We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEYOND TERRIBLE, Bad Area, Rude People, Very Loud”
Review of Hotel Stromboli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Stromboli
Ranked #1,129 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEYOND TERRIBLE, Bad Area, Rude People, Very Loud”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived for a long weekend from Sevilla and got off at the train station to find our hotel across the street. First we thought it was a good location, but then found the area to be sketchy, people sleeping on the street, very noisy, etc. Because we booked through booking.com and we arrived very late at night, we had no choice but to stay. The check in person was very rude, when we went to the room, it was overlooking the side of the street that was noisy with people sleeping on the street. Because the room was so hot and we could not turn off the heat, we had to sleep with the windows open. We barely slept and asked to be moved in the morning. We were told the hotel only had rooms for 3 people (we were traveling with our son) on that side of the hotel and they could not accommodate us, meaning we had no other choice but to leave the hotel. (Booking.com was great and found us a new hotel by the Vatican called Hotel Adriatic that was perfect, and very affordable, that review will follow this one, hopefully we will get our money back). The hotel staff again was very rude. I would not even think of staying here. Do yourself a favor and find another hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyF201346578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    68
    140
    82
    136
See reviews for
63
155
64
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

When I arrived in Rome I had dreams of a mystical city full of gorgeous Italians & picturesque views (I'm half Italian). This was a terrible to start to Italy stepping into hotel stromboli. I was met initially by a terribly rude man who threw me a key & provided me with little greeting bar a mummur occasionally.
My room was terrible. I have back packed through Vietnam & nothing compares to this experience! The bathroom shower was terrible- dirty & smelt. I heard everything upstairs including their toilet action. I payed 50 euro for this room which I felt was appealing given other rooms of far superior quality given a cheaper cost per night. Furthermore the area was unsafe & full of dodgy people & no wifi was included. The bed sheets had bugs on them & paint was mouldy on the ceiling & falling off.
If I didn't have jet lag I would have checked out immediately.
Avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlovesrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

After experiencing the most awful overnight stay at one of their 'lesser' hotels they (the owners) agreed the advert placed on the website was misleading and sent us to this hotel. I was so relieved as it was clean, tidy, great service and polite and helpful staff.

The trouble with large cities is all the hotels profess to be the best suprise suprise they're not!

Stroboli is located as close to the centre as you could wish for and a very very short walk to the termini and where the (Campag Airport) shuttle bus drops you off.

Italy has great public transport; but a word of warning, do not take a taxi from anywhere but a formal taxi rank; Taxi touts are everywhere and will charge you around 300% more than the regular cost.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMrsSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for a week and what a pleasant surprise .The hotel is very clean the bedrooms are comfortable, the bathroom was a bit dated but the shower was powerfull and hot.Breakfast was very well presented with plenty of choice. The hotel is in a great location ,we had no complaints during our stay .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MATISS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

VERY very close to the main train station. Certainly an good choice for this type hotel.
Friendly staff, nice breakfast for the money, and a quite and clean place to rest. I WOULD CERTAINLY STAY THERE AGAIN. If one is looking for elegance then look elsewhere.

Room Tip: sMALL Small small elevator. One person with bags will fill it up but at least there is one availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddybear1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Old building and corresponding rooms. All services are to be paid, including the Internet. The hotel is not badly located, but overall overpriced. Obviously, merchants are taking full advantage of the tourist industry derived from the historical events that took place there. Other places, especially in Eastern Europe are better value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This older style hotel is situated across the road from Roma Termini.The rooms are fairly basic but spotlessly clean and the bedding is very comfortable. Breakfast of cereals, yogurt, pastries, rolls, ham & cheese was fresh and well presented. There are numerous restaurants around for meals and a small grocery store nearby. I would be very happy to always stay here.
Desk is manned 24hours and security is good.
Only negative - shower is small and door access is about 15".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustTravelAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Lazio
Hotel Lazio
#776 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Esquilino
Siracusa Hotel
Siracusa Hotel
#828 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#746 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#946 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#585 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stromboli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stromboli

Property: Hotel Stromboli
Address: Via Marsala 34, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,129 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stromboli 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Stromboli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stromboli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing