions only as an on and off switch for the heater. So DO NOT EVER GO HERE DURING SUMMER months. As I complained to the front desk, I was met with denial and persistent assurances of putting the thermostat down. But alas, the thermostat is just a mere wall décor. Staff was not in any way helpful and obviously as they kept denying the issue – this is obviously a persistent complaint.
• Opening the windows is a temporary solution but this is met with a caveat of noise of cars and people merrymaking from establishments beside the hotel. So it won’t be a problem if you’re too drunk to even care about noise.
• The bed is what we might describe as having a landscape design. There are hills and valleys and even a canyon in the middle. So your best position would be to lie face down. Lifting the sheets reveals that the double bed I requested is a union of two single beds.
• The bathroom is a piece of internal design faux pas. Pls see picture I posted with this review. Getting into the shower would require a certain amount of body flexibility and contortionism.
• Water pressure is good but the temperature alternates between hot and cold regardless of where you put the handle. So this hotel has real temperature issues.
To end on a slightly positive note, there is breakfast - your basic croissants and cereals with dispensers for juice and coffee. So, I have come full circle and taken advantage of staying close to the Termini train station. My train leaves in 30 minutes but after a 5 minute walk, I was boarding my train on the platform.
Finally – if you are looking for a hotel just to crash in which is near the train station and wouldn’t mind the lack of basic comforts, go ahead and book this hotel. Just don’t say I didn’t warn you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in early April 2013. Arrived tired after flight from Australia at about 12.30 pm, but the duty reception lady was kind and polite allowing me the allocated room on 3rd floor facing Via Marsala. The room, linen and bathroom was clean. Room had double-glazed windows that blocked out most of the street noise - remembering that Rome never sleeps!
Reception lady also kindly arranged half-day tour of Tivoli with Appian Line Tours.
Breakfast was fairly sweet, but this is the Italian way; and is adequate to get a guest going for the day; to "break---fast".

The next stay at Hotel Stromboli was very unpleasant for one night; Saturday 27th April 2013. Arriving around mid-day, I was allocated Room 206, a back 2nd floor room that is best described as a cell. There was no space to lay out the travelling case for re-packing for flight to Australia. The TV did not work due to no remote control. The whole room had a run-down shabby appearance, being the worst room in a 3-star hotel I have stayed at in 10 years of 7 trips to Europe over 24 weeks.
The so-called bathroom was cramped with a large washbasin, a toilet and bidet, but no shower, douche. These sanitary fixtures were so crowded, there was hardly enough space to use them as makers designed, especially the oversize washbasin and the bidet with not enough leg clearance.

Asking politely at the reception about the lack of a shower, I was coldly and diffidently told by the male receptionist there was one in the passage somewhere.....

The shower room along the corridor was appallingly small, and included a toilet, bidet, washbasin and a sort-of shower with a pull-around fabric shower curtain. The shower room was poorly drained and water flooded.

It was surprising the hotel had a 3-star rating, unless it be a "self-rating"

As I had been satisfied with the room and reception services in my 1st stay of 5 nights in early April, I was appalled with the room 206, which is grossly overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanM31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I confirm the reviews that some of the receptionists are rude.
The hotel is old, but if you are lucky like us you can get one of the newly refurbished ones.
The rooms on the street are noisy and the one on the back smell because of the restaurant's kitchen downstairs.
Breakfast is only sweet, but there's a good selection of Italian buns and cakes, a coffee machine and juices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_P_Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I am surprised to read those bad reviews. There were no problems during my stay. The room was clean and there was even a small fridge in the room. Location couldn't be better; the airport bus stopped 20 meters from hotels front door.

I was pleased about the breakfast including the room price, it's extra when travelling on budget. You should remember that eating free breakfast is a possibility, not an obligation. I had definitely nothing to complain. There were fresh pastries (which is not a standard in Italy), juices, cereals and a barista delivering different types of coffees!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jari t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Location was ok near the station,Noises from streets all the night,WiF £5 a day,Breakfast was basic and terrible, very poor service,Staff very Rude especially the chinese guy at the reception
trying to cheat for tax it should be 2 euro per day per person not more and told me I'd have to pay 3 euros each luggage but the morning receptionist says its free...This hotel was terrible in general

Room Tip: Location was ok near the station,Noises from streets all the night,WiF £5 a day,Breakfast was basic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The only good thing is that is close to the station. The hotel is very dirty and noisy!! The staff totally not in touch with real customer service. The ration between quality and comfort .. 0 .. charges as a 4 star hotels and delivers a 2 star accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnovaHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Lazio
Hotel Lazio
#819 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Esquilino
Siracusa Hotel
Siracusa Hotel
#784 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#716 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#938 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#581 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stromboli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stromboli

Property: Hotel Stromboli
Address: Via Marsala 34, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,154 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stromboli 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stromboli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stromboli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing