We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not even the basics”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Conte Verde

Conte Verde
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Conte Verde
Ranked #1,193 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not even the basics”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

This hotel is horrible. For a start, in the hot Rome summer, there is no air-conditioning. And the room even lacks the basics.

When we checked in, the room had no towels. We asked if we could get towels twice and both times were assured that towels would be forthcoming. When we got back to the room in the evening, there were still no towels. There was also nobody at the desk. After tracking down a phone number, we called and were assured that towels would arrive in 5 minutes and we would be able to shower after our hot day in Rome. After an hour of waiting, we called again and were once again assured that towels would arrive. Another half an hour and a phone argument later and we were finally told that there were no towels and we asked for whatever they had. We were at last given bedsheets to use as towels at 10:30 PM.

Our next door neighbors had an even more pressing issue. They had a sick family member. As there was no service and they had no time to deal with the staff's garbage, they simply called the police to bring them to a doctor. This is the level of service you will receive at this "hotel".

Attempting to get service at this hotel is terrible. Furthermore, it is not a hotel but a 5 bedroom apartment. Calling it a hotel is a misuse of the term.

We were so disgusted that we simply left the next morning, forfeiting our 2nd night's fee and checking into a proper hotel. As an alternative to this place, we checked into the Hotel Orazia, a much better hotel with nice rooms, air-conditioning, and a professional staff in the same area. Pricing is only marginally more expensive (about 15 euros more per night)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    7
    10
    33
See reviews for
6
14
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

This place was not what it seemed from the pictures. The rooms were big but nothing worked and it was badly decorated. The reception wasn't manned for much or the day and evenings. I ended up being locked out of my room with no way of getting in to my room or contacting anyone. The guy who owned it is sweet but hard to get hold of. The hotel is a flat in a larger building, and some evenings there were some dodgy characters hanging around. If you go for breakfast it's from a kiosk outside. Go to the hotel round the corner instead, much nicer and double rooms were only 35 euros a night!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lild28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed in this hotel (which was in the 3rd floor of a building, looking like it was once a flat...) for two days on June, during an interail trip, and i could day its one the worst hotel i ever stayed... first of all i had booked a triple room with private bathroom. when i arrived the told us there was a problem and he offered two rooms, a single with no bathroom and really really small (with a tiny room only to get some daylight) , and a double with a bathroom at the hall... i complained to him and after a long conversation he agreed to make a discount. moreover the WiFi didn't work! and the best part was the breakfast, which was at the kiosk at the opposite street. the offered a coffee and a croissant (which was not fresh). the owner didnt seem like a professional. All in all, the hotel didn't worth the money and I would recommend a hostel instead of this.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyna_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

I spend my holiday in Rome first time with my husband. The hotel Conte Verde we liked. They had all extras what we needed. Par example hair dryer and wifi! Breakfast was fresh. Hotel was clean and safe. Rooms were romantic and we spend good time there. We recommend this hotel to other couples!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchgirl1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

I was in this hotel with my 3 friends. So we took 2 double room what was great.
Price is cheap comparing the things what they offer and also the position. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We arrived late to hotel, after 2 in the night, because our flight, but it wasnt problem. Receptionist wait us and give us all information what we needed or ask.
They have internet to chat with friends in net. I like.
Most night we arrived late to hotel and i have to say there was'nt any problem. Also the area was safe. We were really surprised about all Rome what was so safe even for 4 girls alone.
We like this place and when you want to spend nice time with friends i think it is good place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latviangirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

I was in this place with my family, me, my husband and child. I like the place, because it was in the centre of city, so it was comfortable even for my small son. To go Colosseom take us like 15 minutes and with 4 yeas old kid, it's eally good speed. Hotel is really clean and quiet, its amaizing even fo me how is possible that inside city centre can be rooms so quiet when out in the city is so noisy.
Our room was cosy and nice colour. It looks that probably they have lately change furniture inside because it looked new.
Staff was really great. Man in reception speak different languages so it was good. They give us free maps and explane about all city where to go and what is good to eat. Even they have one nice restaurant just 5 minutes distance.
If you have a children thay give your child a small present.
What else, we had internet inside the room, so was good to check mails in the night.
In the finally i can reccomend this place. Good place for famliy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perfect4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

it's rather a hostel or motel than a hotel...very simple and "functional". The majority of the electronic devices in the room didn't work properly... :-/
The Chinese receptionist cannot speak English at all....she only speaks a little bit Italian n Chinese (I guess...)

The advantages of this house are its location (city-centre) and the very low prices for a night.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarek87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Orazia
Hotel Orazia
#500 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,593 of 3,758 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#371 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#278 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conte Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conte Verde

Property: Conte Verde
Address: Via Conte Verde 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,193 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Conte Verde 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conte Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conte Verde Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing